Adventures in Sleep Training, Part 2

It has been a full month since we first started “sleep training.” In my first update we were two weeks in, and while things had improved, they were still pretty inconsistent and messy. I am happy to report that things are SO much better now.

photo 3

Here’s a snapshot of last night, which was a pretty typical night for us these days: After our bedtime routine (bath, baby massage, PJs, nurse, put down in dark room with sound machine running), baby gets put down at 7:45 p.m. He doesn’t cry and falls right asleep. He sleeps soundly until 5:30 a.m. I change his diaper, feed him, and put him back down at 5:55. He whined for a few seconds and then fell back asleep until 7:35. YES!

The Good

  • He goes down every night between 7:15 and 8:00 and falls right asleep. If he cries (very rare now) it’s for less than a minute.
  • He hardly ever wakes up in the middle of the night anymore. The only time he was up and crying a few times during the night was the week that both of his two bottom teeth broke through.
  • If he does wake up during a light sleep cycle or something, he will roll around, maybe whine softly, and then falls back asleep (except when he was teething- then he screamed and was inconsolable)
  • He is not as sensitive to wet/dirty diapers. He won’t wake up and cry if he pees or poops and is fine until I change him in the morning.
  • Most nights he does wake up between 4:00-5:30 a.m. and I feed him and put him back down. I really don’t mind doing this because he has been going back down much easier than before. Most of the time he will go back to sleep for another hour or two, waking up for the day between 6:15 and 7:30. There are some nights he sleeps straight through, so I think he will phase this feeding out soon.
  • He is handling traveling better. He slept in a crib at my dad’s house and in my sister’s bed at her house and did fine sleeping through the night.
  • He is waking up HAPPY! It’s the best!
Happy baby when I went to get him in the morning

Happy baby when I went to get him in the morning

The Bad

  • Naps. They aren’t really bad or good, they’re just not consistent. We are becoming more aware of his signals that it’s time for a nap, and paying attention to how much wake time he has had since his last one. He takes 2-3 naps a day but the times vary, and sometimes they are 30 minutes long, other times they are 2 hours long. We’re working on it, but it’s definitely our weakest area right now. Right now we are also getting him used to napping in his crib, rather than the swing, the lounger, or on one of us. I am going to focus on all of this more once I’m home with him this summer and have more control over his daytime sleeping.

The Ugly

  • Teething. Oh my god. That is all. It threw everything off. But luckily once the teeth broke through he was back to his normal sleeping habits. I’m scared for the rest of them!
He loves his taggie blanket, which has become his sleep "lovey"

He loves his taggie blanket, which has become his sleep “lovey”

I can’t really say that we did anything different since my last update. We just stayed consistent with everything we were doing and I think it just finally “clicked” for him. I am really happy with the way we approached sleep training. We wanted a gentler approach and while it did take longer than total extinction CIO methods, we were patient and it all paid off (so far). Let’s hope the rest of his teeth don’t mess this beautiful sleep up!

9 responses to “Adventures in Sleep Training, Part 2

  1. That’s awesome that the sleep training worked! He looks so happy and content. Love the last pic!

  2. YAY! I’m so glad you’ve arrived at this place 🙂 isn’t sleep amazing?! Baby K is getting so big, and perfectly chubby. He is adorable!

  3. balancejoyanddelicias

    Sofia and Kevin have exact the same schedule for the night and nap! Hope they figure out the naps soon.

  4. Pingback: Post Partum: 8 Months | Run Inspired

  5. Reading this makes me feel SO much better! We started sleep training our 5-month old last week because she would only fall asleep if we rocked her. If she woke up in the middle of the night (usually 3-4 times) she couldn’t go back to sleep without being rocked. Like you, I’m not sure if the 3-5am waking is due to hunger or not. Some nights she’ll fall right back to sleep without eating and other nights she’ll cry for 30 minutes or more until I feed her (then I feel guilty for not feeding her sooner 😦 ). Hope things are going better, and your blog is encouraging to me since I’m a couple months behind you 🙂

    • I know exactly how you feel about the guilt with the night time wakings! I always feel so bad when I feed him and he seems super hungry. Luckily he hardly ever wakes during that time anymore. I think he’s just slowly dropping that feeding.

  6. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 9 Months | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Adventures in Sleep Training, Part 3 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

