OBX Marathon Training: Week 7

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 9.24.38 PM

Week 7 is in the books! It was actually a great week with a lot of highs and great runs, and only one low point. I finally feel like I’m making progress with my fitness and getting stronger after a long, hot, humid summer!

photo 1

Screen shot 2013-08-11 at 8.43.00 PM

Here is the weekly breakdown:

Monday: 4 miles in 36:58 (9:14 pace). Monday is usually my rest day but since I did my long run on Saturday I wanted to run. I woke up to an amazingly cool temperature (57 degrees!) and wore my new shoes for the first time (Asics GT2000) and I felt great. I chose to do 4 over 5 because I knew my mileage was going up quite a bit this week compared to last and didn’t want to push it.

photo 2

Tuesday: Rest. Since I ran the day before I was planning to go to Body Pump early this morning at 5 a.m…. and then Baby Kevin was up all night and by the time I went back to bed at 2:30 a.m. I couldn’t imagine getting up two hours later to work out. So it turned into a rest day!

Spent my day with a teething baby, eating ice cubes in the mesh feeder!

Spent my day with a teething baby, eating ice cubes in the mesh feeder!

Wednesday: 8 miles in 1:13:01 (9:08 pace). This was one of those runs that made me LOVE LIFE. It was perfect and amazing. I was disappointed in the morning because I got all dressed to run and then Baby Kevin woke up and wanted to nurse forever. So I missed my chance to run and had to go after Kevin (my husband) got home from work. This made me nervous because I am NOT an afternoon runner. I prefer to run in the morning. I went out with a goal of running 8 progression miles, and I killed it! My splits were 9:47, 9:30, 9:30, 9:09, 9:08, 8:58, 8:35, and 8:22. I felt so strong and it gave me hope that maybe I am gaining some fitness in this crazy hard summer training season.

Kevin caught me at the end of my run!

Kevin caught me at the end of my run!

Thursday: Commercial Break Strength Workout. Once again I planned to go to Body Pump at 5 a.m. and once again Baby Kevin was up from 11:30 to 2:30 a.m. I’m not sure what is going on with him, whether it’s his two top teeth coming in or what, but needless to say I wasn’t getting up at 4:30 that day. Instead I did a “commercial break” workout that night while watching Big Brother. I basically focused on one muscle group per commercial and did exercises I’ve learned from Body Pump. I did squats, lunges, tricep dips and extensions, bicep curls, chest press and fly, push ups, and so on. It was actually a cool way to get in some strength training, except I kept getting attacked by the baby and the cat!

photo 1-1

Friday: 5 miles in 45:54 (9:11 pace). I woke up excited to run after Wednesday’s awesome progression run. On the plan was speed work: a warmup, 6 x 3:30 minutes with recovery as needed, and cool down. The intervals were supposed to be run between 5K and 10K pace (7:30-8:00/mile). I decided to attempt it outside since it didn’t sound so bad and the thought of the treadmill made me want to die. Mistake #1. So I headed out and was slammed in the face with 100% humidity once again. I tried to make the best of it and headed out. The way I went was SUPER hilly (mistake #2) and it was so hard to hit my paces with the combo of that and humidity. I decided rather than focus on pace I would focus on effort level. I ran the rest of my intervals at an effort that felt hard like I was running a 5K, but my pace was a good minute slower per mile than 5K pace. In between I ran super slow, even walked a few times because it felt so difficult. I also walked my cooldown instead of running it. I was feeling down after this run, and like all summer I have been making excuses for myself and my training. I was just really tired of it and wanted to feel strong again like I did during my progression run. My splits ended up being at these paces: 8:20, 8:13, 8:55 (up big hill), 8:06 (down big hill), 8:13, and 8:26.

photo 2-1

Pretty sky, ugly run

Saturday: 2.75 miles + 12 game show obstacles! Kevin and I did the ROC Race and had so much fun!

DSCN1491

Sunday: 16 miles in 2:30:32 (9:24 pace). After feeling like I have been making a lot of excuses lately and cutting my runs short, mainly due to the weather and not feeling great, I decided this morning that I wasn’t going to let that happen today. I had to get up super early because my husband had to leave the house by 8, and I had 16 miles to do. My alarm didn’t go off so I woke up 20 minutes late and rushed around to leave. My Garmin wouldn’t work so I had to use my phone. It was dark and rainy. But none of that mattered because I kept telling myself NO EXCUSES and kept at it. I realized I was only going to have time for 15, so instead of cutting it short once again I asked Kevin to put the baby in the stroller for me, swung back home to get him and ran the last mile. I’m very proud of myself for this run, and best of all I felt like I could have kept going. WIN!

photo 3-1

Week 7 Total:

  • Run: 35.75 miles
  • X-Train & Strength Training: 1 at-home strength workout

My goal for week 8 is to enjoy my last full week off before going back to work :(. It’s going to be a bit of a cut back week because I decided to sign up for a local 10 mile race that will take the place of my long run on Sunday. I plan to really race it and try to PR, which will be a tough effort for my body and a good replacement for a longer run. After that I jump right back in with an 18 and 20 miler! 7 weeks down, 13 to go!

1149041_10151760449751281_1869292730_n

Thought for the upcoming week…

11 responses to “OBX Marathon Training: Week 7

  1. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 9 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 10 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Weeks 11 & 12 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 13 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 14 | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 15 | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 16 | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 17 | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 18 | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 19 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

