My Last Day of Maternity Leave (WIAW)

It’s a sad day in the Spaulding household. Today was the last day of my maternity leave. I can’t believe how quickly 8 weeks went by. I feel like it was just yesterday that we were in the hospital meeting our little man!

Last Wednesday was my first time doing a What I Ate Wednesday post and I really liked it. This month the theme is “Fall into Good Habits.” The good habit I am working on currently is trying to choose healthy, filling meals and snacks while I’m super busy during the day. I’m also trying to make sure to eat enough to keep up with my body’s needs while breastfeeding and running. Here is what I ate today!

7:15 a.m. I woke up and had my standard oatmeal [oats, banana, cinnamon, and almond milk cooked together, with peanut butter and blueberries stirred in at the end]. Plus coffee! We stayed up late watching election results and then baby decided he wanted to be up the rest of the night. I needed this coffee!

While I ate I hung out with this little guy and enjoyed his company. I have loved our little morning routine and will miss it so much when I go back to work.

12:00 p.m. A few hours later after a visit from our babysitter to give her the run down before tomorrow and some play time, I made lunch! We made Mexicali Chopped Salads with Cilantro Lime dressing last night for dinner and I made another one with the leftovers. It had spinach, red onion, bell pepper, corn, black beans, and avocado. I also had a sandwich thin with hummus on the side.

3:30 p.m. Baby and I headed out to my chiropractor appointment. We both got adjusted (Yes, including little man! More on that in my 8 week post partum update tomorrow) and I was hungry on the ride home while stuck in traffic so I had one of my emergency Larabars that I keep in the diaper bag.

My new favorite trick to do if I am in traffic or at a red light and want to check on the baby is to reach my arm back and take a picture of him, so I can see what he’s doing. He was crying today and I thought he might have spit up, so I took a picture and yup- there it is! Poor baby 😦 It breaks my heart when he cries in the car and I can’t do anything about it.

5:00 p.m. I got hungry for another snack while waiting for Kevin to get home from work. I was planning on running when he got home so I had two hard boiled eggs to hold me over during my run and until dinnertime.

While waiting for daddy I snuggled with Baby K on the couch. He likes to give big open mouthed kisses. Either that or he thinks my cheek is my boob 🙂

6:30 p.m. Kevin got home late because traffic was bad, and then we realized we forgot an ingredient that we needed to make dinner so he ran out to the store to get it. By this time I had lost all motivation to run. It was late, dark, and cold and I had gotten hungry again. Plus Kevin brought home tortilla chips and I can never resist those! I decided to take today as a rest day and run Thursday and Friday instead. I snacked on some chips while making dinner with the baby in his bouncer next to me.

For dinner we had Tex Mex Quinoa– one of our favorite staple meals. Unfortunately I ate too many chips like usual and sort of spoiled my appetite. That is definitely not an example of “falling into good habits” but oh well. I’m working on it! I also just realized I had two mexican-type meals today with double beans and corn. Can you tell we really like that type of food? And fiber too, apparently 🙂

I am currently chugging water because all of those chips left me even thirstier than usual! Then it’s off to bed for me soon so I can rest up for work tomorrow. Wish me luck!

9 responses to “My Last Day of Maternity Leave (WIAW)

  1. oh last day, that must be hard. I can’t imagine not seeing my baby for more than 2 hrs now. but I guess we would adjust. I have two more months to enjoy with my girl. I need to know how to do the transition. keep us posted!

    • It was very hard! The most difficult part was the separation anxiety that I felt and also figuring out how/when to pump while at work. I’ll definitely blog about it once I get a better handle on things!

  2. I love Mexican food! Good luck on your first day back!

  3. Have a great first day back. I’m sure you will be SOOO excited to see your little man when you get home from work 🙂

  4. Hope your first day back wasn’t too bad!

    I highly recommend getting a mirror for the car! You can hang it on the headrest of the seat behind you and I love it. You can see their face the whole time you’re driving AND once they’re old enough to get it – they smile & wave at you in the mirror 🙂 My little guy spit up a lot, too, and it was helpful to know when he did it in the car. They sell them everywhere and are pretty cheap. It’ll make the car rides easier on you! 🙂

    • Thanks for the tip Becky! I was going to get a mirror but then in our baby care class they told us that it could be a safety hazard while driving if you’re distracted by it. But I guess taking pictures of him in the backseat is also a safety hazard, haha.

  5. Pingback: A Year in Review: 2012 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

