OBX Marathon Training: Week 8

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 9.24.38 PM

Week 8 is complete! It was a cooler week temperature-wise and I was feeling speedy 🙂

Screen shot 2013-08-19 at 12.12.27 PM

Here is the weekly breakdown:

Monday: Rest. I almost always take Mondays off after my long run on Sunday.

Tuesday: 5 miles in 45:05 (9:01 pace). I have to say I am really liking these progression runs! They give me a goal to work towards, keeps things interesting, and push me! I think I’m finally learning how to be patient when running and not go out too fast. It’s definitely paying off. Splits were 9:44, 9:11, 8:59, 8:47, and 8:24.

Wednesday: 25 minute walk. It was a beautiful cool day so I went for a walk with Kevin in the Ergo carrier. He still loves being in there even though he doesn’t look very happy in this picture 🙂

photo 1

Thursday: 7 miles in 1:02:53 (8:58 pace). On the plan today was tempo intervals! I was supposed to do a warm up, 6 x 4 minutes in Zone 3 (10K pace, which is 8:00/mile), with 3 minutes recovery between each one, then a cool down. I am happy to report that I did exactly that and it felt great! After last week’s failed attempt at intervals outside in humidity and hills, I decided to warm up and cool down by running to and from the gym (1.15 miles each way). Then I focused on my intervals on the treadmill. I wouldn’t say it was easy to maintain that pace for 4 minutes, especially in the last few intervals, but it didn’t feel bad either. I actually kind of loved this run!

photo 2

The treadmill portion of my run

Friday: Rest. I was supposed to do an easy 3 miles this day but I was up with the baby again for a few hours during the night. I opted to sleep in a little longer instead.

Saturday: 3 miles in 26:48 (8:57 pace). I did my 3 miles this day since I didn’t do it the day before. It felt amazing outside! Running at an 8:30 pace felt easy for the first time in months thanks to cooler temperatures. I had to slow myself down on purpose since I had a 10 miler the next day that I wanted to race hard. I wanted to keep going though!

photo 3

Sunday: 10 miles in 1:21:13 (8:07 pace). I ran the Hartwood 10 Miler and it was one of my strongest races ever! Read my recap here.

DSCN1528

Week 8 Total:

  • Run: 25 miles
  • X-Train & Strength Training: 25 minute walk

All of my runs were at a pretty fast pace for me this week (average paces were 9:01, 8:58, 8:57, and 8:07). That’s because the temperature outside dropped pretty dramatically, which I am super thankful for. I am finally able to see the results of all the hard work I’ve put in this summer. Running at my pre-pregnancy paces is finally starting to feel easier and I am so excited about that!

My goal for week 9 is to keep training while easing myself back into working. I have to go into work 3 days this week before starting back full time next week so I’ll get to do a little trial of how it’s going to be to run in the mornings, take baby to daycare, and get myself to work on time. I am excited for my long run, which will be 18 miles (a distance I haven’t seen since January 2012!) and I’m doing 12 of those miles with Amanda!

My thought for the week- so fitting after the awesome race I had. One of the things I love most about running is being able to see myself improve and get stronger. It’s not about other people for me, it’s about becoming the best version of myself that I can be.

photo

3 responses to “OBX Marathon Training: Week 8

  1. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 17 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 18 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 19 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

