Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 4

This week started out slow for me but ended on an awesome note! I PRed at the Turkey Trot 10K, and I am fully recovered from my fall last week. Time to get back to my original training plan! Woo hoo!

Monday: Rest & recover from fall.

Tuesday: Rest. Another day of rest. I probably could have run, but I was still feeling some pain when I bent my knees so I decided to wait one more day.

Wednesday: 3 miles in 25:21 (8:27 pace). Oh, it is SO hard to get myself up at 4:30 a.m. to go to the gym. But I never, ever regret it. It makes me feel so much better throughout the day if I get a run in before work. This was supposed to be 6 miles, but- 1) I would have had to wake up at 3:30 a.m. for that to happen, and 2) I wanted to take it easy because this was my first run since my fall. My knees felt fine and I was so excited to be back at it.

Thursday: 3 miles in 28:11 (9:23 pace). Another early morning and boring treadmill run! Having good music helps take some of the boredom away but treadmill running is still very difficult for me. After the run I went into the locker room and as I walked past one of the mirrors I remembered a picture I had taken 10 weeks ago- in the exact same outfit! I’m just a little smaller now 🙂 Actually it looks like I had a balloon under my shirt that I deflated. Haha!

Friday: Rest. 

Saturday: 6.2 miles in 49:35 (7:59 pace). The Turkey Trot 10K that ended in a surprise PR- 9 weeks after giving birth! Nobody was as shocked as I was about this. I decided to push myself for the first time since finding out I was pregnant last January, and the results were amazing! Maybe I’ll have to add some speed work into this training plan after all 🙂

Sunday: Rest. I was SO SORE! It’s been a long time since I ran hard like that and I was definitely feeling the effects of it.

Total: 12.2 miles

I’m feeling anxious to get some longer runs under my belt. I was supposed to do 10 miles the week I fell and then I had to skip it. Then I had the 10K planned for this past weekend so I knew that would be considered my ‘long run’. This weekend I’m going to shoot for 10 again. Double digits here I come!!!

4 weeks down, 12 to go!

9 responses to “Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 4

  1. I love, love, love your blog! You are my inspiration. I’m 22 weeks right now with a little boy and trying to continue my running. I ran my 10th half marathon at 18 weeks and felt great. It’s hard to not push it, but after seeing you get back in shape and train, I’m pumped for the time after =) Thank you for all your posts!

    • Awww thank you SO MUCH! This comment just made my week!! Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy and afterwards. It’s all been better than I could have ever imagined!

  2. what is your purple shirt? i’m always looking for summer running shirts esp since my husband prefers I don’t run in super fitted shirts.

  3. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 5 | Run Inspired

  4. What is your time goal for Myrtle Beach? I am running it as my first marathon (from CO) and you seem to be about my pace or a little faster. I am shooting for a 3:45 (wish they had a pace group to make sure I was close to that time).

    • Well I’m trying not to have a time goal because this is my first race after having a baby. My previous PR is 4:00:04, and it’s hard to tell at this point in my training what time I’ll end up running. I’m more focused on building my endurance back up again than speed. Good luck in your first marathon! It’s such an amazing feeling to finish running 26.2 miles- you will love it!

      • Thanks Katie. I am excited, especially to be sharing this experience with my brother and veteran marathon running Uncle. I bet you beat your PR just based off your 10k time and your pacing. Hope you get some mileage under your belt the next dozen weeks and stay healthy after your fall. Congrats on your kiddo and family. It’s an amazing experience being a parent.

  5. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 6 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

