Day in the Life with a 6 Month Old (SPRING BREAK Edition)

It’s time for another Day in the Life post! This was how our day went on Tuesday, March 26th, when Kevin was 6 1/2 months old and I was home with him during my spring break from school. We had a lot going on so it wasn’t a “typical” day, but it is still a nice snapshot!

5:00 a.m. Both Kevins are awake. Kevin (my husband) gets in the shower and gets ready for work while I feed the baby.

5:20 a.m. I try to get the baby to go back to sleep but he refuses. He is full of energy and kicking his legs like crazy. Instead I go change his diaper and then hand him off to his dad so that I can shower. I like to get my shower out of the way while Kevin’s still home because it’s easier. After my shower I put on my comfy clothes and go downstairs. LOVE that I don’t have to get dressed for work!

6:00 a.m. Baby is sleeping on Kevin. So sweet 🙂

IMG_5197

6:05 a.m. I make myself breakfast: a bowl of cereal with bananas and blueberries with almond milk. Kevin and I talk to each other and watch the news before he has to leave for work at 6:30. He is now working earlier hours (7-3) because he is coaching middle school baseball every day from 3-5. Busy busy!

IMG_5198

6:40 a.m. Kevin is gone and I’m tired. The baby is still sleeping so I lie down and try to go back to sleep myself. Of course he immediately wakes up when I do this. He hasn’t been napping and sleeping well at all due to some teeth that are thisclose to breaking through. He hasn’t had much of an appetite either (due to teething again?) so all he has been wanting to do is nurse in quick sessions for comfort. After a short feeding he’s back to sleep and I pass out as well.

8:45 a.m. I wake up two hours later when I hear the baby start to make noise. OMG, long nap. It was much needed obviously. I reheat my cold cup of coffee. Then I put the baby in the exersaucer and run downstairs to start some laundry and get some from the dryer that needs to be folded.

IMG_5204

9:00 a.m. I fold laundry and watch the Today Show while baby plays. I g-chat with Kevin about the new Dopey Challenge that the Disney Marathon is offering. It’s 4 races over 4 days- 5K, 10K, Half & Full Marathon… crazy but so tempting! It costs $495!

IMG_5205

9:30 a.m. I nurse the baby and he is still hungry so I give him 2 more ounces of breast milk that I had pumped the night before. I waited a little while but he still seemed hungry, so I gave him one more ounce of breast milk. I’m paranoid about wasting my milk so I wanted to do it in small increments. He STILL wants more after that so I give him one more ounce. He’s finally satisfied after that! I change his diaper and put him on his mat to play.

IMG_5206

10:25 a.m. While baby is playing on his activity mat I go downstairs to switch laundry. When I come back he is on his tummy. Lately he does NOT like to be on his back anymore, and will roll over at any opportunity. I continue folding my huge pile of laundry on the floor next to the baby and talk to him as he plays.

IMG_5209

10:40 a.m. Baby is fussy again so I nurse him AGAIN! He is making up for not having much of an appetite for two days I guess. I don’t mind because when I’m home with him I like to nurse him on demand as much as he wants. He passes out right when he finishes eating.

11:00 a.m. I put the baby down to continue his nap and then get everything ready for the rest of the day. I hard boil some eggs, make myself an egg salad sandwich to pack for lunch, get the diaper bag ready, and get dressed while baby sleeps.

11:45 a.m. Baby has a poop explosion on our way out the door, so I change his diaper quickly and we head out.

11:50 a.m. – 12:20 p.m. We drive north to go to see my sister-in-law and her new baby Austin! Baby Kevin sleeps on the car ride. He usually falls asleep in the car, so on days that we’re out and about it really messes with him being able to take longer naps.

12:20 – 1:30 p.m. We hang out at Kara’s house and visit with her, Austin, our friend Alicia and her baby Olivia. In the hour that we are there I nurse the baby, change his diaper, hold my new nephew, eat my sandwich, and take cute pictures of all the babies.

IMG_5211

Baby Austin

IMG_5214

Kevin- 6 months, Austin- 1 week, Olivia- 3 months

1:30 p.m. I have to cut my visit short to go to a dentist appointment 😦 Baby sleeps again on the car ride over.

