Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 5

I had a great 5th week of training! I completed all my runs, and more importantly I felt strong during each one. I also finally got in a double digit long run for the first time since June.

Monday: Rest & hobble around. The Turkey Trot 10K that I raced hard on Saturday left me sore for days!

Tuesday: 3 miles in 28:52 (9:36 pace). Another early morning at the gym! It’s getting easier to wake up and go, I think because I have realized how good it makes me feel for the rest of the day. Totally worth the 4:30 a.m. wake-up call.

Wednesday: Rest. I decided to run on Thursday & Friday rather than Wednesday & Thursday, because we were going out of town for the Thanksgiving holiday and leaving straight from work. We had to finish packing everything up in the morning so I knew that getting up to run in addition to that would make things even more stressful.

Thursday: 3 miles in 28:00 (9:20 pace). Thanksgiving Day! I usually love going for a nice long run on Thanksgiving morning but I slept too late and had to do a quick 3 miles on my Dad’s treadmill instead. Not the most exciting run but I got it done!

Friday: 6 miles in 53:27 (8:54 pace). I went out the day after Thanksgiving with tons of excitement about running in my hometown again and lots of calories to burn… and then I started out way too fast and underestimated how hilly my town is. My mile splits were all over the place but I averaged out a sub-9 minute pace somehow. I need to re-learn how to pace myself again!

Saturday: Rest. Eat Chipotle. Eat leftovers. Drink wine. Shop. Hang out with friends. Spend time with family. 🙂

Sunday: 10 miles in 1:33:57 (9:23 pace). My first double digit run since June! I planned a big loop around my hometown that again, included a lot of hills that I somehow forgot about since last time I ran around there. I tried to maintain a more even pace than Friday and not walk up any hills. The only time I walked was when I went DOWN a really steep hill. I was afraid to run down it because it was so steep I kept having visions of myself falling and somersaulting down it. Haha! Anyway, I really started missing my two guys toward the end. There is no better feeling than coming home from a run feeling accomplished and  seeing your husband and your baby waiting for you.

Total: 22 miles! Haven’t seen weekly mileage that high in 5 months 🙂

This week of training looks similar to the last, except that my long run will be 12 miles. Moving on up 🙂

5 weeks down, 11 to go!

7 responses to “Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 5

  1. SO I woke up at 4:30 this morning (randomly) and thought to myself…”You could get up and work out right now…the gym opens at 4:45…” Then, I thought about YOU and how you’re only a few months post-partum, still pumping/nursing, working full time, and YOU get up then to work out!!! I have NO excuses. You’re so motivating. Thanks for putting all this out there to get the rest of us in gear! 🙂 Glad you had an uneventful week of training!!

  2. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 6 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

