OBX Marathon Training: Week 4

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 9.24.38 PM

I had a GREAT, pretty much perfect week of training! It feels amazing 🙂

Screen shot 2013-07-21 at 11.25.55 AM

Here is the weekly breakdown:

Monday: Rest.

Tuesday: 4 miles in 37:36 (9:24 pace). This workout was 4-5 miles with 5-6 strides (30 seconds sprinting) interspersed throughout. I was really hoping to do 5 but the baby woke up super early and I only had time for 4 before Kevin had to get himself ready for work and leave. It felt good though! I think my body is finally adjusting to running in the summer. It’s feeling better every day.

photo 1

Wednesday: 5 miles in 44:46 (8:58 pace). I decided on this day that I wasn’t going to let the summer weather beat me. I attempted a tempo run outside rather than on the treadmill and I WON! I knew I probably wouldn’t be able to get to quite tempo pace (8:00-8:15/mile) so I decided to just try to get as close as I could and run the middle 3 miles at a faster pace. My splits were 8:36, 8:25, and 8:23. The route was very hilly too. I was very proud of myself!

photo 2

Thursday: Rest.

Friday: 6 miles in 54:56 (9:09 pace). I had intervals to run on this day, so I decided to do them on the treadmill. I ran to and from the gym (a little over a mile from my house) so that I didn’t have to do my warm-up and cool down on the treadmill too. This was great because it allowed me to just do my intervals at the gym and it wasn’t too torturous :). My workout was 6 x 2:30 minutes at 5K race pace, recover as needed. I did all 6 at a 7:30/pace which is right on target. I recovered for 2:30 after each one by running at a slower pace. With warm up and cool down I covered 6 miles total, even though the plan said it would be closer to 7? I had stomach cramps almost halfway through the workout though, and this is happening on almost all my runs lately. I’m not sure what is going on… the heat, hydration? I need to figure it out because it definitely hurts to run through them.

photo 4

The treadmill portion of the run

Saturday: Body Pump! This was my first time doing the new release and it was tough! I’m still sore!

Sunday: 14.15 miles in 2:21:33 (10:00 pace). Today I had 14 on my plan so I did 5 miles solo and then 9 more with my friend Amanda who is also training for the OBX Marathon (her first!) We ran through the Fredericksburg Battlefield which was nice and shaded because it was pretty warm. We chatted the whole time and the run flew by. Since I don’t really get to run with Kevin anymore I missed having a running buddy! Her pace is a little slower than mine, but it was really nice to take it easy and enjoy myself. I also tried the Margarita Clif Shot Bloks with 3x the sodium and didn’t have any cramping today! Woo hoo!

photo 5

Week 4 Total:

  • Run: 29.15 miles <– again with a random number, ugh! Haha.
  • X-Train: None
  • Strength Training: Body Pump

The only thing I was missing this week was cross-training and maybe another day of strength training. It was nearly impossible to walk with the baby because we had heat indexes of 100-110 degrees every day! My goal for week 5 is to make an effort to get out of the house for a walk, and try to fit in another day of strength training, even if it’s just an at-home workout. We are going to the beach for a week on Friday so it will be awesome to switch up the scenery! Hopefully it will be cooler there too with a nice ocean breeze 🙂

Can’t wait for week 5!

14 responses to “OBX Marathon Training: Week 4

  1. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 5 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 6 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 7 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 9 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 10 | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Weeks 11 & 12 | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 13 | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 14 | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 15 | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 16 | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 17 | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 18 | Run Inspired

  14. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 19 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