1:45 – 3:30 p.m. At the dreaded dentist. I hate going there more than any other doctor! The baby did so well, and I found out that my hygienist also had a baby on September 12th at the same hospital that Kevin was born! What are the chances? Kevin came to the dentist when he got off at 3:00 since he didn’t have baseball due to spring break. This was great because the baby was starting to get fussy, so he took him and gave him a 6 ounce bottle of formula in the waiting area while I finished up.

3:30 – 4:30 p.m. We all went across the street to go grocery shopping at Wegmans. While we are there the baby poops so daddy takes him into the bathroom to change him. Any place that has changing tables in the mens room gets an A+ from me! It is surprising to me how many places still only have them in the women’s rooms these days. While we’re there I am really hungry so I grab a Naked fruit smoothie to drink while we shop.

IMG_5223

IMG_5224

4:35 – 5:10 p.m. We drive back home and once again the baby falls asleep.

5:10 p.m. Once we are home the baby continues to sleep in his car seat, so we put the groceries away and start dinner. We are having roasted chickpea veggie stir fry, which we actually had the last time I did a day in the life post!

5:45 p.m. The baby wakes up and is hungry, so I feed him after another diaper change. While I’m feeding him I get the sad news that my dad is heading to the vet to put my 16 year old cat to sleep due to kidney failure. I am so sad 😦

IMG_5226

6:30 p.m. Our dinner is ready so we eat while baby plays on his mat.

IMG_5225

7:00 p.m. Once we’re finished with our dinner I go back into the kitchen to make the baby’s. While the chickpeas were roasting I was also baking an apple in the oven. I let it cool while we ate and then I cut off the skin and blended up the rest, making applesauce. Baking the apple released tons of great flavor, and it tasted so good without any sugar or anything else added to it. I’m excited to see how the baby likes it.

7:10 p.m. Kevin feeds the baby and we Facetime with Mamaw and Papaw (Kevin’s parents). The baby LOVES the applesauce. Can’t get enough!

IMG_5229

7:45 p.m. Kevin decides he wanted to bake cookies while we were at Wegmans earlier, so he bought this cookie dough in the refrigerated section. Surprisingly it didn’t have any crazy ingredients like some other cookie dough brands, and they tasted really good! While he is baking them I switch laundry. Yup, still doing laundry. We produce a lot of dirty clothes I guess.

IMG_5234

8:00 p.m. Bedtime for baby! He has gotten used to going down around 9 p.m., and we’ve been trying to slowly move up his bedtime.  We tried to jump it up to 7:30ish but that was too much, so we’re aiming at 10 or 15 minutes earlier every day or two. This night we were aiming for 8:30. We do his routine: bath, baby massage from daddy, diaper, PJs, read a book, and nurse until he was almost asleep… and then he poops. So I changed him and he was wide awake again and rooting around for more food. Kevin makes him a 4 oz. bottle of formula. He’s super drowsy after that so I put him down in his crib and he rolls over and falls asleep at 8:45. He prefers tummy sleeping these days now that he rolls over like a champ.

IMG_5235

8:45 p.m. I go back downstairs to relax and fold laundry.

IMG_5236

9:35 p.m. And he’s awake. He has been waking up shortly after going down lately, before he falls asleep for his longer stretch. I pick him up and he falls back asleep after a few minutes.

IMG_5238

9:45 p.m. I go back downstairs to finish up laundry and cleaning up. Kevin goes to bed at this point.

10:45 p.m. I finally go up to bed. Later than I wanted to, but since I napped for so long in the morning I wasn’t as tired as I usually am in the evening. Before bed I pump 3.5 ounces, good for me since it had only been 2 1/2 hours since I nursed the baby.

11:00 – 11:55 p.m. Sleep

11:55 p.m. Baby is awake. Noooooo. We didn’t get as long of a stretch as usual. It is probably due to him not getting in a good long nap that day. Nothing works to soothe him back to sleep so I end up nursing him. I really try not to do this too often because I don’t want him to get used to needing it to go back to sleep.

12:25 a.m. He is refusing t0 go back into his crib. At this point I know he just needs to sleep so I bring him into our room. It’s a work in progress… Since this day he has slept all night long in his crib twice! He hasn’t done that since January when we were still swaddling him.

