A Year in Review: 2012

HAPPY NEW YEAR, FRIENDS!

Last year on January 1st I wrote a post recapping the highlights of 2011, like many other bloggers. I knew I wanted to do the same this year because 2012 has been the best year of my life by far and I want to remember it all!

January

A very exciting month for us. I was training for an ultra marathon and feeling stronger and faster than ever. I had the best 20 mile run of my life (at an 8:43 pace nonstop) and then found out I was pregnant a couple of days later. Surprise!

DSCN5803

February

February was tough. I was dealing with first trimester ickiness and not feeling well. I just tried to survive each day and didn’t blog much, except for my weekly pregnancy updates that I kept unpublished until we announced our news on the blog the following month. The best part of this month was sharing our pregnancy with family and friends. It was so much fun to tell them our news in creative ways.

March

I started to feel better in March. I ran the Rock & Roll USA Half Marathon at 12 weeks pregnant and announced my pregnancy on the blog and to everyone else.

baby announcement

April

In April I ran the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler and I gave up my Garmin for the rest of my pregnancy. This is also the month that my belly started to show!

719106-4042-0017s    414800_10102576559775444_9301371_91119313_182521595_o

May

A very exciting month! We went to Pittsburgh for Kevin’s marathon, we had our anatomy scan and somehow resisted finding out the sex of the baby, and I ran the Delaware Half Marathon at 20 weeks! I was able to see my baby sister graduate from college. I also began my own pregnancy version of the Runners World Summer Running Streak at the end of the month.

IMG_0264   JHA_7759

June

A couple more races at the beginning of the month- the Virginia Wine Country Half Marathon and the Belmont Bay 5K, both at 23 weeks pregnant. We celebrated the marriage of Kevin’s sister and her new husband. School let out for summer, and Kevin and I took a trip to the West Coast to visit family and run the Rock & Roll Seattle Half together. I was 26 weeks and this was the fourth and final half that I did while pregnant. June was an awesome month!

DSCN7468

July

We kicked off this month by running the Let Freedom Run 5K on the 4th of July. I enjoyed my summer vacation, we bought a house, and I FINALLY finished grad school and received my Masters Degree. We also went to my hometown in Pennsylvania for our first baby shower.

JHA_8836

August

We closed on our house and moved in with the help of many friends, and finally got our nursery ready for baby. I broke my Running Streak after 80 consecutive days of running and walking! We were thrown another baby shower here in Virginia, and had maternity pictures taken. I ran the Gender Defender 5K at 35 weeks pregnant. I also went back to work at the end of the month after an amazing summer vacation. Whew!

DSCN7947

September

I ran my final race while pregnant, The Arlington 9-11 Memorial 5K, at 37 weeks and 3 days (and got a lot of stares in the process). I started feeling pretty crampy after the race and 2 days later my water broke. I gave birth to our beautiful baby boy on September 12th (his daddy’s birthday!) at 38 weeks exactly. The rest of the month was spent adjusting to our new life as parents and getting to know our amazing little man. Baby Kevin also had his very first photo shoot at 4 days old!

DSCN8076    DSCN8093

October

In October we got more into the groove of having a new baby and became more comfortable. We took our first trip away with baby and went to see my family and friends in PA for the weekend. I was cleared to start running again at 4 weeks post partum and signed up for a bunch of races afterwards in my excitement. We had fun hosting a Halloween party in our house and taking Kevin out to the pumpkin patch. I also celebrated my 26th birthday!

DSCN8447    DSCN8500

November

This was a tough month for me with a lot of highs and lows. It began with my last week of maternity leave, which I tried to enjoy to the fullest. We went to Skyline Drive and spent a lot of time snuggling. Then I went back to work, which was (and still is) very hard to deal with. We celebrated our 1 year anniversary and went back to where we were married. I somehow PRed in my first race post-baby, The Turkey Trot 10K. We spent Thanksgiving at home in PA with my family, which was really nice. Unfortunately, I also spent a lot of this month dealing with a nagging knee injury after falling while running.

DSCN8813

December

This month was very challenging at the beginning because of breastfeeding issues that caused us to have to start supplementing, and my decision to not run the Myrtle Beach Marathon due to my knee injury. But it quickly turned around once the holidays rolled around and the excitement of baby’s first Christmas took over. I also ran two 5Ks, the VA Runner Blue & Gray 5K and the Festival of Lights 5K on New Years Eve (recap coming soon!) We ended the year by hanging out at our house with our friends that just had a baby on December 19th, and Kevin’s sister and brother-in-law who are expecting their first in March. It was a really nice evening 🙂

DSCN9200

It is truly amazing how many wonderful things happened this year. I know that it’s only going to get better from here, and I am so excited to see what 2013 brings!

2 responses to “A Year in Review: 2012

  1. Pingback: 2013: A Year in Review | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: 2014: A Year in Review | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

