OBX Marathon Training: Week 19

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 9.24.38 PM

As I write this we are ONE WEEK away from 26.2! I cannot believe it! I had a mini panic attack this week when I had some strange foot pain that had me googling “stress fracture,” but it feels better after I cut back and skipped a run to rest it a bit. More details below!

photo 4

Screen shot 2013-11-03 at 7.44.25 PM

Monday: Rest.

Tuesday: 3 miles in 29:06 (9:42 pace). I did an easy 3 miles on this morning. I don’t know if it’s the taper making me crazy or what but the top of my left foot started hurting after my long run on Sunday. It felt tender when I touched it and was sore to walk on. It also hurt to wiggle my toes. I tried to stay calm and not do too much googling because everything I read said metatarsal stress fracture. Not good! And of course it’s right after my knee stopped hurting. It’s always something!

Wednesday: Rest. I switched today’s run with Thursdays rest day because I was worried about my foot.

Thursday: 4 miles in 37:32 (9:22 pace). My foot felt okay during this 4 mile run, but it did hurt afterwards. This was supposed to a tempo run, but I was afraid to put too much stress on my foot. Besides, I feel like my long run last weekend and the one I will do this weekend are both tempo runs since I am supposed to run them at marathon pace. I really don’t see the need to do two days of speedwork this close to the race.

photo 1

Saturday: Rest. My foot didn’t hurt at all this day so I could tell the rest was working. I was curious to see how it would hold up for my long run the next day.

Sunday: 10 miles in 1:30:48 (9:04 pace). My last long run is in the books. I ran 10 miles and really focused on enjoying myself. It helped that I didn’t have any foot pain! While running I thought back through my training- the difficult hot summer long runs, the early mornings and 4 a.m. wake up calls, the fall and the knee injury that came as a result, the great runs with Amanda, my amazing supportive husband, the fact that this time last year I was just getting back into running after having my baby. I have come a long way and been through so much, and now it is time to CELEBRATE it all! I will also be celebrating running on a flat course… ready to get away from all these hills! (see below picture- it didn’t come out very well but it was a HUGE hill!)

photo 3    photo 5

Week 19 Total:

  • Run: 17 miles
  • X-Train & Strength Training: None. Excited to get back into it after my marathon though!

Even though I didn’t have any foot pain during my long run, it slowly came back over the course of the day. It’s not as bad as it was but it’s definitely still there. I iced it and am going to take it very easy this week just to be on the safe side. I don’t know what it is but since it comes and goes and was fine DURING my long run, I don’t think it’s a stress fracture. From what I’ve read the pain gets worse with activity if it is a stress fracture. However, I don’t know how it would feel to run another 16.2 miles on it. It is also not swollen or bruised. I’m a little worried but keep reminding myself that my goal for this marathon is to enjoy it and not worry about time. Only one week to go!

Thought for the week…

keep_calm_and_marathon_by_scrabblicious-d486xig

2 responses to “OBX Marathon Training: Week 19

  1. You describing your foot pain made me wonder if perhaps you are tying your shoes too tight? I hope your last week of training goes well. I can’t believe that you are this close!

Leave a Reply

