Day in the Life with a 10 Month Old

Here is a 24 hour snapshot of what life is like for us at 10 months old. Not much has changed in our daily routine since 9 months, but we’re both still loving summertime and being home with Kevin is amazing! I took these pictures on Tuesday, July 23rd. Here is what our day was like from 5:00 a.m. to 5:00 a.m. the next day!

5:20 a.m. My alarm goes off. I pump, get dressed, and get ready to run.

IMG_9309

6:00 a.m. I leave for my run. It’s really humid and gross outside. I have 5 easy miles on the plan and they don’t feel too bad today. I think I may be finally getting used to running in this weather!

6:52 a.m. I get back home after running 5 miles in 47:14 and walking a bit to cool down. I see my two handsome boys waiting for me outside :). While I was gone the baby woke up at 6:25 and Kevin gave him a 6 ounce bottle of the milk I pumped earlier. We all go inside and I stretch with the baby playing next to me.

IMG_9310 IMG_9312

7:00 a.m. I go upstairs to shower. The baby plays and Kevin makes us breakfast.

7:20 a.m. I come back downstairs to eat breakfast (oatmeal with banana, blueberries, and almond butter) and iced coffee.

IMG_9313

7:45 a.m. I go into the kitchen to make breakfast for the baby. He’s having oatmeal too, but his is mixed with applesauce. He loves it and eats it all, although he is doing a new thing lately where he spits some out and smiles afterwards as it runs down his chin. He also has some water from his new sippy cup. We got him one with a straw because he was having a hard time with the other types, and he is doing really well with it.

IMG_9315 IMG_9318

8:02 a.m. He is rubbing his eyes and yawning, so I take him upstairs for a nap. I change his diaper and he nurses.

IMG_9320

8:20 a.m. I put him down in his crib and he falls right asleep. I go back downstairs and finish my coffee, do the dishes, clean up the kitchen, prep some sweet potato fries and hard boil some eggs.

9:12 a.m. The baby starts making some noise and I’m surprised. His morning nap has been exactly 1 hour and 15 minutes lately and this was only 52 minutes. If he wakes up before an hour I usually let him play in his crib until the one hour mark, to teach him that this is naptime and alone time for him. He plays happily while I finish up in the kitchen.

9:20 a.m. I go up to get him and he’s standing up to greet me. I change his diaper and offer to nurse again. We’ve been nursing when he wakes up, before nap, after nap, before nap #2, after nap #2, and before bed.

IMG_9324

9:36 a.m. He’s finished nursing (it was a quick one). We read books in his nursery. We actually get through two! That’s good for his baby attention span.

IMG_9328

9:46 a.m. We go downstairs and I put Kevin in the living room to play. While he plays I take the sweet potato fries out of the oven and stuff and fold some cloth diapers. Whenever I go into the kitchen he likes to stand by the gate and wait for me to come back.

IMG_9329 IMG_9331

10:00 a.m. I play with Kevin on the floor as he crawls and cruises around. He is getting a lot sturdier on his feet.

IMG_9332

10:40 a.m. I have a snack of 2 hard boiled eggs and snuggle with the baby on the couch, who is actually letting me!!!

IMG_9338

11:05 a.m. We go into the kitchen and I start making Kevin some lunch. He has sweet potato fries, chickpeas, and zucchini. He recently started LOVING zucchini. It’s one of the few green vegetables he will eat.

IMG_9339 IMG_9342

11:15 a.m. While baby eats I start making Coconut Lime Berry Cake. I am bringing it to a friend’s house tonight for dessert. This cake is so good, perfect for summer!

IMG_9340

12:00 p.m. The cake is ready to go in the oven!

IMG_9343

12:03 p.m. Baby’s yawning again. I take him upstairs, wrestle with him during a diaper change, and nurse him to sleep.

IMG_9326

12:26 p.m. And he’s out. I’m hoping he sleeps for longer this time because I have a lot to do! The kitchen is a mess again from making the cake and I need to eat lunch. I also need to fold some clothes and clean up around the house. I start with lunch.

