Mom & Baby: 3 Months

This 3 month update is coming a little late. Baby Kevin turned 3 months last Wednesday (December 12th), but life has been so insanely busy that I’m just now finding time to blog. So many things happened this month! When I looked back at my last post partum update at 8 weeks I realized how different things are now, for both him and me. Here are all the details!

IMG_1940

Baby

Kevin is definitely NOT a tiny little newborn anymore. He spent the first 2 months of his life very fussy and temperamental due to his acid reflux. In the last month he has become super smiley, happy, and extremely vocal. His personality is emerging and he becomes more fun every day!

604098_10103585773048954_19384629_n

I think the biggest improvement for Baby K this month is that his acid reflux is GONE. After taking him to the chiropractor a total of 3 times he no longer screams in pain, coughs, gasps, wheezes, etc. It is truly amazing. He spits up very little and only really if he overeats or I eat dairy (he’s still sensitive to it, unfortunately for me!). The best part is that his temperament has completely changed. Now that he is not in pain constantly he’s SO happy. When he is awake he’s smiling and babbling constantly.

His new thing he does with hands all the time.

His new thing he does with hands all the time.

During the last month he also started reacting to us, smiling when he sees us or when we put a toy in front of him.  The best part of my whole day is first thing in the morning. When he first wakes up and sees us he gives us the biggest smile, and then kicks his legs and talks to us. I love it so much. He also smiles at us when we come home from work. It makes my heart so happy!

Big smiles and lots of energy at 5 a.m.!

Big smiles and lots of energy at 5 a.m.!

He is extremely active and always moving his little legs and arms. He rolled over from front to back for the first time at 9 weeks and 2 days. Baby boy is strong! He can hold his head up like a champ and actually likes tummy time now.

After showing off his new trick- rolling from front to back!

After showing off his new trick- rolling from front to back!

He has also become interested in toys. He interacts with them now and will try to bat at them, hold them, or eat them!

481465_10103673069136894_1731745061_n

6975_10103674751475474_389897608_n

He has been drooling a TON and has his hands in his mouth constantly. I think this is the very early stages of teething. Sometimes he sticks his fingers so far in his mouth that he gags himself and spits up drool. He soaks through his shirts too! I know that these signs can last for months and months, so I’m not expecting any teeth to pop through soon. We’ll see though!

 

542640_10103616797590524_1747274385_n   319049_10103612924542144_1576531033_n

He has been doing very well with our babysitter. She watches him in our home, which we LOVE. She has pretty much let him do his own thing and he’s fallen into his own routine. I wouldn’t call it a schedule because it does vary, but he always takes a cat nap in the morning right after we leave, followed by a bottle and then a long morning nap (2-3 hours). He wakes up, eats, plays, and then goes down for a long afternoon nap (1.5-2 hours). Then he eats again and plays, and by this time we are home from work. These longer naps during the day have helped him sleep better at night too. In month 3 he was waking up once a night to eat, maybe twice a night every once in a while. We put him down between 8 and 9 p.m. and he slept in 3-5 hour stretches. He’s still in the co-sleeper in our room, and I don’t know when we are going to move him out. I like having him close after not seeing him all day, plus it’s convenient for feeding him. However, I think in the new year we’re going to begin the transition to the crib 😦 I will miss him.

66039_10103580731482294_1455497654_n

I saved the part that makes me sad for last. At baby’s 2 month appointment he weighed 9 pounds 9 ounces and was 23 inches long. This put him in the 50th percentile for height and the 12th for weight. He was still on his curve but our pediatrician wanted there to be less of a gap between height and weight. She told me to work on getting him to gain more weight and was pushing me to supplement. She gave me until the 3 month mark to bring his weight up. Well, then I went back to work and my supply dropped due to pumping and the stress of work (more about my breastfeeding issues here). I knew he was gaining (he’s now in 0-3 month clothes and size 1 diapers) but I didn’t know if it was enough.

483450_10103595912344724_469932720_n

We just had his 3 month appointment on Thursday with a new pediatrician. I wanted to switch because I didn’t like the way our old pediatrician made me feel. She was pushy and condescending and made me feel like I was a bad mother. Our new pediatrician is awesome. Very gentle, understanding, and open-minded. However, at the appointment Kevin weighed in at 10 pounds 6 ounces and 24.5 inches long. That put him in the 75th percentile for height (!!!) and only the 3rd-5th for weight. She said she doesn’t believe height and weight need to necessarily match up (my old ped. was adamant about this), but this gap was a little too large for her and he was beginning to fall off his curve. She told me she wanted me to start giving him an ounce of formula after each feeding to give him a little boost. She wants me to do it for a month to see if it helps, then we will think about starting some solids at 4 months. If he’s gaining, there’s a possibility I could switch back to breast milk with the solids giving him the extra boost he needs instead of formula. So I’m holding out hope that it’s temporary!