12:30 – 5:10 a.m. We all sleep.

5:10 a.m. I feed the baby and then we both pass out until 7:30. I love Spring Break!

And that’s a snapshot of our life at 6.5 months! Lots of broken sleep, eating, and teething.

24 Hour Totals

  • # of feedings: 9 + some applesauce… wow, hungry boy!
  • # of diaper changes: 8
  • # of outfit changes: 3 (in and out of PJs + poop explosion
  • # of hours of sleep for mom: ~8 hours
  • # of hours of sleep for baby: ~14 hours
  • # of hours spent nursing: ~2.5 hours
  • # of hours spent pumping: Only 20 minutes since I wasn’t at work
  • # of formula ounces eaten: 10 ounces… last month it was 23 ounces!!!
  • # of breast milk ounces eaten: 4 ounces in a bottle + more directly from me

Previous “Day in the Life” posts:

23 responses to “Day in the Life with a 6 Month Old (SPRING BREAK Edition)

  1. C used to do the SAME 9:00 PM wake up thing! We put him down at 7:00 PM and when he was 6-9 months old he would wake up around 9/9:30! It would only take a quick cuddle and he’d go right back down. I wonder if they are finishing their first sleep cycle and hear things going on in the house so they wake up all the way?! No idea – but funny to hear Baby K does the same thing 🙂

    C was waking up at least 1x/night (usually 2….or the dreaded more) until 6 months. We did some sleep training at 6 months (progressive waiting) and after 3 nights, he slept 12 hours. He really didn’t cry THAT much when he woke up and with the video monitor, we could see that sometimes he was just making noise without being upset at all 🙂 Stinker! It worked well for us. C was up every 2-3 hours for the first 4 months, down to 1-2 times/night to nurse from 5-6 months. With working full-time, I felt like a zombie and knew I couldn’t keep it up any longer. He’s 20 months now and is a very, very consistent 12 hour sleeper! 7pm – 6:30/6:45 AM. I always go to him, even now, if he wakes in the night, but it’s only during sickness or teething now.

    HOLY long comment 🙂 Happy Friday!

    • Sleep training has been on my mind! I’m just not sure if I’m strong enough to listen to him cry. He is a crier that does. not. stop. Like in the car if he’s angry and we’re in traffic. He cries for so long and never stops until we get home. I’m afraid he would literally cry for hours 😦

      • I hear you! You can always try it for a night or two (you can wear earplugs if Kevin is willing to do it!) and if it seems like a real fail, then stop. I just know how you feel getting no sleep. It’s a terrible, terrible feeling!

  2. balancejoyanddelicias

    woo!!! Kevin gets to feed 9 times! No doubt he’s growing so fast! 🙂 i love that he’s becoming chubbier these days. 🙂

    • I know! His hunger goes back and forth. Some days he’s super hungry and other days he doesn’t’ want to finish his bottles. But I guess it’s the same as us adults.

  3. balancejoyanddelicias

    oh… about sleep. if Kevin wakes up 1-2 hrs after putting down at night is usually sign of over tiredness. It seems that he didn’t get much afternoon nap, that can affect his night sleep. Sofia is taking 2-3 naps a day still, the last one being around 5 for 30 hour and that is really important for her to sleep well at night.

    • I know being out and about all day really messed with his sleep! I have definitely noticed that when we keep the ‘routine’ of naps and bedtime things go much more smoothly. He usually takes a nap of 2 hours in the afternoon. I’ll have to do another Day in the Life post on a ‘normal’ day.

  4. Pingback: Day in the Life of a 7 Month Old | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 8 Month Old: Memorial Day | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 9 Month Old: SUMMER BREAK! | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 10 Month Old | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 11 Month Old | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 12 Month Old [My Birthday Edition!] | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 13 Month Old | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 14 Month Old | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 15 Month Old | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 16 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  14. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 17 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  15. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 18 Month Old | Run Inspired

  16. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 19 Month Old | Run Inspired

  17. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 21 Month Old: Summer Break! | Run Inspired

  18. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 22 Month Old | Run Inspired

  19. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 2 Year Old | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

