Mom & Baby: 8 Months

Kevin Troy III is 8 months old! This month was full of exciting things and new developments, so this will be a long one. I feel like he is all of a sudden changing in a lot of ways. It is awesome and scary at the same time! Time is passing so quickly!

935316_10104376906111954_600288724_n

Baby

We weighed him with our baby scale when he turned 8 months about a week ago and he was over 18 pounds. He is really packing on the weight recently! There are no weight issues whatsoever anymore! He is in mostly all 6-9 month clothing but still has a few 3-6 month jackets and onesies that fit him. He has graduated to size 3 disposables at night and when we are traveling, and is still in cloth diapers the rest of the time.

Here are the monthly comparison shots: 1 month to 8 months.

DSCN8365          DSCN8866          DSCN9329          DSCN9676

DSCN9841          DSCN0196          DSCN0334          DSCN0636

This boy LOVES to eat! And he has become an expert at feeding himself. He has even developed his pincer grip, using his index finger and thumb to pick up small pieces of food and puffs. He is super independent and doesn’t like to be fed by me. He would rather do it himself.

photo 1

He tried a lot more new foods this month, like blueberries, apricot, pumpkin, raspberries, brown rice, pomegranate, white beans, lentils, acorn squash, green beans, egg yolk, toast, and puffs. We have gotten a lot more relaxed about introducing new foods. I have given him bites of my food if we are out to dinner and things like that. The only foods he has reacted badly to was yogurt, which he projectile vomited back up, and cinnamon, which gave him a little contact rash around his mouth. I read that some babies get this because of the grittiness of it rubbing his skin, but he really likes cinnamon and has no other issues with it.

181426_10104394638635834_802779831_n 923244_10104340576781224_2041417098_n

He’s now eating breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and I offer him snacks throughout the day as well. He has a BIG appetite and is also still nursing and/or drinking bottles 6-7 times a day.

Eating a Baby Mum Mum snack at daddy's baseball game

Eating a Baby Mum Mum snack at daddy’s baseball game

Sometimes he gets lazy and instead of picking the food up, he will put his face right down to his tray and try to pick it up with his mouth! Silly baby! But it’s really funny to watch.

IMG95201305029512302195698

Kevin has become a master at sitting unassisted. He rarely falls over anymore and I can tell his core and back muscles are getting stronger. If he does fall over it is because he gets himself too excited and bounces all over the place 🙂

943112_10104357098885794_1088459082_n

Still no crawling going on over here… I am wondering if and when that will happen, because he seems very content to just roll around the room to get to where he wants to be. It is so funny to watch him. He gets his sight on a toy or something across the room and rolls his way over to it. He will get on his tummy and push up with his arms, but doesn’t know what to do with his legs yet.

298112_10104356842105384_1720612347_n 

Sleep is going AMAZINGLY well. I wrote about our sleep training journey in more detail (Part 1 & Part 2), but he is doing awesome. This weekend we traveled back to Pennsylvania and he once again slept through the entire night in the crib at my dad’s house. We had a wedding last Saturday night and he fell asleep at my sister’s house, slept straight through getting put into the car seat, the car ride, getting out of the carseat and into his crib. I’m glad that he’s still sleeping so well despite the interruptions in his normal routine.

Happy baby when I went to get him in the morning

Happy baby when I went to get him in the morning

He sleeps so well that now he falls asleep for naps everywhere and in strange positions. This includes bent over like a pretzel on daddy’s legs, in his exersaucer with his head pressing on a button that was playing loud music, and in mommy and daddy’s bed while playing.

375996_10104322011151894_1384777387_n 923283_10151372835747245_1798584688_n

He looks so big in this picture!

He looks so big in this picture!

