Mom & Baby: 11 Months

11 months. Only 1 more until he will be a whole year old. I honestly can’t believe that much time has passed, but at the same time it feels like he’s been in our lives forever! We had a great month together. Kevin continued to develop new skills and I was off for the summer so I was able to experience it all with him. Here comes a long update!

His "I'm so sweet and innocent" face

His “I’m so sweet and innocent” face

Baby

I weighed Kevin on our baby scale at home and he is now 22 pounds and 1 ounce, which according to the Baby Connect app on my phone is the 71st percentile. I am curious to see how tall he has gotten since his 9 month appointment when he was already 30 1/2 inches. I know he’s gotten taller since then!

1069928_10104772994517614_1821943636_n

He is still in mostly 9 month clothing and some 12 month. He wears size 3 disposable diapers at night (and while we were on vacation, which I hated and was so expensive!), cloth the rest of the time.

Naked butt!

Naked butt!

Here are the monthly comparison shots: 1 month to 11 months.

DSCN8365 DSCN8866 DSCN9329 DSCN9676

DSCN9841 DSCN0196 DSCN0334 DSCN0636

DSCN1015 DSCN1211 11

He is still loving food. He eats 3 hearty meals a day plus a snack or two. He is down to nursing 5 times a day: when he wakes up, before his first nap, before his second nap, around 4-4:30, and before bed. Some of his new favorite foods are hummus, yogurt, grilled cheese, beans, zucchini and whatever we are eating. We’ve been introducing dairy and it doesn’t seem to be an issue anymore, YAY! He doesn’t like to be spoon fed so to distract him I give him his own spoon to hold while I feed him with another one. I think it tricks him into thinking he’s actually feeding himself :). He also has started to offer us bites of his food. It’s sweet that he’s already learning to share!

photo

I was hoping this summer Kevin would naturally wean himself before I went back to work. It was looking like that might happen at the beginning of the summer when he was refusing me sometimes, but now things have totally changed. He is still very much interested. I thought about cutting him off or starting the weaning process but that makes me feel really guilty. So my plan is to pump at work (just at lunchtime, not 3x a day like before) until his 1st birthday. He will drink two bottles while I’m at work, and I was able to build up a little bit of a stash this summer that should help to get us to his birthday. Other than that I plan to still nurse him in the morning and before bed, as well as after work if he is interested (which would be around 4:30). After his first birthday I won’t pump anymore and just nurse him. He’ll get milk in his cups during the day. He does really well with a straw sippy cup, so I don’t think we’ll have issues transitioning to that and getting rid of bottles.

photo 2

Along with loving to nurse he has also been SUPER attached to me. He definitely has separation anxiety. It happens during the day if I walk away from him and into another room, but it’s the worst at night. He’s been waking up a lot, and nothing consoles him except me. While it’s sweet to be needed, it’s also exhausting.

1002131_10104768611591034_320338530_n

His night wakings may also be attributed to getting 3 more teeth this month (all up top) with another one of the way, and a lot has been going on developmentally which can cause restless sleep. He learned to stand last month so now when he wakes up he stands up and cries. He finally figured out how to get himself back down, but gets so upset at night that he won’t do it.

Look at those poor gums :(

Look at those poor gums 😦

We are finally over the weird short nap phase he went through last month.His naps are fine now. He naps around 9 a.m. and 1 p.m. for about 1-2 hours each.

Napping like a champ on the beach

Napping like a champ on the beach

There is soooooo much going on in that little brain of his! Within a week he started to give kisses (7/14), started to cruise around on furniture (7/17), got a new tooth (7/17), started “real” crawling rather than army crawling (7/22), and is babbling like CRAZY. He’s also starting to walk with us assisting him, but not by himself yet.

1001190_10104753267435844_756535574_n IMG_9332

I can tell he is understanding some of what we say too. When we say “come here” he comes to us, and when we tell him “NO” he either cries or shakes his head no back at us. We’re definitely in trouble!

