Day in the Life with a 9 Month Old: SUMMER BREAK!

Here is a 24 hour snapshot of what life is like for us at 9 months old, now that I am off for the summer and home with Kevin all day. I took these pictures on Wednesday, June 26th. We have settled into a pretty good routine when it comes to eating, playing, and sleeping. Here is what our day was like from 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m. the next day!

6:00 a.m. I wake up to the sound of the baby making noises on the monitor. He’s up a little earlier than usual today. I go in to get him, change his diaper, and then nurse him.

6:25 a.m. We go downstairs and Kevin is making us breakfast. I sit down to play with the baby. He practices his new favorite thing: climbing over my legs.

IMG_8083

6:45 a.m. We eat while the baby plays independently.

IMG_8097

7:00 a.m.  I go into the kitchen to make Kevin’s lunch (PB & J) and baby’s breakfast (oatmeal with mashed banana mixed in). Baby plays with daddy in the living room and practices his climbing on him. I drink iced coffee.

IMG_8107   IMG_8109

7:15 a.m. Daddy feeds the baby his breakfast. He really likes spending time with him in the mornings because he doesn’t get much time with him after work before the baby goes to bed.

IMG_8111

7:35 a.m. Daddy leaves for work, we have more play time.

IMG_8081

7:55 a.m. I notice him rubbing his eyes and yawning – time for a nap! Earlier than usual but he did wake up early so I know that’s why. I take him upstairs for a diaper change, then I nurse him. He nurses for a long time.

8:28 a.m. I put him down in his crib half asleep, and then he suddenly pops his eyes open and is wide awake and babbling. He does this every once in  a while. When he does I leave the room and let him fall asleep eventually.  I go downstairs  and relax for a few minutes. Kevin emails me a few pictures of kittens, since we have been looking to adopt one for a while now.

IMG_8130

8:50 a.m. Baby is finally asleep! I start cleaning up the house. Now that he naps for long periods of time it’s a lot easier to get things done during the day. I have been trying to use one nap to get household things stuff done and the other one for ‘me time.’ It was Kevin’s suggestion and I am loving it!

IMG_8129

10:26 a.m. I hear baby start babbling. He slept for 1 hour and 35 minutes, which is typical for his morning nap. Somehow he has learned to sit up by himself in his crib. I haven’t been able to catch him doing it yet, but it always takes me by surprise when I go in his room and see him sitting up! We just lowered his crib too, since he likes to practice pulling up now. I change his diaper and try to nurse him. He takes the right side but not the left.

IMG_8131

10:40 a.m. We go back downstairs and we both have snacks- a Cashew Cookie Larabar for me and Baby Mum Mum crackers for him. Then we read books and listen to music.

IMG_8135    IMG_8137

11:00 a.m. I go into the kitchen to make lunch while the baby is playing. I hear noise and I looked out to see him baby crawling after me. He got himself up the stair and everything! As you can see we have a baby gate leaning against the wall- we need to install it ASAP!

IMG_8144

11:15 a.m. Lunch time! I made the baby an egg yolk with spinach. He also has banana and a piece of bread. He has no problem eating it ALL. This boy loves food. I also have an egg salad sandwich. It wasn’t very attractive to look at so I will spare you the picture.

IMG_8146   IMG_8147

11:50 a.m. I clean up the baby and we go play some more in the living room. He practices another new favorite skill of his: pulling up and standing!

IMG_8153

12:30 p.m. I notice he’s starting to get tired again so I take him upstairs, change his diaper, and nurse him.

1:05 p.m. He’s nearly asleep in my arms so I put him down. Again, he is wide awake when I start to leave the room. What is going on? He hasn’t done this in weeks! I let him be and clean up the kitchen.

1:50 p.m. He is finally asleep. I relax, read blogs, and enjoy my “me time.” I also do an ab workout video. My core is so weak post-pregnancy and I’m trying to strengthen it again. I also receive a package, which is some more babyproofing supplies. We are going to completely babyproof this weekend!

IMG_8145

3:15 p.m. Baby is still sleeping so I make myself a smoothie: frozen strawberries, pineapple, mango, and peaches with almond milk, Sun Warrior Vanilla protein powder, and a handful of spinach. The color wasn’t great but it tasted delicious! While I drank it I worked on my OBX Marathon Training Plan. I am adjusting it a little bit since I’ve had an easier time than I thought I would fitting in runs and workouts. More on this later!