The faces he makes are hilarious!!

The faces he makes are hilarious!!

I cried about this a lot, and I am still upset every time I give him his 1 oz. bottle of formula. But I have been doing everything I can to increase my supply and it’s not enough. So as much as it kills me to have to do it, it’s what I need to do for him to get him to a healthier weight. I know that in the grand scheme of things it’s not that much, and that breastfeeding doesn’t have to be ‘all or nothing.’ I’m not going to stop doing everything I can to increase my supply and he’ll still be getting a lot of nutrients and immunities from me. It’s just hard to accept that I couldn’t provide what he needs. An added issue is that he’s sensitive to dairy so we are using the more expensive formula. I did not anticipate having to pay for this in addition to day care. But luckily, he isn’t using a ton so it’s not like we’ll go through it that quickly. So that’s where we are with his weight and feeding issues. I’m trying hard not to feel like a failure, but it has been very challenging for me.

This face makes everything better

This face makes everything better

Body

I lost another 2 pounds this month, bringing me to 132. I’m 2 pounds away from my pre-pregnancy weight now, but my body is pretty different. I have a little more roundness to my belly that I did before and my hips aren’t getting any smaller. I haven’t been eating well since we’ve been so busy and I haven’t really been running because of my knee injury, so I’m not sure how I lost another 2 pounds this month. I think it’s because I’ve been trying to increase my supply which leads to more calories burned. I can tell because I’ve been extra hungry. I’ve definitely killed a bag or two of tortilla chips this month, not going to lie.

Screen shot 2012-12-22 at 10.48.07 AM

I am also surprised that I lost some more weight because my doctor adjusted my thyroid medicine again, bringing it down some. He increased it during pregnancy so I knew this would happen, and I figured my weight loss would slow down as a result. But it’s been the opposite. I feel like my thyroid and metabolism are working harder now.

59352_10103651668049844_397909576_n

Other interesting body changes include my hair falling out A LOT. When I brush it and when I get out of the shower it comes out in clumps. Sadness 😦 Also, I have noticed myself breaking out more, like I used to before pregnancy. While I was pregnant (after the first trimester) my face was clearer than it’s ever been. But now it’s back, probably due to hormonal issues. Finally, the fenugreek I’ve been taking to increase my milk supply has me smelling like maple syrup. Yes, seriously. It’s so strange, but it is apparently a normal side effect. So in summary I am losing my hair, have acne, and smell like pancakes. Good thing my husband loves me so much!

My two favorite guys

My two favorite guys

I haven’t been running due to my knee injury, but after two full weeks of rest I plan to start again tomorrow. I’m excited and hoping my knee is back to normal! I  am missing it so much!

Mind

Oh boy, this was a very, very tough month for me mentally and emotionally. I had a lot of things to work through- going back to work and leaving baby with our sitter, stress at work which led to low supply, baby weight gain issues and feeling like a failure because I couldn’t keep up with his needs. I spent a lot of time crying over the last month. I think I can sum up month 3 with that one word: tears. I have been trying my best to make the most of the time we have together on weekends, before and after work.

481779_10103560709850804_1509338719_n

My focus for month 4 is acceptance. I have to accept that I need to work even though I’d rather stay home. I have to accept that being a teacher is NOT a 9-5 job, and I have to take work home every single night even though all I want to do is snuggle with my baby. I have to accept that my milk supply isn’t enough to meet baby’s needs anymore, even though I’ve tried everything to increase it.  It has been really hard. There are a lot of things I can’t control. One of my mommy friends told me that sometimes when it comes to your kids things are going to be out of your control, so maybe this is my first lesson in realizing that.

8803_10103592520776454_499704302_n

With the holidays coming up, it’s been really special creating new memories and starting traditions as a family. It has made me feel so much better knowing that I am going to have a long winter break to spend with him. I’m also looking forward to seeing our families. I hope it gives me the boost I have been needing!

577951_10103637039849874_1953220568_n    35655_10103667664358114_679613095_n

WOW this was a long update! So much has happened in only a month. I am sure in another month there will be a lot more to share!

395044_10103550982125244_1614268678_n

Cute baby after bathtime

Previous Post Partum posts:

37 responses to “Mom & Baby: 3 Months

  1. SO glad you’re back! I’m sorry to hear about Baby K’s weight/height ratio. C had the same issues (spitting up, being on the smaller side – I think he was 10%ile at his 9 month visit?) and has survived & thrived to become the happiest 17 month old on the planet. This part is tough – but it will improve and will keep getting better. It sounds like you have a great support system with Kevin & friends to help you get through everything. I hope you have a wonderful first Christmas with Baby K!!

