A Week in PA

Last week Baby Kevin and I went to my hometown in Pennsylvania to visit friends and family. I go home pretty often, but it’s always just for a weekend and usually for a specific reason (a wedding, a party, etc.), so my time is limited. I knew this summer I wanted to go home for a longer amount of time, so we planned to go from July 5 – 12. Kevin (my husband) came for the weekend part of the stay, then went back to Virginia to work during the week while I stayed. It was so nice to be home with nothing really to do except hang out with everyone! Here are some of the highlights of our trip. Lots of photos ahead!

My little roadtrip buddy... taking a break at a rest stop!

My little roadtrip buddy… taking a break at a rest stop!

994194_10104701493675874_2030603450_n

Kevin with Aunt Lauren (my little sister)

Big baby in a little sink!

Big baby in a little sink!

After bath time with daddy

After bath time with daddy

Family :)

Family 🙂

We went on a few walks and runs together…

Running on the Schuykill River Trail

Running on the Schuykill River Trail

1301_10104717902731994_253374804_n

Walking at Ridley Creek State Park & pinching mommy’s cheeks 🙂

And saw a lot of family and friends!

My former roommate Susan from Penn State!

My former roommate Susan from Penn State!

Kevin with my aunt at a birthday party

Kevin with my aunt at a birthday party

Loving Aunt Lauren's face

Loving Aunt Lauren’s face

Fun at Christy's house

Fun at Christy’s house

We went to my friend DJ’s house to swim in his pool and had SO much fun! Kevin was so worn out that he fell asleep on a raft for a good hour while we stood around him chatting and eating pizza 🙂

One of my best friends Sandy

One of my best friends Sandy

My other best friend Christy

My other best friend Christy

Trading hats with one of my oldest friends, DJ

Trading hats with one of my oldest friends, DJ

DSCN1181

1006254_10104711792467014_643077043_n

It was a challenge being at my dad’s unbabyproofed house since Kevin is SO active now. I brought a Pack and Play but he wanted nothing to do with it, so I basically had to chase him around all week and try to keep him distracted from things like wires, electrical outlets, electronics, and breakable things. We read stories, played games, and made sure to get out of the house as much as we could too!

1001873_10104716698470344_194852150_n

photo 1

We celebrated my dad’s birthday by taking him out to dinner. Kevin happily munched away at a piece of Italian bread. I love that he is able to eat what we are eating these days… it makes life so much easier!

1009793_10104731989362274_255863130_n

It was hard to be away from Kevin though. I haven’t been apart from him for that long since I went to Ireland 3 years ago. And he has never been away from the baby that long! We made sure to Facetime everyday 🙂

1044726_10104724291498854_1407719334_n

My dad is a great photographer, and as always he got a few great pictures while we were home that really capture his little personality.

DSC_3143

DSC_3168

I really enjoyed this week with my little boy. Although by the end of the trip I was pretty exhausted! It’s tough without my hubby around- he helps out SO much! I have always appreciated it, but now more than ever.

photo 3

photo 4

A rare cuddly moment

photo 2

The trip ended with my baby boy turning 10 months old. 10 MONTHS! I can’t believe it. He is so grown up 😦

66921_10104740136954434_603755769_n

It was really special for me to be able to go home and spend some time with the people I don’t get to see very often. I am very fortunate to have the summer off to do things like this, and I know it’s probably something we will do every year. Next trip: Myrtle Beach, South Carolina to see the other side of our family in two weeks! I can’t wait!

2 responses to “A Week in PA

  1. I love going home with nothing much to do except hang out! Everyone loves seeing C and I LOVE being home! Glad you guys had a great trip. I can’t beleive how grown up he is looking! (And you look terrifically happy!)

Leave a Reply

