Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 3

Screen shot 2013-12-13 at 9.12.23 PM

This was a challenging week! It took some serious motivation and creativity to get some of my workouts done during the holiday and with family here visiting. But I got it done and I am [mostly] happy with how I did!

Screen shot 2013-12-29 at 8.36.37 PM

Here is how the week went.

Monday: Rest.

Tuesday: XT – Row (10:00) + Bike (20:00). It was sooooooooo hard to drag myself out of my house and away from my family who was visiting on Christmas Eve. I told myself to just do 30 minutes, get it over with and go back home. I split my time on the rowing machine and the bike and got out of there as soon as the clock hit 30!

Wednesday: Key Run #1 – Speedwork. 5 miles in 42:12 (8:26 average pace). Christmas Day run. I did it around 2 pm after a very busy Christmas morning. I guess cookies and champagne aren’t very good fuel, because this was HARD and I felt terrible. On the plan was a 1 mile warm-up, followed by repeats of 1200, 1000, 800, 600, 400, and 200 meters with 200 meters recovery between each one, and a cool down. I greatly underestimated how hard this would be, mostly due to the paces I was trying to hit and the short recovery time- just a little over a minute between repeats. The later start time and not enough good fuel didn’t help either. Also (since I’m full of excuses) the gym was closed so I did this outside on the flattest road I could find, which wasn’t really flat at all. Unsurprisingly, I didn’t hit ANY of my goals. My splits were 5:37 (goal- 5:28), 4:38 (goal- 4:29), 3:42 (goal- 3:31), 2:48 (goal- 2:33), 1:50 (goal- 1:40), and 0:55 (goal- 0:45). I really want to repeat this workout in a month or so to see how much better I can do. Even though I didn’t make my goals, I did give it all that I had on a day that I could have easily skipped my run and used the holiday as an excuse. I am proud of myself!

Thursday: XT – Cycle Class (1:00:00). This was my first cycle class in a LONG time! I was so excited to be able to take it with my favorite instructor who teaches on the weekdays, since I’m off for winter break and had my mother-in-law here to watch the baby. I was nervous since it’s been a while, but it all came back to me quickly. It was extremely challenging and exhilarating… I remember why I used to be addicted! I left super sweaty and feeling amazing. I can’t wait to go back!

photo 1

Friday: Key Run #2 – Tempo. 7 miles in 58:41 (8:23 average pace). On the plan was a 7 mile tempo run- 1 mile warm up, 5 miles at long tempo pace (8:02/mile), and 1 mile cool down. I did it on the treadmill very early in the morning and it was actually a great run. I decided to wake up a little earlier to get a little food and coffee in me first, hoping to avoid the issues I had with feeling weak during last week’s run that I did in the morning on an empty stomach. It seriously made ALL the difference. I kept my pace at 8:00 for all 5 middle miles and it felt comfortably hard- just like it’s supposed to. I left the gym feeling awesome, and it was definitely a confidence boost after Wednesday’s tough speedwork run.

photo 2

Saturday: Body Pump (1:00:00). Great pump class with Ashley, the instructor from the other week that I liked a lot. I think I’m ready to bump up my weights for a few tracks, now that I’ve been back consistently for a few weeks.

Sunday: Key Run #3 – Long Run. 12 miles in 1:47:55 (8:59 average pace). On the plan was 12 miles @ MP +30 (8:52 pace). I woke up with a little cold to pouring rain outside, which was forecasted to last until 3 or 4 p.m. I knew it probably wasn’t the best choice to run outside in the rain if I was getting sick, so I hit the treadmill instead. And it was TOUGH. Treadmill runs (especially long ones) always test me mentally and physically. I didn’t feel great and had a hard time keeping a decent pace. It didn’t help that I was next to a guy who was wearing sweatpants, a sweatshirt (with the hood up) and a winter hat. He was sweating up a storm and smelled soooooooo bad. It made my stomach turn. The treadmill turned off when I hit one hour so I had to start back up again, and then a little over 2 miles later I had to hop off to refill my water. I finally finished with an overall pace of 8:59. Not quite what I was going for but good enough for me, considering the circumstances. I hope I don’t have to do any more long runs on the dreadmill!

My amazing husband had a smoothie waiting on me when I got home because he knew it would be a tough run for me! Love him.

My amazing husband had a smoothie waiting on me when I got home because he knew it would be a tough run for me! Love him.

Week 3 Total:

  • Run: 24 miles
  • Cross-Training & Strength-Training: 1 Cycle Class, 1 Body Pump classes, 10 minutes of rowing, 20 minutes on the exercise bike.

I did a lot better with stick rolling this week! And wow, did I need it. I definitely worked my muscles in a variety of ways, and I really loved it. I really enjoy this training plan and how it forces me to mix it up. My body is responding well to it and I already feel stronger only 3 weeks in. My goal for week 4 is to do the best I can through yet another busy holiday week. Then it’s back to normal for a little while!

Thought for the week…

1484192_729381147090860_1269108894_n

5 responses to “Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 3

  1. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 4 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 5 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 7 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 9 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

