OBX Marathon Training: Weeks 11 & 12

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 9.24.38 PM

I am super behind in recapping my marathon training! I went to write a recap of this past week and realized I never wrote about the week before that. Oops. Life has been a little crazy lately with going back to work and throwing Kevin’s 1st birthday party yesterday. Week 11 was awesome and week 12 was not so much, due in large part because I wasn’t taking care of myself since I was so busy. Here are the details.

Screen shot 2013-09-16 at 8.37.29 PM

Week 11

Monday: 3 miles in 27:15 (9:06 pace). Ran for the first time since my fall 8 days before. I was so glad I waited and let myself heal because I felt GREAT! Could have kept going but didn’t want to do too much my first time back out.

photo 1

Tuesday: 4 miles  in 37:29 (9:22 pace). On the plan today was an easy 4 miles with 10 strides at the end. I woke up feeling rested after a good night sleep and excited to run… Until I got outside and realized how dark it was. My area has no streetlight and I use a flashlight but it was still a bit scary. I was really happy to get it done though, especially since it was the first day of school and I needed to destress a bit. I ended up doing 5 strides instead of 10 because it was kind of scary running fast in the dark!

Wednesday: Rest.

Thursday: 6 miles in 51:25 (8:35 pace). Today I was supposed to do a tempo interval workout- 1 mile warm up, 8 x 4 minutes @ Zone 3 (7:55 – 8:00 pace) with 3 minutes recovery in between, followed by a cool down. I decided to run 1 mile loops around a very large and well-lit shopping center so I could focus on speed without worrying about tripping in the dark. Once I got out there I realized I only had time for 6 intervals since I didn’t realize how long it would take to do the entire workout (even though my alarm went off at 4:15 a.m.! How much earlier can I get up?). My 4 minute splits were run at these paces: 8:03, 7:58, 7:46, 7:49, 7:57, 8:04. I was pretty close to hitting my goal range. I would have hit it during my last split but I had to pause for a car and didn’t stop my watch. I felt strong though, and definitely could’ve pulled out two more intervals. Next time!

photo 2

Friday: Rest. Technically I was supposed to do one more speed workout this week but I chose to skip it since I was coming back from my injury. I also was doing my long run on Saturday because Kevin was going out of town early Sunday, and I didn’t want to do 2 hard runs in a row.

Saturday: 16 miles in 2:38:09 (9:53 pace). Amanda and I were finally able to do our long run as planned since I fell last time and wasn’t able to run with her. I did a quick 3 miles on my own then met her for 13 more. We did the (very hilly) route of the Historic Half Marathon in Fredericksburg and it went really well. The miles really fly by when I’m running and chatting with her. My body really started to feel it the last 3 miles or so, since it had been a few weeks since I had done a long run. Luckily I had her to help keep me going!

photo 3

Sunday: Rest. Kevin went to Pittsburgh very early to go to the Steelers game so I spent the day hanging out with my baby boy 🙂

Week 11 Total:

  • Run: 29 miles
  • X-Train & Strength Training: none

Week 12

Monday: Rest.

Tuesday: 5 miles in 44:02 (8:48 pace). On the plan today was a warm up, 3 tempo miles, and a cool down. It was hot and humid this whole week (when will summer END!?) so I ran to and from the gym and did my 3 miles on the treadmill. Running on the treadmill and watching the miles slowly tick by was torture. I hate it, but I got it done! My tempo miles were run at an 8:22 average pace.

photo 1-1

The treadmill portion of my run

Wednesday: 3 miles in 27:59 (9:20 pace). This is when things got rough for me. All week long we worked hard on getting ready for Kevin’s first birthday party and I was very busy at work as well. I will admit that I neglected to take care of myself in many ways- not enough sleep, not enough water, not the best food… and I paid for it. On this day I went out planning to run 6 easy miles. Almost right away I realized that wasn’t going to happen. I didn’t feel well and was having stomach issues. I had to race home after only 3 miles to get to the bathroom (sorry for the TMI). I felt nauseous the rest of the day too. I don’t know what it was. I figured I would just flip flop my Friday run of 3 miles and do my 6 on Friday instead.  

photo 2-1

Thursday: Rest. Today was both my baby boy and my husband’s birthday. I spent the day enjoying it with them, and eating cake of course!

Friday: Rest. After Wednesday’s failed 6 miler I had great intentions of doing it today. And then I was up until 11:30 p.m. working on things for Kevin’s party and when my alarm went off at 4:15 a.m. the next morning I could not drag myself out of bed. Sigh…

Saturday: Party Time! Party prep from 7 a.m. until it started at 2 p.m. We had his party from 2-5, then raced up to Kevin’s mom’s surprise 50th party from 6-10ish. So I wouldn’t really call this a ‘rest’ day. I was actually supposed to run the Divas Half Marathon but once we realized the only day that worked for a party was the same day, I had to skip it

Sunday: 13.1 miles in 2:05:42 (9:36 pace).  I had an 18 miler on my plan, which should have been fine after last week’s 16 miler. But the whole weekend took a LOT out of me. I literally only ate a PBJ, 3/4 of a Subway veggie sandwich, some chips and a cupcake the day before because I was so busy. I was on my feet and running around all day, didn’t drink enough water, and didn’t get enough sleep. Not the best way to prepare for an important long run. Needless to say it was a struggle. I felt weak, sluggish and tired. My left knee also started hurting toward the end (NOOOOO, not again!). I cut it short to 13.1 miles in honor of the half I was supposed to run, and went home feeling sad and defeated. While I wouldn’t trade Kevin’s awesome party for the world and it was obviously my #1 priority, I can’t help but feel like my training has taken a turn for the worst lately. I know that all training cycles have their ups and downs, but this time around it’s starting to seem like there are more downs than ups. To top it all off, I came down with a cold later in the afternoon, and am writing this now the next day with a sore throat, barely able to breathe and with a stack of tissues next to me. My boys also caught it, so we’re a house full of germs right now.

Week 12 Total:

  • Run: 21 miles
  • X-Train & Strength Training: none. Really slacking on this too lately 😦

My goal for week 13 is to try as best as I can to get back into my training plan although I may still need to do some slight modifications due to being sick and missing my 18 miler (supposed to do 20 next week but will probably attempt 18 again). I feel like I spent the entire recap writing excuse after excuse, but really there is a fine line between making excuses and listening to what your body needs. Right now my body needs some TLC, and that’s what I’ve been giving it the last two days.  I’m trying to stay positive and remember that I still have 8 weeks, but I’m thinking I might have to throw any time goals out the window for this marathon and focus on just finishing the race, especially if my knee keeps giving me trouble. I just have to see how the next few long runs go. They will be crucial. I’m just going to do the best I can with the time I have and the circumstances I am under. That’s all I can do!

Thought for the week…

photo

7 responses to “OBX Marathon Training: Weeks 11 & 12

  1. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 13 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 14 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 15 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 16 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 17 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 18 | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 19 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

