Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 1

Screen shot 2013-12-13 at 9.12.23 PM

Here we are again! Wasn’t I just posting OBX Marathon Training recaps?? I am happy to report that my first week of training was awesome! I am feeling excited about my new training plan and super motivated after taking it easy for a month. Here is how the week went.

Screen shot 2013-12-16 at 9.20.42 PM

Monday: Rest. Nothing like kicking off training with a rest day 🙂 It was actually a snow day so I got to spend the day with my little man! I loved it!

Tuesday: XT – Body Pump / CXWorx (1:00:00). Another snow day! After being stuck in the house all day I was more than ready to get out and take a class at the gym that evening. I had actually taken Body Pump the Saturday before too, but this one was a combination class- the first half was BP and the second half was CXWorx. The CXWorx part killed me. My core is SO weak it is ridiculous. I have a lot of work to do!

Wednesday: Key Run #1 – Speedwork. 4 miles in 32:44 (8:11 average pace). First official training run! On my plan was a warm up, 4 x 800 meters with 2 minutes of recovery between, then a cool down. My target pace for the repeats was 3:20-3:31 and I was able to run them all in 3:30 on the treadmill. It felt pretty hard though, especially toward the end. I forgot how hard each of the 3 key runs are. They really force me to push myself! My hope is that later on in training I will be able to hit the lower end of the range (3:20). I only cooled down for a few minutes because I ran out of time and had to get home. It was a great way to kickoff my training though!

photo 1

Thursday: XT – Rowing Machine (15:00) + Exercise Bike (25:00). I really wanted to go to cycle tonight, but I missed it when Kevin got stuck in traffic on the way home from work. So instead I went to the gym to do my own thing. First I spent some time on the rowing machine. It’s been a long time since I used it and my shoulders, back, and the rest of my body were burning by the end. Then I hopped on the bike and did 25 minutes of a hill workout. It felt good to break a sweat doing something besides running.

photo 2

Friday: Key Run #2 – Tempo. 5 miles in 43:52 (8:46 average pace). Second run of the week. On the plan was 2 miles easy, 2 miles @ short tempo pace (7:32/mile), 1 mile easy. I did it on the treadmill because it was icy outside. I ran the first mile in 7:30 and the second in 7:35, so I hit my goal pace of 7:32 average. It was NOT easy though. Like I said, these runs are HARD, but it feels so good to get them done!

photo 3

Saturday: Body Pump (1:00:00). Another great class that left me feeling sore and weak. I really liked the instructor, too. I can’t wait to get my strength back!!!

Sunday: Key Run #3 – Long Run. 8 miles in 1:11:01 (8:52 average pace). We went to a Christmas party the night before and I had more than my fair share of drinks, so I wasn’t feeling up to running first thing the next morning. I didn’t get out until almost 4 p.m. and was bracing myself for a tough run. Since this is only week 1 of training, my “long” run is only 8 miles. According to the running calculators who tell me I should be able to run a marathon at an 8:22 pace, I was supposed to do this run at MP + 45 seconds, which is 9:07/mile. I went out and had a GREAT run. I felt amazing and strong and ended up with an 8:52 average pace (MP + 30). I know that most likely I won’t be able to run 26.2 miles @ 8:22 pace, but my runs lately have me thinking that maybe I could be faster than I give myself credit for. I guess we will see…

photo 5

Week 1 Total:

  • Run: 17 miles
  • Cross-Training & Strength-Training: 1 Body Pump class, 1 Body Pump/CXWorx class, 15 minutes of rowing, 25 minutes of cycling.

I am so happy with how this week went. It left me feeling encouraged and excited for the next 9 weeks. My goal for next week is to make sure I get in my stretching and stick rolling daily. I did stretch most days last week but I didn’t roll at all. I know I need to keep up with it to make sure my old injuries don’t flare up. I also need to work on getting my eating in check. I know the holidays are a bad time to limit myself and of course I am going to indulge a little, but I can at least make more of an  effort to keep the rest of my meals clean. On to week 2!

Thought for the week… Anything is possible!

photo 4

7 responses to “Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 1

  1. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 3 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 2 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 4 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 5 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 7 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 9 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

