Day in the Life with a 4 Month Old (Weekend Edition)

I’ve been trying to do a day in the life post every month to document how Kevin’s daily “routine” changes as he grows older. I thought it would be fun to do a ‘weekend edition’ this time, because it’s much different than the weekdays (and more fun!) I wrote down everything we did last Sunday, January 20th, when he was 4 months and 1 week old. Here’s how our day went…

5:00 a.m. We hear baby start to make noise in his crib. He usually wakes up between 5:00 and 5:30 these days. On the weekends I will bring him back into our bed to see if we can all get another hour or two of sleep. When I go to get him he immediately falls back asleep in my arms, so I take him into our room and we all sleep.

6:40 a.m. Baby is up again, this time for good. He is hungry so I feed him, then change his diaper.

7:00 a.m. We wake up daddy and they play together while I fold a lot of baby laundry. He loves being naked, so I try to let him hang out in just his diaper for a few minutes each day.

IMG_3632

IMG_3638

7:40 a.m. We get the baby dressed into a white onesie and take his weekly picture. We do this each week on the same yellow blanket. It’s crazy to see how much he has grown since week 1!

DSCN9697

8:00 a.m. We go downstairs and Kevin makes my breakfast (oatmeal) and coffee while I play with the baby.

8:15 a.m. Kevin leaves for his 5 mile run and I eat breakfast. The baby falls asleep on me and I let him nap there. I know these times are going to be few and far between soon so I am savoring them while they last! As he sleeps I read blogs and plan my running route.

9:10 a.m. Kevin returns and the baby is awake. I feed him again and change his diaper.

9:30 a.m. I go upstairs to get dressed and ready for my run while Kevin III hangs out with daddy.

IMG_3634

9:50 a.m. I leave for my run. On the plan is a 10 miler. I feel great!

IMG_3639

11:00 a.m. And then I start not feeling so great. Toward the end of my run my hips and muscles in my legs start to feel really tight and weird, so I stop to stretch and then decide to cut my run short. I could have continued with it, but since my knee injury I don’t like to take any chances!

IMG_3640

11:30 a.m. I return home after having Kevin come get me. I ended up running 9 miles in 1:25:28- a 9:30 pace. I stretch while Kevin informs me that while I was gone he changed two diapers- one pee and one very bad poop! After stretching I throw our cloth diapers in the wash (we’re cloth diapering 75% of the time these days and I’m loving it!).

IMG_3641

11:45 p.m. Kevin leaves to go to his football practice. I try to put the baby to sleep with the White Noise app but it doesn’t work. I try the swing instead but he won’t sleep – he is happily babbling to himself and kicking away. He’s been fighting naps and nighttime sleep like crazy lately. I think we’re going through the 4 month sleep regression. Not fun!

IMG_3642

IMG_3643

12:00 p.m. My friend Sandy calls me to catch up. I make myself lunch (two eggs on a pumpernickel bagel) while talking to her and then eat it. I also try to drink water and coconut water to rehydrate after my run. The baby is still happily swinging away.

IMG_3646

12:40 p.m. I give up on the swing and take him out. It’s time for him to eat anyway, so I feed him and hope that he will pass out afterwards. He does!

IMG_3647

1:15 p.m. I put the sleeping baby down on his Boppy newborn lounger (which he is about to outgrow) and go downstairs to get the diaper laundry. I start a new load of wash and bring the diapers back up. I hang them to dry outside since it’s actually sunny!

IMG_3648

1:23 p.m. I come back inside after hanging up the diapers and discover that baby is awake after only a 40 minute nap. This is much shorter than usual- he has gotten into the routine of taking one long morning and afternoon nap. I change his diaper (another poop) and bring it upstairs to put it in the wet bag. Since we are in his nursery I try rocking him to sleep.

IMG_3649 IMG_3650

1:50 p.m. Baby is asleep. Notice how I’m still wearing running capris, socks and compression sleeves. LOL. I try to transfer him to the crib and go to use the bathroom. While I’m in there the baby wakes up and starts babbling to himself. Ugh- this sleep regression is rough!

IMG_3651 IMG_3653

2:00 p.m. Since sleep isn’t happening I put him down on his mat to play, first on his back and then tummy time.

IMG_3654 IMG_3655

2:45 p.m. Baby gets hungry so I give him the bottle of formula that he gets each day. He finally falls asleep afterwards. Yes!!!

IMG_3656

3:35 p.m. Kevin comes back home bearing gifts – food from Wegmans! Veggie sushi and a salad from the salad bar. So yummy. Baby K wakes up and after a quick diaper change falls back asleep.

IMG_3657

4:15 p.m. I go upstairs to (finally) shower. I know, so gross.

4:35 p.m. After my shower I come back downstairs and do some more laundry. I get the diapers from outside, stuff inserts into them and relax with Kevin. Baby K is still asleep.

5:00 p.m. He wakes up in a good mood! I feed him and then we cuddle on the couch for a little while. I love my snuggly baby ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_3658

5:45 p.m. I change baby’s diaper then cut his nails. Why is this so hard?!? Afterwards he plays with daddy and then falls asleep again. I guess he is making up for not sleeping during the day.

