A Busy WIAW

It’s time for another What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW)!

Life has been ridiculously busy. I have barely any free time between being the mommy of an 11 week old, working full-time at a job that extends way beyond the hours of 9-5, pumping, and marathon training. I’m trying REALLY hard to make good food choices and eat enough to provide me with energy to get through my long days. This can be tough as a vegetarian who also needs to avoid dairy because it aggravates Baby Kevin’s reflux. Here is a very quick glimpse of what I ate today, a typical Wednesday in my busy life! Sorry for the terrible iPhone photos- my phone is more convenient than my big camera!

6:45 a.m. My regular morning breakfast: oatmeal cooked with banana, cinnamon and almond milk, with almond butter stirred in and topped with blueberries. Coffee in a gorilla mug on the side 🙂 Eaten in my bedroom while getting ready for work and entertaining the baby who is on my bed on the Boppy.

10:00 a.m. Fast forward a few hours and I am now at school. I have my 45 minute planning period during this time so I grab my morning snack: two hard boiled eggs. This is always a reliable snack that keeps me full until lunchtime.

12:30 p.m. Time for lunch! I only have 30 minutes, so I hurry to bring my students to the cafeteria, go to the bathroom, and get started with pumping in my classroom. Once I have my hands free thanks to this bra, I can eat. I used to bring salads everyday for lunch, but they take too long to eat with everything else I need to do (I’m a really slow eater). So instead I usually bring some sort of sandwich because it’s quicker and easier. This one was hummus and avocado on whole wheat bread. Carrots on the side.

3:30 p.m. The students are dismissed and I eat a Larabar before heading home.

7:00 p.m. I tried to make dinner when I got home at 5 but was not successful due to a very hungry baby followed by a massive poop followed by baby not wanting me to put him down. Kevin got home at 6:15 and made dinner for us. We had one of our favorite go-to meals: Tex Mex Quinoa with homemade baked tortilla chips. Pretty sure I had this in another one of my WIAWs too. Do you like Kevin’s artistic food presentation?

7:30 p.m. I wanted something sweet after dinner so I had a So Delicious mini coconut milk ice cream sandwich.

10:00 p.m. I had a small bowl of cereal before going to bed. If I don’t have something little before I go to sleep I’ll wake up with a growling tummy in the middle of the night. I have a bit of a cereal addiction and love to mix different types together.

Looking back on my day of food, I just realized I really lacked in the veggie department today. Since I no longer eat salads at lunch I try to eat them with my dinner, but tonight it didn’t happen. I really need to work on that tomorrow. I love my veggies and need to make them more of a priority, even when we are busy!

One response to “A Busy WIAW

  1. I make oatmeal, with almond milk, bananas cooked in, cinnamon, and flax seed every morning for M and I!! ( I started incorporating a green drink for myself 3 times a week, but I may switch it as a snack to make sure I get enough greens, especially Kale which I love in my smoothies). I love it!! Have you tried flax seed in your oatmeal? Makes it a little nutty and has great omega’s. We are dairy free. M gets horrible stomach problems with anything dairy (one of the reason’s I went Vegan). I love coconut milk ice cream, and coconut milk yogurt. I was eating soy, but felt overloaded with soy milk and eating edamame for protien. I also like dark chocolate covered soy nuts for a dessert, sweet, salty, and protien! I highly recommend them, Trader Joes has them. Whole foods used to carry them, but the ones around here haven’t recently! Also, you can use nutritional yeast as a parmesean cheese substitute, and it gives you b12 since you aren’t eating cows milk or meat. I think eggs give it to you, but if you notice your energy dipping it could be from that too. I also make my own hummus now, but love dipping cucumbers in it! You are awesome Katie!! I wish I was as put together as you are when M was so little!!

Leave a Reply

