4 Vegetarian Fall Soups

soup

Even though we are still early in the fall season, Kevin, Baby Kevin and I have been LOVING soup and chili lately! I have always been a fan of soup, but in the past I have struggled with finding good recipes. They always seemed to lack flavor or weren’t hearty enough to satisfy me. I wanted to share 4 different vegetarian soups that we have enjoyed over the last month and met these requirements. I have actually made each soup more than once and they are all mommy, husband, and baby approved.

1. Spiced Red Lentil, Tomato, and Kale Soup. I discovered this recipe by Oh She Glows last winter and fell in love. It is so filling, super healthy, and has the most delicious tasting broth. I substituted fire roasted diced tomatoes for regular diced tomatoes and it made it even better!

66425_10103840315798244_2045149895_n

2. Tortilla Soup. This is a Peas and Thank You recipe, which you all know I love! I swear her two cookbooks are the most used in my kitchen. They are just filled with so many great recipes. I was able to find the recipe for this Tortilla Soup on her blog, but it’s also in her second cookbook, More Peas, Thank You. Again, I subbed fire roasted tomatoes for regular which really helped the flavor pop. I topped mine with avocado, cilantro, and baked tortilla strips. Delicious!

photo

3. Green and White Bean Chili. This might be the easiest soup recipe ever. It is from the same cookbook as the Tortilla Soup, but I couldn’t find it on her blog. It is technically chili, but it had more of a soup consistency in my opinion. It’s made with salsa verde, tomatoes, and two types of white beans. I actually took a shortcut and used prepared Salsa Verde rather than homemade like the recipe said. It had a good amount of spice and was really yummy with cornbread on the side!

photo 1

4. Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili with Sweet Potatoes. A friend of mine has made this chili for me before and I had to ask her for the recipe because it is so good. It’s made with black beans, pinto beans, and sweet potatoes, and has an amazing flavor due to the combination of chili powder, cumin, cinnamon and unsweetened cocoa powder. The baby loves this chili too! We actually just had it tonight, and I am already excited for the leftovers. I got it ready this morning before work, and let me tell you, there is nothing better than coming home to dinner already made in the slow cooker!

photo 2

I am always on the lookout for new soups and chilis to try, so let me know if you have a favorite. I would also love to hear if you try any of these and what you thought of them! Enjoy!

Pin It!

2 responses to “4 Vegetarian Fall Soups

  1. These look soooo yummy! I need to make some chili for my little one to try. 🙂

  2. Pingback: New Vegetarian Meals We’ve Been Loving | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