Probably the biggest development this month is that we now have TWO teeth! He has been “teething” for months now- tons of drool, swollen gums, congestion and a constant runny nose, gnawing on everything, fussiness- and then one day he was nursing and I felt something sharp as he clamped down on me (OUCH). I looked in his mouth and there it was! A little white tooth that had just broken through. A week later another one broke through, so now he has his two bottom teeth! The days and nights before they came through he was super cranky, didn’t have much of an appetite, and slept horribly. So I’m not really looking forward to when he gets the rest of them!

559364_10104441399197294_939137109_n

We have been trying to teach him not to bite, because that is what he wants to do to everything he can get his hands on. And those babies are SHARP!

Brushing my teeth!

Brushing my teeth!

At the beginning of the month we had a little issue when he developed a little bump on his bottom that turned into a staph infection. Our babysitter noticed it got worse and took him to the pediatrician for us. Thankfully it wasn’t MRSA or anything like that, and it cleared up quickly with cream and antibiotics and he wasn’t fazed at all by it. We think it happened because we took a long road trip to West Virginia where he was sleeping in the car seat for awhile and developed a little sore. I felt really guilty, but it ended up being fine.

Road Trip!

Road Trip!

Everyone says that Kevin has such a great temperament, and it’s really true. He is in a good mood most of the time, and always smiling. He has no fear of strangers and will laugh and coo and smile at anyone who gives him attention. Basically he is a little ham 🙂

431809_10104335207161984_1897810932_n

Baby boy has been babbling like crazy! He is constantly making noise. His favorite things to say are yayayaya, mamama, and dadadada. Although he doesn’t know what he is saying. Sometimes he says “mmmmm” when he is eating. I don’t know if he is copying us or what, but it’s really cute.

602180_10104303521395514_1893912503_n

Another new skill that he started is CLAPPING! It was the cutest thing, we were at my friends rehearsal dinner and I kept putting puffs in front of him for him to pick up and eat. I noticed he was doing this thing with his hands every time he fed himself one. Eventually I realized he was clapping! I figured it out because he wouldn’t do it if he dropped one on the ground, only if he actually made it into his mouth. He was so proud of himself!

524624_10104332091455884_147228386_n

This boy loves his daddy so much, and I love seeing the special bond they have. Kevin does a lot of the nighttime routine, including the baby and baby massage. The baby has learned to expect these things and gets so excited when he sees Kevin get the bottle of lotion. He also squeals and smiles when daddy comes home from work. It is so, so, SO adorable!

564590_10104289279157074_1773349148_n    601759_10104312448275974_1420698396_n

Lastly, one of baby’s favorite things is being outside. He loves the sun and the fresh air. He looks around in wonder at everything and is captivated by people, animals, trees, everything! He still loves the stroller but now he also is loving going in the bucket swings. I can’t believe he is big enough to go in there!

931382_10104343063931954_1437529004_n

Kevin and his cousin Austin at a baseball game

Kevin and his cousin Austin at a baseball game

Body

I’m feeling pretty good about myself lately. I’m still right around my pre-pregnancy weight of 130 and wearing pretty much all of my old clothes. I was in one of my best friend’s weddings last weekend and actually felt beautiful for the first time in a long while. It has been a long time since I got all dressed up and did things like get my nails, hair and makeup done. Then I went to go pump every 3 hours on wedding day and was reminded that I am, in fact, a mommy 🙂

601672_10104416281947464_1320076507_n

I think once I get back into strength training more consistently I will feel even better. I definitely need to tone and tighten up some areas. I have regained some strength back in my arms, probably from carting around my 18 pound baby!

941519_10104416292680954_790395129_n

Breastfeeding is going well and my supply is still going strong. Kevin gets about one or two bottles of formula a day and the rest is all me. I’m still taking the Domperidone and by now I should be able to wean myself off of it, but I’m scared it will affect my supply so I haven’t yet.