IMG_8165

4:20 p.m. And he’s awake! This nap was 2 hours and 30 minutes long! Whoa! His afternoon nap is generally longer and he usually sleeps anywhere from 1.5 hours to 2.5 hours. I go into get him, change his diaper, and try to nurse him. He didn’t really want to eat from me (we are working on getting him used to nursing all day rather than taking bottles like he did while I was working- it’s been an adjustment for him). I know he is hungry so I give him a 4 oz. bottle of formula. We are still supplementing with one small bottle most days.

IMG_8167

4:40 p.m. We usually go out for a walk to get some fresh air after his 2nd nap, but today is super hot with storms on and off, so we are stuck inside 😦 This is disappointing because I really like to get out once a day. He plays in his bouncer for a little while until he gets bored- which is happening pretty quickly these days. I think he’s almost over it.

IMG_8166

5:00 p.m. We go in the kitchen so I can start making dinner.We are having Bean, Avocado and Corn Tortilla Lasagna with roasted asparagus. While I prep and cook baby keeps busy with his dinner: beans and corn. He ate these like they were M&Ms, he could not stop stuffing them in his mouth. It was so funny! He also had a ripped up corn tortilla and some asparagus.

IMG_8168

6:05 p.m. Kevin gets home from work and we eat our dinner. The baby plays independently, then plays with daddy once he is finished eating.

IMG_8169   IMG_8170

6:45 p.m. Bath time! Kevin brings him up for a bath, which is part of their nightly routine. He really likes having something special that he does with the baby each night, and baby LOVES his baths.

IMG_8177

7:05 p.m. Kevin is lotioned, dressed and ready for bed so I take him into his nursery with the sound machine on to nurse him to sleep.

7:40 p.m. Baby is asleep and goes down without a fight. I go downstairs and eat cookies that Kevin has baked 🙂 We discuss a kitten that Kevin found on Craigslist and he texts back and forth with the owner, who can’t keep the kittens due to the cost of them. We really want this kitten and the owner has 3 kids and says he is great with them. Decisions, decisions…

IMG_8178

8:10 p.m. Kevin decides to leave to look at the cat and see how he acts with him since the owner lives nearby. I clean up the kitchen and pick up toys in the living room, anxiously awaiting his return.

9:15 p.m. Kevin arrives home with the kitten!!! He is the cutest little orange tabby. He is 15 weeks old and super loving and cuddly with us. We are happy with his age because we didn’t want a super tiny young kitten. We decide to name him Koli. He makes himself right at home.

IMG_8188   IMG_8194

9:30 p.m. We get everything set up for the cat: food, litter box, etc. and he runs around exploring everything.  When he got tired he jumped up onto the couch, lay down right next to us and purred his heart out. So sweet. We watch Big Brother which we recorded while all the cat craziness was going on.

IMG_8195

10:15 p.m. Time to get ready for bed. I pump quickly (or else I wake up too full). I’m not sure when I will drop this but I’m thinking soon.

10:30 p.m. – 5:30 a.m. We all sleep! I wake up to pump and get myself ready to run.

photo

6:00 a.m. Kevin wakes up to shower, and I leave for my run. Baby is still asleep (He slept until 7:00 a.m. this day- on days that I run I pump and Kevin gives him a bottle of pumped milk when he wakes up).

So that was a day in my life currently as a Stay at Home Mom. It’s nothing too exciting but I am honestly LOVING every minute, and making sure to remember how lucky I am to have this time at home with him all summer. I count my blessings every day and am so thankful.

24 Hour Totals

  • # of feedings: 6 + 3 meals of solids & 1 snack
  • # of diaper changes: 6
  • # of outfit changes: 1 (into his PJs which in the summer is just a onesie)
  • # of hours of sleep for mom: 7 hours
  • # of hours of sleep for baby: ~15 hours (4 hours daytime, 11 hours nighttime)
  • # of hours spent nursing: ~ 2 hours 10 minutes
  • # of hours spent pumping: Only about 30 minutes total (before bed and before run)
  • # of formula ounces eaten: 4 oz.
  • # of breast milk ounces eaten: whatever he ate directly from me 🙂

Previous “Day in the Life” posts:

14 responses to “Day in the Life with a 9 Month Old: SUMMER BREAK!

  1. jealous of how good naps he’s taking. Sofia won’t take nap longer than 1 hours, most the time they’re 40 min long. 🙂
    Also love the “me time”! So important, isn’t it?

  2. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 10 Month Old | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 11 Month Old | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 12 Month Old [My Birthday Edition!] | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 13 Month Old | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 14 Month Old | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 15 Month Old | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 16 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 17 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 18 Month Old | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 19 Month Old | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 21 Month Old: Summer Break! | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 22 Month Old | Run Inspired

  14. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 2 Year Old | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

