Running Pop Quiz #2

Back in October I completed a Running Pop Quiz that Janae, the Hungry Runner Girl, had posted (one of my all time favorite bloggers!). She just posted a second one, so I knew I had to do it for fun 🙂

1.  On average how many races do you run a year?

I was curious about this question so I went back into my race history (which I keep in a sticky note on my computer desktop) to find out, starting with when I did my first race in 2006.

  • 2006: 1
  • 2007: 2
  • 2008: 1
  • 2009: 5
  • 2010: 10
  • 2011: 9
  • 2012: 12
  • 2013: 13 <–7 so far this year + 6 more planned

So I guess my average for the more recent years is about 11 races per year. I am addicted!

Screen shot 2013-06-06 at 8.45.55 PM  Screen shot 2013-06-06 at 8.46.36 PM

2.  Head accessories, things you have to run with:  a hat, a visor, sunglasses, chapstick, sunscreen, head band, ponytail, braids, sweat band?

I always run with water (not sure if that counts, but I’m including it because I drink it and my mouth is part of my head, HAHA! I die without water- even on short runs), sunscreen if I’m running when it’s light out, my hair up in a ponytail, and most importantly- BURTS BEES! I literally cannot stand to be without it.

DSCN2043

3.  Where do your workouts come from?  A training plan, a coach, whatever you feel like doing that day or what your training partner is doing that day?

It depends on if I am training for something. If I’m “In Training” I use my training plan that I usually create myself from a variety of different sources (books, internet, past experience, etc.) If I am not in training mode I do whatever I am in the mood for.

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 9.41.39 PM

4.  How many miles on average do you put on a pair of shoes?

Everyone is different, but for me, I REALLY start feeling like I need new shoes around 300 miles. My legs get achy and my knees and feet start hurting. I keep track of my mileage on a sticky note on my computer (I really like using these sticky notes). I just recently deleted two old pairs from here since they were well past 300 miles. Kevin’s mileage hasn’t been updated in a while… oops.

Screen shot 2013-06-06 at 8.43.52 PM

5.  Cell phone=  do you bring it with you on your run or leave it at home?

I always bring it with me now, ever since I fell back in November when it was dark out and I was 2.5 miles from home. I learned my lesson! Plus, if I bring my phone I can take super attractive selfies while running like these…

IMG_3640   68420_10103413042187984_355150677_n

6.  What was your last running related injury or have you been an injury free runner?

I was super lucky to never have to deal with any injuries until I fell and hurt my left knee last November. I landed super hard and had pain there for months. It’s only gone away in the last month, and I am hoping it stays away for GOOD!

photo 4

7.  Is your current running goal about running a farther distance (adding more mileage) or getting faster or BOTH?!?

It’s kind of both. I am trying to increase both my distance and speed back to where I was before getting pregnant, to run the Outer Banks Marathon in November. It’s a big goal but I have my plan and I am ready for the challenge!

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 9.24.38 PM

8.  Speedwork—->  at the track, on the treadmill, on the roads or never do it?

All of the above. I have a love/hate relationship with speedwork (as I’m sure many runners do). I think it is a necessary part of training because it develops strength physically and mentally. My favorite place to do speedwork is at the track. I can really push myself there for some reason, more than on the road or the treadmill.

Treadmill Speedwork

Treadmill Speedwork

9.  Stretching after a run:  hit the ground after a run and get stretching, stretch in the shower, stretch once you get to work/school, skip the stretching?

I am sooooooo bad at this. I put so little effort into stretching after a run. I know, it’s so bad 😦

This is me "stretching"

This is me “stretching”

10.  What was your reason(S) for starting to run?  

I started to run during my freshman year of college when I had gained 30 (!!) pounds. I was feeling very bad about myself and wanted a change. I remember going outside and trying to run and only being about to go for 30 seconds before having to stop and walk. It was so hard in the beginning, but I always loved the way that I felt afterwards. I wanted to see what else I could do, and the rest is history!

March of my Freshman year... not even at my heaviest yet :(

March of my Freshman year… not even at my heaviest yet 😦

Your turn to answer the running pop quiz questions! I would love to read your responses 🙂

2 responses to “Running Pop Quiz #2

  1. I love the picture of you and Keven stretching…so cute. I did this on my blog too. I love reading everyone’s answers and getting to know people better.

  2. Pingback: Mother Runner Running Survey | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

