OBX Marathon Training: Week 1

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 9.24.38 PM

I am so excited to have started training for the Outer Banks Marathon this week! I was able to complete most of my runs as planned (I needed to adjust one due to summer heat), and successfully filled in my blank strength training and cross-training/4th run boxes.

photo 3

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 9.41.39 PM

Here is the weekly breakdown:

Monday: Rest. Nothing like kicking off marathon training with a rest day! I had done an 8 miler the day before though so I needed to give my legs a break. It worked out well because we had thunderstorms pretty much all day.

Tuesday: 5 miles in 46:30 (9:18 pace) + 2.75 mile walk. I don’t know if I was excited about marathon training or what but I felt amazing on this run.  I ran in the morning before Kevin and the baby got up and it was so nice to get it done at that time. Put me in a great mood and I was super energized the rest of the day. Later on the baby and I went on a walk to Starbucks to get coffee and then to the playground.

photo 2

Wednesday: 8 minute abs video. It’s really short but super effective. I’ve been doing it twice a week for a little while now and it almost always makes me sore! It’s also hilarious because it is from 1994. Haha! You can find it here.

Thursday: 4 miles in 37:39 (9:25 pace). This was supposed to be a 6 mile run with the middle 4 miles at tempo pace (8:20ish/mile). As soon as I got outside I knew that wasn’t going to happen. It was close to 80 degrees and literally 100% humidity at 6 a.m. and maintaining even a 9 minute pace was a struggle. I cut it down to 4 miles and did the middle two at 8:48 and 8:53- not tempo at all. It reminded me that I need to be patient as I get my body used to summer running. I think I’ll do my next speedwork run on the treadmill!

Friday: 4 miles in 37:20 (9:20 pace). Today was a cross training or run day and I chose to run an easy 4 miles. What is crazy is that without even trying I ran it faster than the 4 miles the day before, which was supposed to be a tempo run! WTF. It was cooler and less humid this morning though, and I ran a new way which was exciting. This was the 3rd time this week that I got up early to run and I really enjoyed it.

Saturday: Body Pump!!! I finally went again last week for the first time since 3 days before Kevin was born- 9 months ago!!! Yes, I know that is pathetic. Anyway, I went again yesterday and it was great and made me feel like complete jello. It wasn’t the full hour though because an 80 year old woman collapsed and they had to call an ambulance. She ended up being okay but it was super scary. Apparently she comes every week and was in really good shape too!

photo 1

Hello old friends!

Sunday: 10 miles in 1:33:51 (9:23 pace). The odds were against me with this run. It was super humid again and I ran out of water halfway through. I had to have Kevin come bring me more. I ended up taking 3 untimed walking breaks: at halfway when I asked Kevin to come find me, at 6 miles when he showed up with more water, and at mile 9 when I got a HORRIBLE cramp. I am proud of myself for sticking it out though. Long runs in the summer are just about surviving for me- I have to remember to let go of any goal paces and just stay hydrated and safe.

8463_10104669461119374_946297876_n

Week 1 Total:

  • Run: 23 miles
  • X-Train: 2.75 mile walk
  • Strength Training: 8 minute abs, 1 Body Pump class

I’m thinking of making some changes in my training plan. When I made my plan I was pretty conservative, because I didn’t know how difficult it would be to get out for runs and if my body would respond well to higher mileage and “speed work” again. After one week I have already realized that I may have been selling myself a little short. It was easy to get out 4 times last week and felt good on my body. The speed work was tough, but it always is in the summer, and I know it will be easier to hit those paces once the weather cools down from September to November. I recently read the book Train Like a Mother, and I really like the marathon training plans they have in there. It’s a little ambitious yet realistic at the same time. I want to give it one more week until I decide for sure, but if I do I will share the new plan!

Looking forward to week 2!

18 responses to “OBX Marathon Training: Week 1

  1. Good luck with the training!!! And I’m with you on the weather cooling down… it’s so hot and humid here in NC! I figure that’ll make for a faster fall race 🙂

  2. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 2 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 3 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 4 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 5 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 6 | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 7 | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 9 | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 10 | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Weeks 11 & 12 | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 13 | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 14 | Run Inspired

  14. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 15 | Run Inspired

  15. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 16 | Run Inspired

  16. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 17 | Run Inspired

  17. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 18 | Run Inspired

  18. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 19 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

