My Running Lately

image

It has been almost a month since my marathon and I haven’t really talked much about my running lately! That’s because there hasn’t been too much of it. I knew I really wanted to take it easy for about a month afterwards for a few reasons.

1) With my knee injury and then my foot pain during training, I knew my body needed rest after 20 long weeks of hard work. Even though I didn’t have any pain during the marathon, I wanted to make sure my body had time to heal.

2) I fell. Yes, again. For the third time in the past year. What is wrong with me? It happened early one morning a couple weeks ago. It was dark but I was using a flashlight. I caught my foot on another uneven sidewalk and luckily I am getting very good at falling gracefully into the grass and not the concrete. I took most of the fall with my arms, and I was wearing capris so my knee (the same one as the last two times) only got a little scraped. But I noticed after the fall that some pain in my knee came back, so I took a few days off just in case.

3) I’m jumping back into training soon for marathon #9. I will be running the Myrtle Beach Marathon on February 15, 2014. There are only 14 weeks in between my last marathon and this one. After my 4 weeks of recovery and easy running I have 10 weeks left to train. I will be discussing my training plan in an upcoming post. My last plan for OBX was 20 weeks long and I was very burnt out by the end, so I really wanted to take this month easy. I didn’t want to force myself to wake up early to run. I wanted to do what felt right, so that I was ready both physically and mentally to start up again when it was time. Which is why the last few weeks my mileage hasn’t been high at all. 3 miles the first week post-marathon, then 7 miles the second week, 13 miles last week and 4 miles so far this week. I’m enjoying it while it lasts!

Screen shot 2013-12-05 at 9.43.31 PM

I’ve had some great runs in the last few weeks though!

photo 2

3 mile Thanksgiving Day run with my sister

1454911_10105588786503934_1722268587_n

6 mile run through my hometown, a trip down memory lane!

picstitch

This morning’s WARM 4 miler- it didn’t feel like December at all!

This month was so good for me physically and mentally. I feel refreshed and ready to jump back into my training next week! Let’s hope my body cooperates 🙂

One response to “My Running Lately

  1. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 15 Months | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