936497_10104398055822764_2059158764_n

I am finally in a place where I am excited about running again! After the Nike Women’s Half, I was re-energized and ready to get back into it. And I have! I’ve been running 3 times a week and feeling amazing because of it. I have still been running a race a month (or more) and next up is a 5K on Memorial Day. I’m working on getting my endurance back and my speed is still lacking these days, so I don’t expect anything great time-wise. That’s fine though- I’m just happy to be back out there.

photo 2

Mind

I am in a really great place mentally and emotionally. The school year is winding down, and I’m enjoying motherhood SO MUCH lately. I also was able to celebrate my first Mothers Day on the same day that Kevin turned 8 months old!

941355_10104408255851824_1021769335_n

The only issue that I have had to deal with this month is watching many of my friends and coworkers make the decision to stay at home with their babies. This is something I wish I could do with all of my heart, but it is not possible for us financially. I had accepted this and moved on from it a couple of months ago, until it seemed like everyone around me was making announcements that they were quitting their jobs and staying home. It’s been tough, but I know  that I am lucky to have summers off and good holiday breaks as a teacher, so I keep reminding myself of that. Plus, my job provides us with good benefits and allows us to save money for Kevin’s future, fun family trips, and lets us live comfortably. I try to look at the positive side.

I love this little face so much!

I love this little face so much!

This month was extra special because we got to see a lot of family that we hadn’t seen in a while. We took a trip to West Virginia to visit Kevin’s grandfather, who hadn’t met the baby yet, and some other family. We also went home to Pennsylvania TWO times, where Kevin got to spend some time with his Poppy (my dad) and his Aunt Lauren.

383000_10104290760483484_1576531907_n

With his Papaw

With his cousins Jordan, Jayda, and Jasmine

With his cousins Jordan, Jayda, and Jasmine

421986_10104318435487554_466099997_n

With Aunt Lauren

Remember my aunt Sacha? She’s the one who flew across the country from Oregon when my water broke to try to make it for Kevin’s birth- she missed it by 2 hours! Then she spent a week with us when he was 2 weeks old. She hadn’t seen him since then and came for a visit this month. It was so great to see her and for Kevin to spend some time with his Oma (which is what she wants to be called). She is my mom’s sister, so we have a special relationship and she has been like a mother to me since my mom passed away. It was great to see her and it made me really happy!

Exploring DC with Oma

Exploring DC with Oma

While she was here she babysat Kevin and let us go out on a date. We went to the Arlington Mystery Dinner Theater, which has become an annual tradition since Kevin proposed to me there in 2010. This was our fourth year going, and it is always a lot of fun. Plus we hadn’t been out on a date since Valentine’s Day, so it was really nice to spend some alone time with my hubby. We had another date when we went out the next weekend for my friend’s wedding and my sister babysat. It feels strange to do things just the two of us, but it’s so good for our marriage!

302920_10104379652927314_6295112_n

We love you Kevin! Can’t wait to see what month 9 brings!

photo 4

Previous Post Partum posts:

20 responses to “Mom & Baby: 8 Months

  1. You look gorgeous in that pretty orange dress. You are happy and it shows! Looking forward to more updates!

  2. Kevin is SO adorable and getting so perfectly chunky.

    You look GORGEOUS in the yellow dress and the picture of you & Kevin at the wedding is a framer! So glad to hear you’re in a good place! 🙂

  3. balancejoyanddelicias

    he’s such a big boy already!!!! Congrats on the two teeth. I can’t wait for Sofia to get those too.
    He eats so much, I’m impressed, no doubt where those pounds come from. My girl doesn’t eat that much, she’s eating drinking less milk these days… sigh… maybe she’s teething? I don’t know.. her appetite is so unpredictable.

  4. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 9 Months | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 10 Months | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 11 Months | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 12 Months | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 13 Months | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 14 Months | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 15 Months | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 16 Months | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 17 Months | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 18 Months | Run Inspired

  14. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 19 Months | Run Inspired

  15. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 20/21 Months | Run Inspired

  16. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 22 Months | Run Inspired

  17. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 23/24 Months | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

