OBX Marathon Training: Week 9

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 9.24.38 PM

This post is a couple days late because I’ve been putting it off. I’m still upset about and recovering from what happened this week during my long run.

Screen shot 2013-08-27 at 9.04.04 PM

Here is the weekly breakdown:

Monday: Rest.

Tuesday: 4 miles in 38:07 (9:31 pace). It was sooooo dark and foggy this morning that I was actually a little scared. I could barely see in front of me even using a flashlight. I had to run super slow to make sure I didn’t trip and fall. I couldn’t wait to be done!

Happy to be home after my run!

Happy to be home after my run!

Wednesday: 5 miles in 45:18 (9:03 pace). On the plan this day was 6 miles with the middle 4 miles at tempo pace (8:00 – 8:15/mile). I was planning to go in the morning like usual but then the baby was up all night and I could not drag myself out of bed when my alarm went off at 4:30 a.m. I was really frustrated because this has been happening a lot lately, and when I miss my runs I get really cranky. I had to go into work for a couple hours and was dragging the whole time, so I decided to leave a little early to get my run in. I went to the gym because it was so hot outside, and left Kevin with his babysitter a little longer. I felt very guilty about this, but he was napping anyway and I know that running makes me a better mom and wife- I needed it! Since I am not used to afternoon running my stomach didn’t feel great and I needed to stop and go to the bathroom halfway through. My body wasn’t feeling the tempo miles but I did manage to do 2 miles @ 8:13 pace with recovery in between. I cut it short to 5 miles also. Even though I had to modify it I was just happy to make it work after my setbacks and get a run in at all.

Thursday: Rest.

Friday: 8 miles in 1:18:23 (9:48 pace). Oh I had so many excuses before this run when my alarm went off at 4:00 a.m. It’s too early. It’s too dark. I’m tired. Maybe I’ll cut it short to 6 miles. Maybe I’ll do 4 before work and 4 after (would never happen!). But I got up and got ready and walked out the door anyway. It ended up being amazing. Yes, it was early and dark and I was tired, but there was something so peaceful about running when the rest of the world was still asleep. I did have to run slowly because it was difficult to see at times, but that was probably for the better anyway because I had my long run the next day. The miles flew by and before I knew it I was back home after 8 miles, all before the sunrise! NO EXCUSES!

photo 2

I took this picture to show how DARK it was outside! This was at the end of my run!

I took this picture to show how DARK it was outside! This was at the end of my run!

Saturday: 4 miles in 37:24 (9:20 pace). I had an 18 miler planned for this day. I chose to do it Saturday morning instead of Sunday because I had family coming into town and didn’t want to leave them for a few hours on Sunday morning. I was up early and decided to run 6 miles before meeting up with Amanda to do 12 more with her. I was in the zone and feeling amazing- it was the perfect temperature, I felt strong and excited for my long run. And then I tripped on an uneven sidewalk 😦 Yes, again. I landed hard on the end of the sidewalk/beginning of the street right into a patch of gravel. I limped over to a convenience store and washed out my bloody knees, hand, and road rashed shoulder in the bathroom. It was so painful and everything was throbbing, especially my left knee, which is the one that I hurt last time. I told myself I would run until the 4 mile mark (another 1/2 mile) to see how I felt but it was horrible. I had Amanda come pick me up to take me back to my car and made her go ahead without me, while I went home and got all cleaned up. I spent the rest of the day resting and icing my injuries.

photo 3

photo 4

I spared you the pictures with all the blood… you’re welcome.

Sunday: Rest and Recover.

Week 9 Total:

  • Run: 21 miles
  • X-Train & Strength Training: none

I am super disappointed to have this setback this week. I felt like my training was going so well and I was feeling so strong, and I’m mad at myself for my stupid mistake that seems to keep happening. I can count 4 falls in the last 2 years! I think it’s partially due to having a lot of inner ear infections growing up that caused me to have balance and equilibrium issues. Either that or just plain clumsiness. But the good news is that since my training plan is 20 weeks long, I still have 11 weeks of training ahead of me. My goal for week 10 is to rest as much as I need to in order to let myself fully recover and not rush back into training too quickly. I want to let my body use all it’s energy toward healing and not stress it out more by running. I plan to take it easy and not run for a little bit because last time I pushed myself too fast after falling and ended up injuring my knee more, and had to take a whole month off to recover. I fell hardest on the same knee as last time, so I’m definitely worried about that. I’m writing this on Tuesday and I have a hard time walking up down stairs because it hurts to bend my knee, let alone running!

Thought for the week… I will get past this brick wall!

brickwalls

10 responses to “OBX Marathon Training: Week 9

  1. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 10 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Weeks 11 & 12 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 13 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 14 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 15 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 16 | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 17 | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 18 | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 19 | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: 2013: A Year in Review | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

