Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 6

Some weeks I feel like I’m on top of everything- my job, being a good mommy and a wife, and my running. Week 5 of my training was one of those awesome weeks. Then there are the weeks where I feel like I’m drowning and can’t keep my head above water. This was one of them. It was super busy and tiring, and on top of that I was trying to deal with a knee injury that doesn’t seem to be going away. This resulted in me running a grand total of 2 times. I felt pretty down and defeated. Here are the (boring) details…

Monday: Rest. My knee started to hurt in the afternoon after my great 10 mile long run on Sunday. I thought that I was totally healed from my fall (that happened over 3 weeks ago!) but I started to think I must have done more than just scrape it up when I fell. It hurt to walk and I was even limping when I put weight on it. Ugh. So I took Monday off from running to rest it.

Tuesday: 1 miles in 10:00 (10:00 pace). I woke up and my knee felt better, so I decided to try to run again. I went to the gym and ran one mile before deciding it hurt too much. I tried the elliptical to cross-train but it also hurt. Wahhh 😦

Wednesday: Rest. I took another day off to hopefully let my knee heal.

Thursday: Rest. I wasn’t limping anymore, but still felt a little twinge in my knee while walking so I decided to play it safe and take another day off.

Friday: Rest. My knee felt a lot better so I planned to get up and run before work… and then the baby decided not to sleep and I turned off my alarm when it went off because I was exhausted.

Saturday: Rest. Again, I planned to run this morning but slept too late and ran out of time before we had to be somewhere. I know… excuses, excuses.

Sunday: 12 miles in 1:55:59 (9:39 pace). By the time Sunday rolled around I was DYING to run. It was beautiful outside (60 degrees in December!) and I was in a great mood the entire time. It was a very hilly route but I pushed myself to run without stopping. My knee felt normal, except for around mile 5, but it went away shortly after so I kept going. I couldn’t find my Camelbak so I had Kevin meet me while I was running to bring me a new water bottle. When he came he also took some pictures of me in action. You can see how happy I was 🙂

DSCN9161

DSCN9163

DSCN9170

Check out that hill!

Total: 13 miles.

Unfortunately, even as good as my knee felt during the run, it started hurting later that evening. And this morning when I woke up it hurt even worse. I’m back to limping around in pain. Sigh… I’m not sure what to do now. I think I need to rest it for real. In hindsight I guess it wasn’t a good idea to do my long run, but my knee felt fine so I figured it was okay. Obviously I have a deeper injury going on, which is new to me because I have never had an injury like this from running. I’m hoping it doesn’t stick around but if it does, I will have to rethink my training and race plans. Let’s all think happy thoughts for my knee!!

6 weeks down, 10 to go…

5 responses to “Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 6

  1. Hope your knee feels better soon!

  2. Sending good vibes to your knee!

  3. hope the knee gets better soon. you made the right decision to take the rest day. and running schedules are definitely different with newborns–you are doing awesome and you’ll get back on track.

  4. running 4 mamas comeback

    You are probably not going to want to hear this, but get your knee checked by someone who knows something about athletes! I had shin pain while training for my marathon this past summer, went to an ortho dr who gave me an x-ray and said I was fine. I had a feeling it was a stress fracture but he cleared me so I did the marathon (it was my first, how could I not go). Long story made semi-long, I was in a lot of pain for the marathon, walked most and took almost 3 months off running after. Went back to running to train for a half, pain came back 😦 Finally I pushed for an MRI and wahla, stress fracture. Now I’m off until hopefully just spring! So moral of the story, be safe and listen to your body. If it hurts there’s a reason!! Moms, we think we are invincible!

    • You are right- as much as I hate to admit it, I think this is my reality check that I can’t do it all. I’m going to rest and let it heal and rethink my race plans. Thanks for the reminder to take it seriously and listen to my body. I forget sometimes!

Leave a Reply