IMG_9346

1:06 p.m. He’s awake. This time after only 40 minutes. I let him be to see if he will go back to sleep but he’s up and standing in his crib. I don’t know what is going on lately but some days his naps are super short. He’s been working on a tooth so maybe that’s it. I let him hang out in his crib until the 1 hour mark. I take the cake out of the oven and it’s beautiful! But the kitchen is still a mess 😦

IMG_9347

IMG_9344

1:30 p.m. I go up to get him and change his diaper. We go into my room and he plays with toys while I get dressed and ready to go out.

IMG_9350

1:55 p.m. I offer to nurse again and he doesn’t eat very much this time. I get him dressed into a new outfit.

IMG_9353

2:12 p.m. We go downstairs and he plays while I pack up the diaper bag. We are going to my friend (and former doula) Marisa’s house for dinner. I planned to go up a little early to chat and let the kids play, and then our husbands would come after work.

2:50 p.m. Before we leave I give Kevin a 5 ounce bottle of formula. We had stopped giving him this for a while and I was just exclusively breastfeeding again because he was gaining weight fine, but recently he started waking up at night. We wanted to try giving him an extra bottle again to see if maybe he was waking up because he wasn’t eating enough. I also change his diaper again.

3:05 p.m. We leave for Marisa’s house. I stop to get gas on the way.

3:30 – 7:20 p.m. We hang out with Marisa and her family, eat some dinner, drink some wine, and watch the kids play with each other. She made these delicious black bean cakes that I can’t wait to make again. Baby Kevin loved them too! Marisa has a 2 1/2 year old and a 9 month old, so it’s really fun when we get together. Through taking Bradley Method classes with her as our teacher and having her as our doula we’ve gotten really close with her and her husband. We always have a great time together.

IMG_9355

7:20 p.m. We leave and head home. Baby falls asleep in the car on the way for a 20 minute cat nap.

7:40 p.m. We arrive back home and it’s later than usual so we skip the baby’s bath. We get him ready for bed and I nurse him. He’s exhausted from all the fun he had with the other kids! While I’m getting the baby to bed Kevin runs out to the store to pick up a few things.

IMG_9373

8:08 p.m. I put him down in his crib and he passes right out. I go downstairs to relax and watch some TV with Kevin.

9:35 p.m. We start to get tired so we head up to bed. I get ready and pump. I want to drop this soon but I usually use this milk to give him a little extra the next day. I didn’t pump last night before bed because he woke up and I nursed him, which is why I gave him some formula instead. If I have pumped milk I always give him that first.

10:00 p.m. We sleep!

5:00 a.m. My alarm goes off. I wake up, pump, and get ready to run! I’m happy when I realize baby didn’t wake up at all last night- maybe the extra feeding helped? And our day starts all over again!

24 Hour Totals

  • # of feedings: 7 + 3 meals of solids & 1 snack
  • # of diaper changes: 8
  • # of outfit changes: 1 (out of his PJs which in the summer is just a onesie)
  • # of hours of sleep for mom: 7 hours
  • # of hours of sleep for baby: ~12 hours (2 hours daytime + 10 hours nighttime – Not enough!)
  • # of hours spent nursing: ~ 2 hours
  • # of hours spent pumping: About 40 minutes total (before run, before bed, before run #2)
  • # of formula ounces eaten: 5 oz.
  • # of breast milk ounces eaten: whatever he ate directly from me 🙂

Previous “Day in the Life” posts:

13 responses to “Day in the Life with a 10 Month Old

  1. Looks like you’re really in the grove now! He is really getting so big 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your summer!

  2. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 11 Month Old | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 12 Month Old [My Birthday Edition!] | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 13 Month Old | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 14 Month Old | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 15 Month Old | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 16 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 17 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 18 Month Old | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 19 Month Old | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 21 Month Old: Summer Break! | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 22 Month Old | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 2 Year Old | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

