Kevin’s 1st Birthday Party

DSC_4487

This past Saturday we invited 30 family members and friends to our home to celebrate our baby boy’s first birthday. It was a wonderful celebration that we will remember forever!

DSC_4436

My dad and sister came into town the night before. I was so happy they did because they helped a TON with cleaning up, prepping food, last minute errands, and baby occupying.

DSC01415

The morning of the party my dad had a mini photo shoot with the birthday boy, who was happy as can be despite coming down with a nasty cold the day before and not sleeping much as a result.

DSC_4433 DSC_4455 DSC_4452 DSC01437

Finally at 2 p.m., it was party time! The food was out, decorations were up, and guests started to arrive.

DSC_4491

We did a “water” themed party since that is one thing that we know Kevin LOVES. We did blue decorations and had food to go with the theme: “submarine” sandwiches, shells and cheese for the kids, a veggie tray in the shape of a beach ball, goldfish, lifesavers, hummus with octopus legs, “sand dollars” (chips), watermelon and swedish fish!

DSC01441

DSC01445

For dessert we had “sand cups” – blue jello for water on the bottom with swedish fish “swimming” in it, then a layer of cool whip for the sea foam, vanilla pudding with crushed vanilla wafers as sand, a stick of gum as a beach towel, teddy grahams as the beach goers, a gumball for a beach ball, and a little drink umbrella to finish it off. They were a big hit! In addition to that we had Octo-pops which were our favors. We also had cake of course, which we had to run out and buy when my over-ambitious homemade attempt failed the morning of the party. Live and learn 🙂

DSC01440 DSC_4496 DSC01432

We even had some out-of-towners come as guests! My family and 2 best friends from Pennsylvania came, as well as Kevin’s sister and niece from West Virginia, Kevin’s grandma from Tennessee, and his parents and brother from South Carolina.

DSC01442

Our little townhouse and backyard were packed with people. The weather was perfect for sitting outside.

DSC_4507 DSC_4501 DSC_4521

I’m at the point in my life where a lot of my friends are having babies, which is so much fun! Many of them are Kevin’s age or younger, but there were some older ones as well. For these kids I had a sugar cookie decorating station where they could decorate fishy and turtle cookies, bubbles, play doh and under the sea coloring books. The babies were content to play with grass and each other 🙂

DSC_4526

DSC_4532

So many babies!

After some eating and socializing, it was time for presents. This boy was SPOILED! He received so many awesome gifts, from toys to clothes to books to money for his bank account. It is all so, so appreciated.

DSC01514 DSC01515

After presents we brought out Kevin’s smash cake.

DSC_4559 DSC_4562 DSC_4577

He was shy at first but eventually he dove in face first, just like he did at his one year photo shoot. He was a mess afterwards! By the way, I had the video I made of his first year playing on our TV in the background during the party. It was fun to watch him grow from a teeny tiny 7 pound newborn into a tall, 23 pound one year old 🙂 The fun didn’t stop there. After a quick clean-up and a nap for the baby, we were off to another party- this one for Kevin’s mom’s 50th. Kevin, baby Kevin and his mom all share the same birthday, believe it or not! It was a surprise party so we had to be extra sneaky. It went really well and she had no idea.

DSC01560

That evening at the party we had some fun staying up past his bedtime, playing with other family members, swinging in the swing, sitting by the fire and singing karaoke.

DSC01614 1185733_10105108349154234_1108284563_n DSC01664

It was a great day! It makes us feel so lucky to know that Kevin is loved by so many people. With everyone’s help, we were able to celebrate his first year of life in a way that was special and memorable for us. Here’s to many more birthdays to come!

This post earned the “Best Decorations” Award from PartyPail.com!

 

7 responses to “Kevin’s 1st Birthday Party

  1. How wonderful that you got to celebrate with friends and family! Kevin is so previous!

  2. Just thought I’d let you know that I have been reading your blog since Nov 2012 and I love it! I came across it after my baby boy was born Nov 22 2012. I just Googled “day in the life of baby” and there you were! I love hearing about baby Kevins days and all the emotions you go thru. Makes me feel like I’m not alone in this world! I teared up a bit watching Kevins first bday video….I am soo going to make one for Madden. Love that Brad Paisley song! Happy Birthday baby K!

    • Oh my gosh, thank you so much for commenting! This makes me so happy! I primarily write this blog for my own memories, and sometimes I forget that other people are out there reading too. I am glad you were able to find me and relate to what we’re going through. By the way, my husband is now obsessing over your baby’s name- he’s a big football fan 🙂

  3. Pingback: 2013: A Year in Review | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Kevin’s 2nd Birthday Party | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Kevin’s 3rd Birthday | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

