OBX Marathon Training: Week 2

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 9.24.38 PM

Today was a great week of training! I was able to complete all my runs as planned and squeezed in a couple of other workouts as well, despite going out of town.

At my dad's house in Pennsylvania

At my dad’s house in Pennsylvania

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 9.41.39 PM

Here is the weekly breakdown:

Monday: Rest.

Tuesday: 5 miles in 47:48 (9:34 pace). Another 96% humidity morning run that I really struggled through. The heat and humidity has been killer and makes me feel so out of shape and slow! I did get to check out a new to me trail that ran behind a nearby neighborhood, which was a nice change of scenery.

photo 1a   photo 3a

Wednesday: 6 miles in 52:10 (8:41 pace). After last week’s failed attempt at speed work outside, I decided to take my workout indoors this week. I had mile repeats on the plan and I knew it would be very difficult to achieve my goal pace (7:38 – 7:51) outside in the horrible humidity. I did a 1 mile warm-up, then 3 x 1600 meters with 800 meter recovery after each one, followed by a 1 mile cool down. I felt so much better on the treadmill, and was able to run my mile repeats in 7:47, 7:41, and 7:35! It felt good to see that I still have some speed in my legs.

photo 4a

Thursday: 8 minute abs, 8 minute arms, 8 minute buns. I was planning to go to Body Pump this morning because I was going out of town over the weekend when I usually go, but I was disappointed to find out that they canceled class because of the holiday. I decided to do these 8 minute workouts instead, and they are more challenging than you would think (for me at least!) I was feeling it by the end of the 24 minutes.

Friday: 3 miles in 28:19 (9:27 pace). Just an easy little Friday morning run before we headed home to PA for the weekend. I laughed at myself on the way out because I will be gone for a week so I packed most of my running clothes, and left the house looking like a popsicle or something.

photo 1

Saturday: 8 minute abs & 8 minute arms. I brought my hand weights to PA so I could fit in some strength training while I’m here. I just did a quick little workout while being watched by Kevin and my dad (haha). I skipped buns this time because it actually made me pretty sore and I had a long run the next day.

Sunday: 12 miles in 1:57:37 (9:48 pace). Going into this run I felt like I was set up to fail. The night before Kevin was up LITERALLY all night. We got maybe an hour or two of sleep. I am not sure what is going on, maybe teething? But needless to say I was exhausted when I left the house at 7:15. It was also super hot, and there was even an excessive heat warning for my dad’s town. But surprisingly, I survived and did pretty well considering everything! I had Kevin meet me halfway to bring more water (really need to find my Camelbak ASAP), made sure to eat plenty of Stingers with electrolytes, and just took it slow and steady and didn’t worry about pace at all. I took a few walk breaks, but left my Garmin on during them this week. The only untimed break I took was when I met Kevin and refilled my water bottle. When I got home I was completely soaking wet with sweat and chugged a coconut water. Then we went swimming at my friend’s house. Perfection 🙂

photo 2

photo 4

Week 2 Total:

  • Run: 26 miles
  • X-Train: None. Unless hanging out and swimming at the pool all day today counts 🙂
  • Strength Training: 8 minute abs (x2), 8 minute arms (x2), 8 minute buns (x1)

Next week I’m going to try to get some cross training in. Again I opted to do an easy 4th run rather than some form of cross training. I wanted to walk, but this week there were thunderstorms every day in the afternoons when we have a good chunk of time to go out and walk, so we were stuck inside. I’m already planning to go walk tomorrow at my favorite park, so I’ll be off to a great start in week 3 🙂

18 responses to “OBX Marathon Training: Week 2

  1. I feel you on the heat and humidity. NC summer’s are the absolute worst! Every morning practically is around 80+ and 100% humidity. But think of it this way, at least in the the fall you’ll run much faster because you can actually breathe. 🙂 At least that’s how I look at it. Awesome job with your second week of training!

    • That is what I’m hoping! 2 years ago I ran my best marathon ever in the fall after training during an especially tough summer, so I hope history repeats itself 🙂

  2. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 3 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 4 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 5 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 6 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 7 | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 9 | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 10 | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Weeks 11 & 12 | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 13 | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 14 | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 15 | Run Inspired

  14. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 16 | Run Inspired

  15. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 17 | Run Inspired

  16. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 18 | Run Inspired

  17. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 19 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

