A Day in the Life with a 3 Month Old

Kevin is another month older so I thought it was a good time to do another day in the life post! I took pictures and recorded what we did one day last week since I was home for Winter Break. It was interesting for me too, because I haven’t been home with the baby alone since I went back to work at the beginning of November. Things are a bit different now!

My happy 3 month old!

My happy 3 month old!

5:45 a.m. Baby wakes up to eat. He has been sleeping through the night lately (anywhere from 7 to 9 hours straight- yay!) which means he wakes up between 5 and 6 a.m. pretty hungry. While I feed him Kevin showers and then goes downstairs to prepare a bottle with 1 ounce of formula for him to eat once he’s finished with me. If you missed why we have to supplement now you can read about it here.

6:20 a.m. Baby finishes eating so I change his diaper but leave him in his PJs. He usually goes back down for a cat nap shortly after waking. After changing him I put him in the Boppy and talk to him a bit. He is always happiest in the morning and gives us lots of smiles. It’s the best!

6:45 a.m. Kevin brings me all of my morning things: breakfast (oatmeal), coffee, Mothers Milk tea, fenugreek and blessed thistle pills. I usually go downstairs to eat but he brought it up to our room because he had to leave early for work this day and I wasn’t ready for the day yet. While I eat baby sits next to me and listens to the Rockabye Baby station on Pandora.

7:15 a.m. Kevin leaves for work and baby takes his cat nap. While he is sleeping I get myself ready for the day.

8:05 a.m. Baby wakes up and wants to eat again, so I quickly go downstairs with him to make his bottle and then feed him. He eats for a long time!

8:45 a.m. All done eating and time to play with his new glowworm that he loves. His face lights up and it plays music. He loves to touch his face now that he’s learning how to control his hands.

IMG_3052

9:15 a.m.  Poopy diaper! I change him and then weigh him while he’s in his diaper. Then I get him dressed for the day.

IMG_3057   IMG_3095

9:20 a.m. Baby has tummy time on his play mat in the nursery while I pack up his newborn clothes and sort through his other clothes to find all the 0-3 month stuff that finally fits him. When he gets tired of tummy time I put him on his back to practice batting at the toys that hang from it. It’s so cute!! Eventually he gets tired of that too, so I prop him up in the Boppy and talk to him while I work in his nursery.

IMG_3106   IMG_3090

10:00 a.m. I notice him starting to get sleepy so I put him down for a nap. While he naps I run down to put a load of laundry in, fold laundry, do dishes, and clean up around the house.

IMG_3096

11:15 a.m. Pack up and leave for our chiropractor appointment. Baby is woken up when I change his diaper and transfer him to the car seat but passes out again in the car. He usually takes a long morning nap of 1.5 – 2 hours so I felt bad that I had to break it up like this.

IMG_3100

11:30 a.m. We arrive at the chiropractor and both get adjusted. Ahhh- feels so good! He woke up when it was his turn.

11:55 a.m. We leave the chiropractor but baby is hungry, so before we drive home I feed him in the car.

12:15 p.m. Baby finishes eating and we start driving home. He’s wide awake and sucking on his fingers (his new favorite thing) for the entire car ride.

IMG_3102

12:40 p.m. We arrive home and I change baby’s diaper. Then he happily sits in the Babysitter Balance while I make myself an egg sandwich and salad for lunch. This was impossible to do while he was a newborn! While I eat he sits in the lounge and plays with his rings.

IMG_3107   IMG_3104

1:30 p.m. He wants to be held after I eat, so I sit him in my lap facing out. That is his new favorite position because he can see everything.  Somehow he manages to fall asleep like this. I gently lay him down and transfer him to the Boppy lounger for the rest of his nap. While he naps I go to the basement to switch laundry and then grade some papers. I also prepare his bottle because I know he will wake up hungry.

IMG_3109   IMG_3118

2:30 p.m. He wakes up for another feeding. His afternoon nap is usually a little longer than this, but I know he will sleep again in the stroller while I run.

3:10 p.m. He finally finishes eating and my food has digested, so we go upstairs so I can get ready to run. It’s chilly and breezy so I bundle both of us up. I also change another diaper.

3:45 p.m. I got distracted cleaning up in our bedroom so we finally leave for our run. I drive to a spot that has a smooth paved trail and park the car, then get out the stroller.

4:00 – 4:30 p.m. Running! Baby is awake for the first few minutes then falls asleep for the rest of the time.

IMG_3122

4:30 p.m. I drive home and baby is still asleep. I make his bottle and quickly wash my face while he’s sleeping.

