Mom & Baby: 4 Months

4 months already? Well, as of 9 days ago. Once again I’m late on writing this update. Life has been so busy and I’m recovering from a terrible stomach bug. It is so hard to believe that my baby is 4 months old! I love every month with him more than the last as he continues to grow and develop his personality. It is such a joy to be his mommy!

DSCN9652

Baby

Baby Kevin has changed so much this past month! There is a lot to say about him, so brace yourself for a long update.

537628_10103730537290254_1883951769_n

First and foremost, he is growing! We had his 4 month well baby appointment today (along with the shots… sad face) and baby is now weighing in at 11 pounds 6 ounces and is 25.5 inches long. At his 3 month appointment he weighed 10 pounds 6 ounces and was in the 3rd-5th percentile for weight and 75th for height. He is still the same percentile for both height and weight, although I can tell that he’s looking chubbier lately, especially in his face. Looking at these photos of him from each month of his life, it is really evident how much bigger he has gotten. Here he is at 1, 2, 3, and 4 months.

DSCN8365 DSCN8866 DSCN9329 DSCN9676

He is in 0-3 month clothing, but some of it is getting to be too short because he is so tall! Exhibit A: His New Years Eve outfit. Isn’t it the cutest? Ahhh! But yeah, definitely too short. 3-6 month stuff is so baggy on him though, especially in the waist.

photo 2

Now when we dress him he officially looks like a little boy rather than a newborn baby. He even wears shoes sometimes! They’re just for show, but still, so cute!

photo 2-1

You may remember that at 3 months we started to have to supplement a little. I was having a hard time keeping up with his needs since going back to work and dealing with a drop in supply. At the time of my last update we were giving him 1 oz. of formula after each feeding or 3 oz. bottle of breast milk while I was at work. Since then we have changed it up a bit. We noticed that giving him formula after each feeding was making him too full, and he would spit up a lot afterwards and end up eating less overall each day. I started having MY breast milk left over, which wasn’t good, because we were trying to get him to have as much from me as possible. So after calling our pediatrician we now give him one full 4 oz. bottle of formula each day, and the rest of the time he drinks 4 oz. bottles of breast milk or I nurse him. This has worked out much better. He’s back to eating 6-7 times a day, with only 4 oz. of that being formula. It’s nice to know he’s getting most of his nutrition from me, and the pediatrician is confident that he’s taking in enough calories between both sources. The bottle of formula has taken some of the pressure off to pump so much milk at work, which helps me relax and not stress as much.

537246_10103808711049414_507816034_n

He is also finally fitting into his cloth diapers! We just started using them about 2 weeks ago, and so far so good. I like them and I think baby does too. It’s been a learning process as we get used to them, but luckily our babysitter uses them too so she has been a big help at answering all my questions. We have 12 Bum Genius and 12 Fuzzi Bunz, and I’m washing them every other day. It’s a lot easier than I thought it would be. I’m really enjoying it!

photo 3-3

Sleep. It has been such a roller coaster this month! Literally the day he turned 3 months old he slept through the night for the first time (7 hours straight). Then he continued to do it for the next 2 weeks, consistently sleeping 7-9 hours without waking up. We were so excited, and planned to move him to his crib since I no longer had to feed him at night anymore. Then everything went downhill. I think the combination of moving him to his crib and the 4 month sleep regression caused us to have issues. He now wakes up again every couple of hours, and his naps aren’t great anymore either. Ugh. From everything I have read about this 4 month “wakeful” you just have to ride it out. So we’re sticking with the crib still. Sometimes if it’s getting close to the morning I’ll bring him back to our bed though.

photo 4

We are still swaddling and plan to wean him off that once he’s used to the crib. I didn’t want to throw too many changes at him at once. He’s not rolling over from back to front yet so that doesn’t worry me, but he does somehow manage to shimmy himself 90 degrees while swaddled. He is always so proud when I come in and discover that he has turned!

481267_10103804989771884_716106183_n

The drooling and finger sucking/gnawing has continued, no sign of teeth yet though. I am pretty sure he is ‘teething,’ but I know that could last months and months! So we’ll see.

photo 2-2

Baby boy LOVES his toys. His hand/eye coordination is good enough now that he is able to grab what we wants and bring it to his mouth, or swing it around, or do whatever he wants with it. This includes our faces. He loves touching and exploring them for some reason!

photo 1-2

He also still loves music. When we play the Rockabye Baby station on Pandora or the music that his toys makes, he goes crazy kicking his legs and moving his arms around. He also likes when we sing to him. He’s a musical baby πŸ™‚

photo 3-2

He likes tummy time most of the time, and we try to make sure we do it every day. He rolled from tummy to back for the first time at 9 weeks but hasn’t done it much since then, so we’re trying to get him to practice that. I also give him time on his back every day to catch his first roll from back to front, but it hasn’t happened yet!

photo 3-1

His neck strength is good, so we just started putting him in his little Mamas and Papas seat to help him practice sitting up. He can handle it for short periods of time right now. We also sit him up assisted by the couch. He likes this because he can see everything that is going on.

1204_10103812580559884_1426919761_n

photo 1-3

He is very squirmy and active, and doesn’t like to be held as much anymore. He has his moments where he likes to cuddle and nap on us, but for the most part he wants to do things independently. This is great, but a little sad too! Just another sign that he is growing up. I think we are going to have our hands full once he becomes mobile!

425567_10103723673819704_1093691333_n

Even though he doesn’t like to snuggle with us as much as when he was a newborn, he surprisingly still loves to go in our baby carriers. He loves the Ergo, (especially when Daddy wears it), and certain wraps in the Moby. I did the forward facing one on a night that Kevin wasn’t home and I needed to make dinner. He liked being able to look out at everything I was doing.