374428_10104809839070834_1526412258_n

His personality is so strong these days. He is definitely a silly boy. He loves to blow bubbles, hide food next to him in his seat and then sneak it out later, and has discovered how to spin himself around in a circle while sitting down. And this boy can definitely throw a fit. He especially gets mad if I take something away that he wants. He cries, shrieks, and thrashes around. He’s not even 1 yet! How will he act when he’s 2 and 3? I’m scared.

Temper tantrum

Temper tantrum

He’s continuing to grow hair in the back but is still pretty bald on top. He is sporting a baby mullet!

999089_10104819844509854_1328193293_n

He is still loving the Ergo. He likes to be held close to me and go for walks outside, or just hang out while I do chores around the house. I put him in there a lot when he was teething and wanted comfort and it definitely helped.

17195_10104919564175844_242508817_n

Koli continues to be his best friend. They both like to be right beside one another and since they are both babies, they test each other’s limits sometimes! Kevin has a few little scratches on him from pulling Koli’s tail or grabbing his fur, but it’s getting better every day as they both learn how to be patient and gentle.

995428_10104820262212774_392206313_n

Kevin absolutely loves the water. We took him to the beach this month and he couldn’t get enough. When he saw the water he would kick his legs and squeal. He even loved the sand, crawling around in it, eating it, everything! He loves water so much that we decided to plan his first birthday party around that theme.

photo 3

Body

My body is feeling great! I am running more than I have in over a year and my body is responding well to it. I’m wearing my new shoes that are a better fit for my post-pregnancy running gait and I can definitely tell a difference. All this running has made me super hungry all the time and I’m eating more than ever, but I’m hovering at a few pounds below my pre-pregnancy weight.

On a walk!

On a walk!

I was very surprised to feel super confident on the beach in my bikini. I didn’t even feel that way before having Kevin. Pregnancy and birth and motherhood have changed my attitude about my body. I appreciate and see the beauty in it more than ever now.

DSCN1364

Mind

Like last month, I felt great mentally and emotionally. I just LOVE being home with him and feel thankful to have had this time over the summer. Now I’m mentally preparing myself to go back to work. I know it will be hard but he will be with my very good friend Alicia, and that makes me feel a hundred times better about leaving him.

Ice in the mesh feeder

Ice in the mesh feeder

1001239_10104899684829214_1695429415_n

We really made the most of this summer as a family. We went to the beach for 9 days and filled the rest of our weekends with fun things like trips to the zoo, trips back to Pennsylvania, races, and other things that make us happy. I made so many great memories this summer and I will always remember it!

601732_10104776062010334_3866838_n

DSCN1228

I can’t believe my next update will be his ONE YEAR! Ahhhh!

DSCN1296

Previous Post Partum posts:

17 responses to “Mom & Baby: 11 Months

  1. Can’t believe he will a year old soon! My son is 2 weeks behind him (Sept 27 born) and I can relate to a lot of things you have written about here…now, can someone please make time stop! 🙂

  2. He’s growing so well! I am so impressed by his weight and how much he’s eating. We’re down to only nursing at once (2 bottles during the day) and I stopped pumping at work, it’s so liberating to stop pumping, but I’m sad that I’ll soon wean her. I love nursing her so much.

    • I can’t believe how much he is still eating. I was thinking (and hoping) by now we’d be down to 2-3 feedings a day like Sophia! I’m definitely ready to not have to worry about nursing/pumping, but it also makes me sad 😦 At least we can look forward to experiencing it again with baby #2 someday!

  3. I remember when C learned to stand up in his crib – but couldn’t get himself back down! We’d have to go in and help him get back to a laying position 🙂

    It sounds like everything is going really, really well! he has such a cute little smile. I’m sad for you that summer is almost over, but like you said, you made the most of it. Enjoy these last few days/weeks! Can’t believe he’ll be one soon…

  4. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 12 Months | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 13 Months | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 14 Months | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 15 Months | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 16 Months | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 17 Months | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 18 Months | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 19 Months | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 20/21 Months | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 22 Months | Run Inspired

  14. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 23/24 Months | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