IMG_3663

6:30 p.m. We eat dinner – leftover Spiced Red Lentil, Tomato and Kale soup. It is so delicious and full of flavor!

IMG_3631

6:45 p.m. My friend Cynthia comes over to visit. She is also a teacher and we both had the next day off for Martin Luther King Jr. day, so we were excited to get to spend time together on a Sunday night. Sometime during her visit the baby wakes up to say hi ๐Ÿ™‚

8:00 p.m. Cynthia leaves and we start getting Kevin ready for bed. We change him into a disposable diaper (we haven’t figured out nighttime cloth diapering yet), put him in his PJs, swaddle him (still doing this for nighttime sleep), read a book, and I feed him. He goes down easily after that.

IMG_3673

8:50 p.m. And he’s up. We see him with his eyes open on the monitor and think that he might go back to sleep, but he eventually starts to cry. Kevin goes in to put him back to bed and I eat a bowl of cereal for a snack.

IMG_3674

9:05 p.m. Baby is back to sleep. I write my Post Partum: 4 Months post for the blog.

9:40 p.m. Baby wakes up again. Whyyyyyyyyy? What happened to my good sleeper who used to sleep 8 hours through the night? I go upstairs to get him back to sleep.

9:45 p.m. He falls back asleep right away, so I start getting ready for bed- hoping that he will sleep for longer this time! Before bed I pump a little bit.

10:15 p.m. We sleep!

2:00 a.m. I wake up to pump. I’m still doing this in an effort to maintain my supply. Sadly, my supply is continuing to struggle since getting my period back and then getting a stomach bug ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

2:20 a.m. Back to bed!

3:30 a.m. Baby wakes up briefly after sleeping for almost 6 hours. This is actually a good stretch for him compared to the last couple of weeks. I bring him into our room for the last couple hours of the night.

5:30 a.m. Baby is up, ready to eat and start a new day.

What a day! I love the weekends with my family so much, even when baby Kevin fights sleep all day (and night) long. I am hoping that this sleep regression passes soon. It’s pretty rough and has made for very sleep deprived parents, just like when he was a newborn. It’s been a week since this day, and it already seems to be getting better. Fingers crossed it’s all up from here!

24 Hour Totals

  • # of feedings: 6
  • # of diaper changes: 8
  • # of outfit changes: 2 – Just in and out of PJs- accidents donโ€™t happen as often anymore.
  • # of hours of sleep for mom: ~7 hours. Luckily I was able to nap a bit the next day because I had off from school and the baby actually napped!
  • # of hours of sleep for baby: ~15 hours of broken sleep, except for the one 6 hour stretch
  • # of hours spent nursing: ~1 hour 30 minutes. He is a lot quicker now when he nurses.
  • # of hours spent pumping: only 30 minutes since I wasnโ€™t at work.
  • # of formula ounces eaten: 4 ounces

Previous “Day in the Life” posts:

26 responses to “Day in the Life with a 4 Month Old (Weekend Edition)

  1. balancejoyanddelicias

    so Kevin doesn’t eat at night anymore? that’s great!

    I hope sleep regression gets over soon. We haven’t had that yet… hopefully won’t!

    I admire you to get up and pump at 2 am, that’s hard, sometimes when I wake up at 5:30 to pump, i still find it hard even though I went to bed at 9:30. But we got to do what we have to do for our babies! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Getting up to pump in the middle of the night is SO HARD! But I just keep remembering that I’m doing it all for him and it helps. Kevin doesn’t really eat at night, except he randomly will wake up and want to eat- like last night ๐Ÿ™‚ We’re just now getting over the regression. I’ll update soon in his 5 month post- can’t believe it’s time already!

  2. I love these! So fun to read and see how babies are similar and different. I wrote one the other week after being inspired by yours… It was a lot of work to write!! But still fun.

    • Thanks Sarah! I’m finally catching up on reading blogs and just read your Day in the Life! I love reading those kinds of posts. Hope your transition back to work is continuing to go well!

  3. Good for you for still pumping! Have been thinking about you so decided to check your blog.. Its been a while! Hope you’re feeling better. Looks ike Kevin is doing great!

    • Hi Niki! I know I have been absent from the blog world- both reading others blogs and writing my own. Life has been so busy! I’m just trying to balance it all. I have a lot of catching up to do ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for checking in.

  4. Joshua loves being naked too!!

  5. He could be going through a growth spurt! You are doing great!!!

  6. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 5 Month Old | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 6 Month Old (SPRING BREAK Edition) | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Day in the Life of a 7 Month Old | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 8 Month Old: Memorial Day | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 9 Month Old: SUMMER BREAK! | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 10 Month Old | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 11 Month Old | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 12 Month Old [My Birthday Edition!] | Run Inspired

  14. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 13 Month Old | Run Inspired

  15. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 14 Month Old | Run Inspired

  16. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 15 Month Old | Run Inspired

  17. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 16 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  18. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 17 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  19. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 18 Month Old | Run Inspired

  20. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 19 Month Old | Run Inspired

  21. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 21 Month Old: Summer Break! | Run Inspired

  22. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 22 Month Old | Run Inspired

  23. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 2 Year Old | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