29542_10103691804426224_92568896_n 429002_10103770553073304_483628799_n

We get tons and tons of smiles every day, and we also heard his first LAUGH on Christmas (14 weeks 6 days old)! We had said earlier that day that it would be an awesome Christmas present if he laughed for the first time. That night when we were getting him ready for bed he did! It happened when Daddy kept popping up and scaring him. He laughed for a good minute straight. It was the cutest sound ever and made us both cry with happiness.

564843_10103741897254794_911755566_n

36492_10103765785432694_1165444180_n

Speaking of Christmas, it was so amazing to spend the holiday together with our little one. All of our traditions and everything we did felt extra special, and I really enjoyed being home with him on my winter break. He also experienced his first snow while we were visiting my family in Pennsylvania. He didn’t know what was going on!

9688_10103732124025424_126920825_n

photo 1-1

One of his favorite things is to look at himself in the mirror. I know that he doesn’t know that he’s looking at himself yet, but he just likes seeing a baby’s face. It is so cute to see him smiling at his reflection!

photo 2-3

31562_10103727937310634_61742886_n

Baby doesn’t know it yet, but we have officially arranged his marriage. My friend Alicia had her baby girl on December 19th and we can’t wait for them to fall in love!

532363_10103720944683914_1499571166_n

Another one of baby’s new favorite things is going up in the air. We just have to make sure that we wait a while after he eats before doing this πŸ™‚

551820_10103733961288534_985991586_n

Body

My body went through a LOT during Kevin’s 4th month of life. The good news is that after resting my knee a ton it is now back to normal. YAY! Now for the bad news. #1: I had gotten to a good place with my milk supply after taking all the advice of my lactation consultant, and then all of a sudden, a few days before Christmas, it dropped off the face of the earth for no reason. Well, on January 3rd I got my period. Surprise!!! Then I learned that your supply may drop before you ovulate and get your cycle back for the first time after pregnancy, so it totally made sense. I kind of thought it would come back soon since I started supplementing, but still was a little disappointed it didn’t stay away a little longer. About 3 days after I started my cycle my supply was back to where it was before, so I was happy!

Then came setback #2. A week after my supply returned I came down with a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad stomach bug (can you tell I teach elementary school? LOL). I had a fever, couldn’t eat and had a hard time keeping anything inside me. This took a huge toll on my body and again caused my supply to drop, no matter how hard I tried to stay hydrated and continue breastfeeding him. It took a week for me to feel back to normal, and my supply is still feeling the effects of it. I’m hopeful that it will improve again soon. I think I just have a super sensitive supply, so I need to be careful with my health and anything else that impacts it. Thank goodness for Daddy who took great care of me and the baby while I was sick!

184534_10103811232182044_1033178269_n

So after all of that here’s where I am with my body. I am now at my pre-pregnancy weight (130), if not a little below. But my body does not look like it used to at all. I have a lot less muscle tone since I’m not strength training (I need to get on that ASAP!), and my belly has the post partum bump. I can tell I have lost weight in other places on my body (mainly my face) but the bulge remains. I haven’t done any core work either so that could be a factor. I plan to start that again this month. I am not sure if I will ever loose the little belly, but I’m not really concerned about it. I look at pictures of myself right before giving birth and I am amazed that my belly even looks as small as it does right now! Here is a comparison of me at 4 weeks pregnant compared to 4 months post partum. These pictures are actually taken almost exactly a year apart! January 18, 2012 and January 19, 2013.

DSCN5810 DSCN9695

And here is the comparison of all my post partum photos. Month 3 and Month 4 look the same to me. Click to enlarge!

Screen shot 2013-01-21 at 11.56.18 AM

Mind

I did much better mentally this month compared to last. Much less tears, and a lot more acceptance. The holidays and being able to spend 11 amazing days with my baby on Winter Break helped me remember what is really important and what isn’t. Kevin told me he wants me to stop ‘sweating the small stuff’ in the new year, and I have been trying to do that. I’m far from perfect but getting there.

430776_10103702395032564_838760052_n

Work is still very stressful but I try my best to leave it there and not bring the craziness home. When I get home I clear my mind as best as I can and enjoy every minute with my husband and baby. Especially those open mouthed kisses!

429111_10103800101233554_642581041_n

Here’s to a happy and healthy 5th month of life!

Previous Post Partum posts:

21 responses to “Mom & Baby: 4 Months

  1. Sofia has so many things happening just as you described except the sleep part (knock wood).
    they are definitely more fun to be with. they seem to become more social, right?

    its crazy that you got your period already, I thought I wasn’t going to have it for a year while breastfeeding. but as long as it does not affect the supply, it really doesn’t matter much.

    sorry to hear about the stomach bug, hope you feel better soon and get the supply back. πŸ™‚

    happy 4 month!

  2. Great update! Baby K is definitely looking older and less newborn like! You can tell he’s gained weight for sure. I hope the appointment goes well!

    I got my period back 3 months & 1 day after C was born – boo! No the break from is I was hoping for πŸ™‚

    Glad to hear both your mind & body are healed and you’re geared up for a great 2013!

  3. Pingback: Day in the Life of a 4 Month Old (Weekend Edition) | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Post Partum: 5 Months | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Post Partum: 6 Months | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Post Partum: 7 Months | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Post Partum: 8 Months | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 9 Months | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 10 Months | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 11 Months | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 12 Months | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 13 Months | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 14 Months | Run Inspired

  14. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 15 Months | Run Inspired

  15. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 16 Months | Run Inspired

  16. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 17 Months | Run Inspired

  17. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 18 Months | Run Inspired

  18. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 19 Months | Run Inspired

  19. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 20/21 Months | Run Inspired

  20. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 22 Months | Run Inspired

  21. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 23/24 Months | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

