OBX Marathon Training: Week 6

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 9.24.38 PM

Week 6 is complete and in the books. My goal this week was to do the best I could while on vacation in Myrtle Beach. I knew there would be some hot days, sleeping in, drinks and a lot of food, so I wanted to be flexible with my training while still making sure to get out and run. I ran a total of 42 miles while at the beach, and I am VERY proud of that! It was a brutal week of heat and humidity, but I made it through.

Screen shot 2013-08-05 at 10.34.31 PM

Here is the weekly breakdown:

Monday: Rest. I needed this after my tough long run the day before!

Tuesday: 4 miles in 36:55 (9:13 pace). I ran an easy 4 miles around my in-law’s neighborhood in Myrtle Beach. It was pretty warm and humid by the time we got out there (I had a very hard time waking up early while on vacation) but I did the first half with Kevin and the baby in the stroller! It’s been a really long time since we’ve run together like that and I loved it. On our second loop around the neighborhood, an older man came out with two cold bottles of water for us. It was the nicest thing and I was so happy and appreciative of his thoughtfulness.

photo 1

Wednesday: 6 miles in 51:18 (8:33 pace). WOW, this was tough. Once again I didn’t wake up early enough and it was roasting by the time I started this run. On my plan was a warm-up, followed by 2 x 2 miles @ tempo pace with .25 mile recovery between, then a cool down. I was aiming to run my tempo miles at a 8:00-8:15 pace, which I knew would be a struggle in the heat and bright sun. Somehow I pulled out 8:07 and 7:58 for my first two miles, and then had to take a little break before starting my second interval to get my breathing under control. I ran both of the last two tempo miles in 8:15, and was SO proud of myself when I was done. I walked for a minute then cooled down by running super slow until I hit 6 miles. Definitely a tough workout but I felt awesome afterwards.

photo 2  photo 3

Thursday: 6 miles in 54:46 (9:08 pace). I chose to do my Friday run on Thursday because we had plan to go out that night and have some drinks, and I knew I wouldn’t feel up for it the next morning. I was a little concerned about running 3 days in a row on tired legs (especially after yesterday’s hard tempo run) but it ended up being great. I was super happy because I was accompanied by my favorite coach! Kevin came with me on the bike and was by my side the whole time. He is super motivating and always pushing me to be my best. He especially pushes me to finish my runs strong. I ran my last mile in 8:07 and right at the very end I sprinted and my Garmin hit a personal best pace of 6:22/mile. Whoa! It helps that Myrtle Beach is super flat but still- I was shocked to see that pace.

photo6

Friday: Rest. I spent the morning nursing a little hangover (it’s been a LONG time since I’ve gone out like that), then we went to a water park and had some fun!

Saturday: 14 miles in 2:16:49 (9:46 pace). I chose to do my long run on Saturday rather than Sunday because we were leaving to go back home early the next day and I knew I wouldn’t have time.  I was a little worried because last week I was forced to cut my 15 miler short to 12 due to a horrible cramp that wouldn’t go away. This week I had to cut my 16 miler to 14 due to extreme heat. But I’m proud of those 14 miles and I fought for every one! Kevin came out and ran a few with me in the middle of my run which gave me a boost, but I stopped to go to the bathroom when he arrived and stopped again right before he left to say bye and get my things back that he was holding. Those breaks were untimed. I started needing to walk once I hit 11 miles or so. I left my Garmin on for all my walk breaks, but I was really struggling. I got another cramp and just felt depleted. The air was so thick that I couldn’t take a deep enough breath to get all the oxygen I needed. I felt myself overheating so I called it quits. When I stopped it was 85 degrees and 100% humidity. Proud of myself for fighting through it and doing what I could, especially while on vacation!

photo 5

Sunday: Rest. We spent the day traveling back home to Virginia from South Carolina. It took about 8 hours with all the breaks we had to take for the baby, food and bathroom so by the time we got home we were exhausted!

Week 6 Total:

  • Run: 30 miles
  • X-Train & Strength Training: Nothing official. Just a lot of walking, swimming, playing, and having fun with the family 🙂

My goal for week 7 is to get back into my training routine at home, complete all my runs and get back to Body Pump. I’m going to have to do a little rearranging of my runs this week and next because we have the ROC Race on Saturday which is a 5K “Ridiculous Obstacle Challenge.” I had originally planned to do that race on Saturday then 10 miles on Sunday and use this week as a cutback week, but since I already cut back on my long runs the last two weeks while on vacation I really want to complete a 16 miler this weekend. Also, I signed up for a local 10 mile race the weekend after that, so I think I’m going to try to fit in a 16 miler this weekend and then use next week as my cutback. We’ll see- my training plan is flexible!

Thought for the upcoming week...

Thought for the upcoming week…

12 responses to “OBX Marathon Training: Week 6

  1. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 7 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 9 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 10 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Weeks 11 & 12 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 13 | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 14 | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 15 | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 16 | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 17 | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 18 | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 19 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

