Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 3

Well this was not my best week. It started well and I had great intentions but then had a setback that sidelined me for a couple of days. I said that I was taking a flexible approach to my training plan and I definitely had to adapt a bit this week!

Monday: 1 hour walk. I put baby in the Ergo and we walked to Target and back 🙂 We both LOVE the Ergo!

Tuesday: 3 miles in 27:11 (9:08 pace). I did a test run of my morning routine this morning since I knew I was going back to work on Thursday. I was trying to see what time I need to wake up to get to the gym, get ready, and get the baby fed and ready for the babysitter. It all went well, but I am so glad I tested it out on a day that I didn’t actually have to go to work because it made it much less stressful. Running on the treadmill isn’t my favorite, but it’s necessary because it’s too dark to run outside in the morning right now. Even though exercising in the morning is the last thing I want to do lately I am really going to try to do it because I want to have the evenings free to spend with my two favorite men. It makes sense to me to work out in the morning when they are both asleep, so I don’t miss out on that time.

Wednesday: Rest. I had 5 miles on the plan today. I was going to do it after work so that I could relax a bit on the morning of my last day of maternity leave, but Kevin got home from work really late. By the time he got home it was really dark and I was hungry. Excuses, excuses. This is why I need to make morning exercise a priority! I decided to do it on Friday instead.

Thursday: 3 miles in 27:07 (9:02 pace). I put my trial morning routine to the test on my first day back to work and it went really well. I made it to the gym to run 3 miles before getting myself and the baby ready for the day. I am so glad that I made the effort to work out that morning because I think that it made my emotional day a little bit better. It was also nice to come home and be able to relax for the rest of the night!

Friday: 2.63 miles in 25:58 (9:52 pace). Here is where my setback occurred. I knew I had to run 5 miles to make up for what I missed on Wednesday. I was going to do it after school because Kevin was working closer to home than usual and he’d get home shortly after 5, so I had time before it got too dark (or so I thought). I started running and realized that it was getting dark fast. I figured I would be okay and just tried to pay close attention to where I was stepping. Literally as soon as I reached the turn around point 2.5 miles from home, I tripped on something and fell HARD. I landed on both knees first, then the rest of my body hit the ground starting with my right hip and elbow. I felt the pain and stinging immediately and saw that I was bleeding. For some reason I didn’t have my phone on me, even though I have brought it with me on every run for the last couple of months- such a stupid decision. I was really mad at myself for running in the dark and not having my phone. I tried to run back home but my knees felt really sore so I walked. It took forever since I was 2.5 miles out, and I was freezing. Kevin was worried sick about me since I didn’t have my phone to tell him what happened 😦

When I got home I was able to see that my knees were bleeding and bruised and had gravel and rocks stuck in there. Cleaning them out hurt much more than the fall itself! By this point I was also limping because my knees hurt so much. Not good 😦

I woke up on Saturday morning and felt like I was hit by a truck. I’m not kidding when I say that I fell really hard. My whole body was achy and sore, and my knees, hip, and arm were bruised. It hurt to bend my knees to walk because they were tender and scabbed. Walking up and down the stairs was a painful process because of this. Obviously I decided not to go to Body Pump (for the third week in a row) and I also decided to skip my 10 miler on Sunday to let myself heal.

Saturday: Rest.

Sunday: Rest.

Total: 8.63 miles. Ugh.

It is now Monday morning and I feel a little better. I am able to bend my knees with much less pain and I’m not limping anymore. I have fallen while running many times before, but I can’t believe how much my body hurts this time. I think the fall had a worse impact on me because my joints and ligaments are still pretty loose due to the relaxin hormone that stays in the body for a little while after pregnancy. I am proud of myself for making the smart decision to rest for a few days following the fall. The “old” me would have just kept pressing on no matter what, but I’m trying to do what is best for me in the long term so that I can let my body heal and continue to run for a very long time. I know this is just temporary and I have plenty of time to make up for this week of training later on. I’ll be back to 100% in no time!

3 weeks down, 13 to go!

6 responses to “Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 3

  1. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 4 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 5 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training: Week 6 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: A Decision. | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: A Year in Review: 2012 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: OBX Marathon Training: Week 9 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

