Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 2

Screen shot 2013-12-13 at 9.12.23 PM

You guys, I am LOVING this training plan. It challenges me every day and it’s awesome having such a variety of workouts throughout the week. As my favorite instructor at the gym says, “If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you.” I repeated that to myself many times this week!

Here is how the week went.

Screen shot 2013-12-23 at 9.38.53 PM

Monday: Rest. Loving and savoring my only rest day!

Tuesday: XT – Body Pump (1:00:00). I couldn’t believe it but I actually made it to the 5 a.m. Body Pump class! It felt amazing to get it done early since I’ve been struggling to get up and work out in the mornings lately.

Wednesday: Key Run #1 – Speedwork. 4 miles in 33:50 (8:28 average pace). This was one of those challenging workouts. I was able to get up before work again though, so that’s a plus! On the plan was a warm up, 3 x 1600 @ 6:59 – 7:22 with 1 minute recovery between, then a cool down. My first thought when I saw that was, WOW that’s fast with not a lot of rest in between intervals. I knew I would never get to the lower end of that range (right now) so I decided to shoot for the 7:22 pace. I was nervous going into it because it just seemed so fast. My first two repeats were okay, but it felt REALLY hard, especially with only 1 minute in between. Toward the end of the second one I started to feel weak and light-headed, probably from lack of fuel since I hadn’t eaten anything before. I recovered for an extra minute or so and contemplated stopping there. But I told myself I had to at least try to do the last one. I made it a quarter of a mile before I realized I couldn’t do it. I felt like I was going to fall off the treadmill. I ran slowly to cool down for a bit and finished with 4 miles. I was disappointed that I didn’t do the workout in its entirety but hopefully when it comes around again in week 6 I will be able to complete it and feel stronger! And I’ll make sure to eat before- lesson learned! The problem is that I have to wait at least 30 minutes to eat after taking my thyroid pill in the morning, and since I already have to get up so early (4:45!) it’s really hard for me to get up any earlier. I’ll have to figure something out though, because I can’t be feeling like that again!

photo 1

Thursday: XT – Exercise Bike (30:00). One of the reasons this week was so challenging was because I had a few very late workouts. This was one of them. I got home late after sitting in a lot of traffic, and by the time we made dinner and put the baby to bed (he still nurses to sleep), I was exhausted. I forced myself to go to the gym and told myself I would just do 30 minutes on the bike- that’s it. I did another hill workout and thankfully the time went by quickly. Afterwards I was so happy I went. These late night workouts are tough though, and I really prefer morning exercise so I don’t feel so rushed and crazy at night.

photo 3

Friday: Key Run #2 – Tempo. 6 miles in 52:33 (8:45 average pace). Another late night workout. It’s crazy how my Friday nights have changed. On this night after getting home from work, eating dinner, and putting the baby to bed I went to the gym for my tempo run at 8:00 p.m. I had to do 1 mile easy, 4 miles at “marathon pace” of 8:22/mile (still not convinced that should be my goal pace but since the running calculators say so I’m going to train for it) and 1 easy. I did it on the treadmill because it was late, and I don’t really like doing fast-paced runs in the dark since I am obviously clumsy and fall a lot. It went well and I was able to maintain an 8:20 pace for the 4 miles. The pace felt challenging like it should in a tempo run, especially on the treadmill which is always hard for me. I was really happy to have a successful run after cutting my speed repeats short on Wednesday.

photo 4

Saturday: Body Pump (1:00:00). It was a little tough to get up and go the 8:30 a.m. class after running late last night, but so glad I did! The instructor brought back some really old tracks and it was a lot of fun.

Sunday: Key Run #3 – Long Run. 10 miles in 1:32:01 (9:12 average pace). I knew this was going to be tough. It was 70 degrees when I left the house at 8 a.m. (on December 22nd!??! Didn’t we just have snow days less than 2 weeks ago?) It was also very humid because thunderstorms were looming and the clouds were so dark and heavy looking. Last weekend I ran 8 miles at an 8:52 pace almost effortlessly and this week I struggled to keep my pace @ MP +45 (9:07), which was my goal. I was doing okay until the 6 mile mark and then I lost steam. I ended up finishing with a 9:12 average, which is MP +50. Even though it was a little slower than I wanted, I was proud of myself because it was one of those runs that I felt like I fought for every mile. I’m ready for winter weather to come back now!!!

photo 5

Week 2 Total:

  • Run: 20 miles
  • Cross-Training & Strength-Training: 2 Body Pump classes, 30 minutes of cycling.

Even though this week was tough, I’m happy that I was able to push myself and test my limits. I knew this training plan wouldn’t be easy! My goal this week was to stretch more and use my stick roller. I did stretch a lot but didn’t stick roll at all. So I’m making that my goal for this week. I also didn’t do well at cleaning up my diet. There were multiple tortilla chips and cheesecake consumed, I won’t lie. But it’s so hard right now during the holidays! That goal may have to wait until after the new year 🙂

Thought for the week… Maybe this will motivate me to get up and get my workouts done in the morning!

photo 2

6 responses to “Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 2

  1. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 3 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 4 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 5 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 7 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 9 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

