Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 4

Screen shot 2013-12-13 at 9.12.23 PM

WOW- What a great week of training. I had some seriously challenging and amazing workouts, and I feel so much stronger and more confident as a result.

Screen shot 2014-01-05 at 9.16.06 PM

Here is how the week went.

Monday: Rest.

Tuesday: XT – Elliptical (30:00). New Years Eve workout. I knew the only way I would get it in was super early in the morning. I decided to really push it rather than half-ass it like I wanted to. I did a 30 minute interval program on the elliptical. I bumped up the resistance every couple of minutes and it really made me sweat!

Wednesday: Key Run #1 – Speedwork. 6 miles in 48:57 (8:10 average pace). No better way to kick off 2014 than with speedwork! On the plan was a 1 mile warm up, then 6 x 400 meters with 1:30 between. Then a 2:30 recovery followed by the same thing all over again. My goal was 1:36 – 1:40 per repeat, which is about a 6:40 pace (9.0 speed on the treadmill). I was SO excited that I was able to do all 12 repeats within that goal range and keeping the short recovery time between. I don’t know if it was the intensity of the run or the tequila I drank the night before but I felt like I was going to puke when I was done. A lot of people in the gym looked like that too, haha! Mission accomplished! I WILL get that PR in 2014!

photo 1-1

Thursday: XT – Cycle Class (1:00:00). I am so happy that I was able to make it to cycle for the second week in a row. It was a different instructor than I am used to and this one really pushed me out of my comfort zone. It was snowing outside so there were only 5 of us in class. The instructor stuck close by my side because she knew I was newly getting back into cycle. She incorporated really tough climbs and sprints, fast transitions to different speeds and positions… and a LOT of them- switching every 5 seconds for some songs! She corrected my form a million times (it was hard for me to keep proper form since she was switching it up on us so often), kept a close eye on my resistance and forced me to bump it up even when I was dying. I needed more water but was afraid to leave to get it, haha. Sweat dripping everywhere. I couldn’t move when it was finally over! It was definitely an experience.

photo 2-1

Friday: Key Run #2 – Tempo. 6 miles in 50:12 (8:22 average pace). Friday night tempo run. On the plan was 2 miles easy, 3 miles at short tempo pace (7:32), 1 mile easy. I wasn’t sure I could hold that pace over 3 miles but I ended up getting pretty close and averaged 7:38/mile. It felt pretty challenging, but I can feel myself getting stronger, and that is so exciting to me!!!

photo 1-2

Saturday: Body Pump (1:00:00). Bumped up weights on a few tracks and it felt good! Loved the energy in the room. It was packed!

photo 2-2

Sunday: Key Run #3 – Long Run. 14 miles in 2:01:28 (8:41 average pace). Take THAT cold, rain and ice! I am so happy with how my long run went this week. After last week’s hard 12 miler on the treadmill I knew I couldn’t do it again, so I just went out and decided to focus on staying upright, watching my step, and not worry about my pace. I’ve been running on the treadmill a lot lately and it’s always hard to know how that will translate to the road. But this run proved to me that I AM getting stronger, and I am able to be faster than I think I can! Did I mention it was super hilly too? My goal was supposed to be MP +30 (8:52/mile) but I finished at MP + 19. Woo hoo!

photo 4

Week 4 Total:

  • Run: 26 miles
  • Cross-Training & Strength-Training: 1 Cycle Class, 1 Body Pump class, 30 minutes elliptical.

I am really loving running only 3 times a week. I feel like it allows me to really focus in on the key run that I have do and I get more out of it as a result. Cross training in between is strengthening my other muscles and creating more of a balance in my body. I feel AWESOME. Now if only I could get my eating in check- I’d be great. After a date to the Cheesecake Factory with my husband last night I am finally ready to clean it up.

Thought for the week (very fitting considering the crazy cold/wind/snow/ice we are getting here lately)…

photo 3

My pictures this week were taken with FitSnap- my new favorite app! 🙂

4 responses to “Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 4

  1. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 5 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 7 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 9 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

