Our One Year Anniversary

One year ago today on 11/11/11, I married the love of my life. In some ways it feels like it was yesterday, but it also feels like it was so long ago since so much has happened since then.

We sure have fit a lot into one year. Since then we have gotten pregnant and had a baby, bought a house, ran a ton of races, taken trips to Costa Rica, the West Coast, and Pennsylvania (many times!), both started new jobs, and I finished my Masters Degree. Whew!

When I think back to my wedding day, I clearly remember how I was feeling. A combination of intense joy, anticipation, gratitude, and nerves. After being engaged for a year and a half and planning every detail of our wedding together, it was amazing to watch it all come together like we had imagined and be able to celebrate with our family and friends.

On my wedding day, I was so excited about what the future held, but I NEVER would have imagined we would be where we are today only one year later. All of my dreams are coming true and I couldn’t be happier.

The reason we chose 11/11/11 as our wedding date is because we started dating on 11/11/09, after Kevin told me at 11:11 p.m. that he made a wish that I would be his girlfriend. Since then 11 has always been a special number to us, and we always make wishes whenever we see the clock hit 11:11. One of the things I would wish for constantly was a happy, healthy marriage, and to eventually have happy, healthy children.

While sitting next to my baby right now, it’s weird to think that he didn’t exist yet when I look at these pictures. But then again I feel like he did exist inside both of us. We knew we wanted to try to have a baby soon after we got married but didn’t expect it to happen so quickly. We are so thankful that it did and now we have a beautiful, happy baby boy.

To celebrate our special day one year later, we exchanged gifts almost as soon as we woke up. The traditional gift for the first anniversary is paper, so Kevin wrote me an amazing love letter and I made him a little book out of a deck of cards that contained 52 memories from our first year together. I dressed the baby in a special onesie that said “Make a Wish,” since he is what we wished for many times at 11:11.

Then we went to visit our wedding venue with the newest addition to our family. It was crazy to be there and stand where we said our vows with our baby. I felt so lucky and blessed.

After that we continued our celebration by going to Riverside Dinner Theater to see the Sound of Music.  We love dinner theaters (Kevin even proposed to me at one!) It was our first “date” post-baby so it was very strange and exciting at the same time. The baby stayed with Kevin’s sister and brother-in-law while we enjoyed the Sunday afternoon show.

Once we got back home it was time to break out the cake and champagne from our wedding night! I had low expectations for a cake that was a year old, but it was actually DELICIOUS! Our wedding was such a whirlwind that I barely remember eating it that day, so it was awesome to be able to have cake again tonight.

We had an amazing day celebrating our one year anniversary. I am looking forward to many, many more years together. It’s only the beginning!

Wedding Recap Posts:

3 responses to “Our One Year Anniversary

  1. balancejoyanddelicias

    Happy anniversary!!! What a great tradition to celebrate it. I’ll remember it when my second anniversary comes which will be very special too. In Our first anniversary I was 8 months pregnant and looking forward to meet the bang, the next one will be with the baby. 🙂

  2. Pingback: A Year in Review: 2012 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

