What’s Next?

Can you tell the school year is winding down? I’m blogging a lot more than usual! Things have definitely gotten a lot more relaxed at work recently, and I’m not having to bring work home anymore. This means I have more time to do things like RUN, and think about running and training, and blog- three things I have been missing a lot this year!

So now that summer break is upon us it’s time to start thinking about my training for marathon #8. I always seem to do best training over the summer for fall races. I’ve been thinking a lot about which races I want to do and for a while I was torn between two that were the same weekend: the Marshall Marathon in West Virginia and the Outer Banks Marathon in North Carolina. Both would be new states for me and not too far for us to travel. As of last night I have made my decision. I will be making my comeback to marathons by running the Outer Banks Marathon on November 10th!

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 9.24.38 PM

I am really excited and nervous about this. By the time I run this it will be over two years since my last 26.2 attempt, and I have some goals for myself in this race. I am looking forward to getting back into my training and pushing myself hard again. I know I can get back to where I was before I got pregnant. An added bonus is that it falls on our anniversary weekend, so we’ll get to spend some time at the beach to celebrate. Even better- my friend Amanda is going to run it too as her first marathon! Last year I ran with her in her first half marathon, and she has decided she wants to go for a full now. I could not be more excited to be able to share this experience with her!

I always try to build a half marathon somewhere in my training schedule to test my fitness level. This fall I actually have TWO. The first one is more of a “Just for Fun” race that I’m doing with some friends. It’s the Divas Half Marathon on September 14th in Virginia’s Wine Country. This is a new series and it looks like it will be a lot of fun.

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 9.37.31 PM

The second one is the Woodrow Wilson Bridge Half Marathon, which is super close to where we live.  It is on October 6th, which is 5 weeks before the OBX Marathon- perfect for testing my fitness level and helping me set a realistic goal for the full. It was actually named one of the 27 best half marathons in the country by Runners World too. I can’t wait!

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 9.35.46 PM

Although I have missed it, I’m really glad I didn’t rush back into training and try to run another full marathon too soon. I was really upset when my fall last November kept me from training properly and I couldn’t run the Myrtle Beach full- but now looking back it was actually better that I didn’t. At this point at 8 1/2 months post partum I finally feel like I am ready physically and mentally to commit to training again. I’m about to be able to stay home with my little boy for 10 weeks, and I know getting out to run will be good for me and give me some “me time” while I get to be a Stay at Home Mom for the summer. I’m very excited to begin this journey again! It has been way too long!

Leave a Reply