  2. congrats on saying bye to reflux and that Kevin is a happy baby. Sorry to hear about the weight issue, hopefully this new method works. We do our best to provide our babies the best, no matter how. Exclusive breastfeeding is nice but sometime we can’t control the outcome of everything, so acceptance is really crucial! 🙂

  3. Sorry about the supplementing… I haven’t had to go through that, but I know that breastfeeding and breastfeeding issues can feel very personal. But it sounds like you’ve got a great mindset ahead of you for the future, and know that NOBODY thinks you’re failing. You are doing an amazing job taking care of your little man and making sure everything is the best it can be for him!

  4. O Katie, I wish I could just give you a hug. As I read this, I was sitting here feeding Nolan a bottle of formula. Something I never thought I would have to do after successfully breastfeeding his older brothers. It’s been hard, but quitting was the right decision for us. And remember that good mothers make sure their baby is full and happy 🙂

    • Thanks Renee! I’m sorry to hear that breastfeeding didn’t work out for you this time 😦 I can’t imagine how hard it was to deal with that after having such good experiences the first two times. But you are right, we just need to make sure that our babies are full and happy. That’s what matters!

  5. You are so right. It is really hard to focus on the things that you CAN control rather than the things that are beyond your control. I have struggled with the same thing. You have to tell yourself each day, “Today I did the best I can and tomorrow is a brand new day.” I try not to let things stick with me for too long which is really hard!
    You are raising an amazing little boy. It is so obvious how much he is loved. I can’t believe he already rolled over! Keep up what you are doing. You ARE doing a great job and you ARE making it all work!

    • Thanks Jordan! I really need to get in the habit of telling myself that at the end of the day. I think that will be one of my goals for the new year 🙂

  6. I love your blog and have loved reading about your pregnancy as a runner and vegetarian and now what yor experience is like with Kevin at home. I am an 11 time marathoner and new Mom of Finn Michael born 19 days early on 12/4! I greatly appreciate your honesty in your posts and love seeing pictures of your baby boy. Happy holidays!!!

  7. Also, I really appreciate you sharing your feelings about breastfeeding. You are doing such an amazing job. I think nursing is the hardest part of this!!

  8. Katie,
    You are doing and amazing job! The hardest part of being a mother is that we are used to doing everything for our babies, since they were part of our bodies. You are always going to feel a personal sense of guilt for things that happen to your child, no matter what because you are a mother, and it’s what we do. I love your goals of acceptance, because it is so important. Accepting that you are doing the best you can in the situation you have is the most amazing gift you can give yourself. I struggled with issues of M not having a typical family, because I got married and had a kid and then was left. I placed so much guilt on myself, when in reality me being present for M was the most important things. I find that my Type A personality is used to working hard to complete whatever I want, and getting the results that I want, well being a single mother of an infant and now toddler made me go through a huge learning period of accepting what I have as not what my goal was, a happy family of three, but a happy family of two where I get to be present with my daughter is the best thing. Once you get yourself into that frame of mind, and it takes time, becuase lets not lie breast feeding hormones are still working on you, and they were for me too, you will give yourself the freedom to love without feeling guilty. Rest assured that things will continue to happen, and you have the best attitude. It will still sting when what you hoped for your family doesn’t happen exactly as you like, but you are a strong woman who is adaptable and capable of challenging and overcoming obstacles, you just have to give yourself time. You are a great mother. Also Baby K might start gaining more weight with his reflux no longer bothering him! Will say a prayer you can switch to baby food instead of formula!!

    • Thanks so much Bridgette. You know how much I love and appreciate your amazing comments and words of advice.

      • Always glad to share! We are both members of this awesome club called motherhood that u can’t truly understand until u are one, supporting each other is the best gift to give each other! 🙂 after all there is no manual!

  9. Pingback: A Year in Review: 2012 | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: A Day in the Life with a 3 Month Old | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: Post Partum: 4 Months | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: Post Partum: 5 Months | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: Post Partum: 6 Months | Run Inspired

  14. Pingback: Post Partum: 7 Months | Run Inspired

  15. Pingback: Post Partum: 8 Months | Run Inspired

  16. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 9 Months | Run Inspired

  17. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 10 Months | Run Inspired

  18. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 11 Months | Run Inspired

  19. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 12 Months | Run Inspired

  20. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 13 Months | Run Inspired

  21. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 14 Months | Run Inspired

  22. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 15 Months | Run Inspired

  23. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 16 Months | Run Inspired

  24. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 17 Months | Run Inspired

  25. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 18 Months | Run Inspired

  26. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 19 Months | Run Inspired

  27. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 20/21 Months | Run Inspired

  28. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 22 Months | Run Inspired

  29. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 23/24 Months | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