5:00 p.m. Baby wakes up and eats. Kevin is on his way home at this point.

5:30 p.m. Baby K finishes eating and I change his diaper. Kevin comes home and I shower, and then we give the baby a bath together.

6:00 p.m. We eat leftover veggie chili for dinner.

6:30 p.m. Kevin’s family is in town and wants to come over for a visit tonight. We are going out of town the next morning to celebrate Christmas with my family so we take advantage of another baby nap and finish up laundry, cleaning, and pack for our trip.

7:15 p.m. I take a break from travel prep to feed the baby again.

7:40 p.m. Baby finishes eating so I change his diaper, and Kevin’s family arrives shortly after that. They take the baby to play with him and we do dishes and finish packing.

9:30 p.m. Right on cue, baby starts getting fussy and is ready for bed. I take him upstairs and do his nighttime routine (diaper, PJs, swaddle, white noise). It’s a little later than usual because we had visitors, so I skip reading to him because he is overtired and cranky. I feed him one last time and he’s out for the night by 10:00.

10:15 p.m. Kevin’s family has left by this point so we both get ready for bed. I pump a little bit and set my alarm to pump again at 1:30 a.m. I do that because of my supply issues. Now that K is sleeping through the night I want to make sure I maintain my current supply. It is worth sacrificing some sleep to make sure my baby gets enough to eat the next day (while I am working). During break this extra pumped milk goes right into the freezer because I try to feed him a lot on demand while I’m home.

10:30 p.m. We all sleep!

1:30 a.m.  Wake up and pump. Soooo sleepy!

5:35 a.m. Baby wakes up to eat and another day begins!

24 Hour Totals

  • # of feedings: 7
  • # of diaper changes: 8
  • # of outfit changes: 2 (just in and out of PJs- accidents don’t happen as often anymore)
  • # of hours of sleep for mom: ~7 hours
  • # of hours of sleep for baby: ~13 hours (he has been awake for longer periods of time lately)
  • # of hours spent nursing: ~3.5 hours… more than a typical day since I was home and not at work!
  • # of hours spent pumping: only 20 minutes since I wasn’t at work.
  • # of formula ounces eaten: 7 ounces

Previous Day in the Life posts:

27 responses to “A Day in the Life with a 3 Month Old

  1. Sounds like you guys are a in a nice groove!! Baby K is adorable 🙂 I love his bald little head. C was bald-ish until nearly a year so I’m partial. The only thing I’d recommend is more sleep for Mama!! 7 hours doesn’t seem enough for everything you’re doing in a day…AND this was a vacation day! I hope supplementing with formula has been going well and hasn’t caused any digestion issues for baby K or supply issues for you. Happy 2013! 🙂

  2. I want to be a 3 mo old again! hehe

  3. balancejoyanddelicias

    It’s great that he’s sleeping through the night! Mine sleeps 7-8 stretches often too but as we put her to sleep pretty early (she’s asleep by 7:30) so she still gets up to eat around 2-3 once. NOt too bad. 🙂
    Happy 2013! it’s going to be another amazing one seeing all the milestones our babies will do.

    • That’s great! I want to start putting Kevin to bed earlier. I admit that I’m selfish and after I get home from work at 5 and my husband gets home at 6 we want to spend some time with him. But we are working on it!!!

  4. Just wondering how many ounces in bottles he now eats when he is with the baby sitter? Is he still sleeping in your room?

    • He is eating 4 oz. bottles now – 3 oz. of breastmilk and 1 oz. of formula. He’s still in our room but since he is sleeping through the night and I don’t need to feed him we’re planning to move him to his room very soon. Our goal was to start in 2013 so we’re thinking this weekend when we don’t have to get up for work- because I don’t think it will be an easy transition!

  5. Pingback: Day in the Life of a 4 Month Old (Weekend Edition) | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 5 Month Old | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 6 Month Old (SPRING BREAK Edition) | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Day in the Life of a 7 Month Old | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 8 Month Old: Memorial Day | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 9 Month Old: SUMMER BREAK! | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 10 Month Old | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 11 Month Old | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 12 Month Old [My Birthday Edition!] | Run Inspired

  14. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 13 Month Old | Run Inspired

  15. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 14 Month Old | Run Inspired

  16. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 15 Month Old | Run Inspired

  17. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 16 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  18. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 17 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  19. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 18 Month Old | Run Inspired

  20. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 19 Month Old | Run Inspired

  21. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 21 Month Old: Summer Break! | Run Inspired

  22. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 22 Month Old | Run Inspired

  23. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 2 Year Old | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

