OBX Marathon Training: Week 14

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 9.24.38 PM

One more week down, more progress made! This week left me with a ton of confidence as I hit 20 miles for the first time since January 2012! I am feeling great!

DSCN1702

Screen shot 2013-09-29 at 12.52.27 PM

Monday: Rest.

Tuesday: 4 miles in 38:52 (9:44 pace). I had an easy 4-5 miles on the plan today. After talking to the guy at the running store on Sunday about my issues with the Asics I recently switched to, I wanted to test out how it felt to run in my Brooks Adrenalines again before I attempted a long run in them that weekend. I was surprised to see that they actually felt great. I had no pain or soreness on the bottom of my feet, even where my blister was. The shoes felt a lot more cushioned and supportive than my Asics do. I was actually wishing I had left myself more time to run a few more miles 🙂 I started rethinking whether I should only use the Adrenalines for long runs when I need more support like he recommended, or if I should switch back to them full time.

photo 1

Wednesday: 6 miles in 54:05 (9:00 pace). I had tempo intervals on the plan today. It had me doing 8 x 4 minutes in Zone 3 (8:00 pace) with 3 minutes of recovery. When my alarm went off I really didn’t want to get up, and the whole time I was getting ready I was thinking of excuses not to run. I forced myself to get out there anyway and ran to the gym to do my intervals. Once I was there I realized that the bottom of my feet were hurting again in my Asics, which was kind of weird because they usually only hurt on long runs over 10 miles in those shoes, and they hadn’t hurt the day before in my Brooks,. After a few intervals it became pretty uncomfortable, and I knew I had to cut it short. I completed 5 repeats all at an 8:00 pace and ran a total of 6 miles including warm up and cool down. Not bad, but not the 8 I was supposed to do. I didn’t think it was worth risking more blisters from my shoes though.

Thursday: Rest.

Friday: 5 miles in 48:13 (9:39). Just a slow and steady easy run this morning. I tried the Asics again today and my feet felt a lot better in them this time. I think I just needed to allow time for my blister to heal. I am pretty sure they will be fine to use for my shorter runs during the week.

photo 2

Saturday: Light the Way 5K Walk. Read my recap here!

14166_10105185025524174_117957090_n

Sunday: 20 miles in 3:25:13 (10:15 pace). I wasn’t sure how far I was going to run today. I had 18 on my training plan and did 17 last week. I had planned to run 16 with my friend Amanda, so I did 2 miles on my own then met up with her. I thought if I felt good after 18 miles then I would try for a mile or two more. We ran all around my town and the miles seriously flew by. I wore my Brooks Adrenalines like the guy at the running store recommended for long runs and my feet felt great. No pain in my knee either, just a few twinges here and there but nothing terrible. I did have to make an emergency stop for a very conveniently located porta-potty around 14, but that was my only issue. When Amanda left I still felt good, so I came back home really quickly, gave my Kevins kisses, and decided to go out for 1 or 2 more miles. I ended up pushing myself to go for 2 miles, bringing my grand total to 20! I was SOOOO happy! The last time I ran that distance was back in January 2012 at the very beginning of my pregnancy, before I even knew I was pregnant. It feels good to hit that number again, and I’m so glad I went for it even though my plan said to do 18. My confidence is so much better now.

DSCN1700

Week 14 Total:

  • Run: 35 miles
  • X-Train & Strength Training: 3.1 mile walk, and I did a LOT of stretching and foam rolling every single day! Go me!

My goal for week 15 is to be smart with my training since I have a half marathon on Sunday that I plan on racing hard. I’m going to run but not overdo it, and try to spend the week preparing myself mentally and physically. I really want to KILL this race, push myself, and see what I can do. It will help me see how much progress I have made in my running and hopefully give me a realistic idea of what I can expect my marathon time to be. 6 weeks to go!

Thought for the week…

547046_603835879659284_1310980337_n

7 responses to “OBX Marathon Training: Week 14

  1. Funny, I used to run in Asics but after pregnancy I tried the Brooks Adrenalines and for me the Asics are much more cushy–but the Adrenalines are more supportive. I hope you get your shoe issues figured out. I’m getting frustrated at how hard it is for me to find shoes.

  2. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 15 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 16 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 17 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 18 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 19 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

