Mom & Baby: Week 7

I feel like I just wrote baby Kevin’s 6 week update (which I did, because I was really late in writing it!), and now he’s already 7 weeks old! I say this every week, but I really can’t believe how quickly time is passing. Our 7th week was really exciting. We dressed up for his first Halloween as a “football game,” with baby Kevin as the football. We took him to a farm and got some cute pictures with pumpkins. We also had lots of family in town visiting. So many sweet memories made this week ๐Ÿ™‚

Baby

I think Baby Kevin went through a growth spurt this week, because he’s starting to feel sturdier and bigger to me when I hold him! Very exciting!

He is becoming VERY vocal. He loves to exercise his vocal cords by cooing, making cute little screeching noises, and of course crying occasionally ๐Ÿ™‚ I think he’s going to be a loud boy when he grows up!

ย  ย  ย ย 

Sleeping is going well. He wakes up to eat about twice a night. We will get a good first stretch of sleep out of him and then he will wake up around 2 or 3 to eat, then he will sleep more and wake up around 4 or 5. I can usually get another 1 or 2 hours out of him after that ย if I take him out of his bed and let him cuddle with me. Despite all of my interrupted sleep I feel great during the day. I hope that continues and I don’t struggle too bad once I go back to work next week!

He is starting to show some interest in objects now. He will stare at the toys hanging from his activity mat and at rattles if we shake them in his face. He is obviously too young to grasp things on his own, but if we put a toy in his hand he will hold onto it for a while, which is very cute!

His constipation issue has gotten better. He’s been pooping once a day, with the exception of yesterday when he went three times after not going for another two days. I’ve read that it’s normal for babies to poop less after 6 weeks since their digestive system is maturing so I’m thinking it is a normal developmental thing. It is not hard like you would expect it to be if he is constipated. It comes out at the same consistency as it did before, so I’m not sure what’s going on. The way he strains and pushes and gets upset really seems like he’s constipated, but who knows! I’m going to ask the doctor at his next appointment. Sorry for all the poop talk- but this is life for me right now!

His reflux is getting better now that he’s been on the medicine for almost two weeks. We’re still trying to feed him smaller amounts more frequently throughout the day, holding him upright after eating, frequent burping, etc., which I’m sure also helps. ย I have confirmed that dairy makes his reflux worse, because this week I ate some Halloween candy and he was super fussy and spit up a TON the entire day afterward. I also was accidentally eating bread with some dairy in it. Since I’ve cut that out his reflux has improved. Looks like no dairy for me for a while, which is sad but if it makes him feel better that’s all that matters.

He is loving the Ergo baby carrier still. At our Halloween party I put him in there when he started to get sleepy, and he slept for a solid 3 hours while we all continued with our party. It was great!

My view when I look down with him in the Ergo ๐Ÿ™‚

This boy LOVES being naked now. He used to hate it, but now he smiles and coos when we take off his clothes- and then cries when we put them back on!

Finally, he is looking more and more like his daddy with every passing day! Seriously, I can’t get over it!

Body

Still holding steady at the same weight (135), but I notice a slight difference in my body this week- AND most importantly, I can fit back into my old jeans. YAY! I was getting really tired of my maternity jeans but I couldn’t get my old ones over my hips until this week. Who cares what the scale says? The fact that my pre-pregnancy clothes fit again is way more important to me!

(Click to enlarge)

The other thing that I think is really helping my body feel good is weekly visits to the chiropractor. I feel like it is putting my body back to its normal state after pregnancy and also helping to relieve some of the back pain that I get from nursing with bad posture.

Mind

Feeling a lot of anxiety this week. Between going back to work soon, Hurricane Sandy, and a pitbull puppy jumping on Baby Kevin I am feeling SUPER protective of him and very anxious about anything happening to him. Luckily the hurricane didn’t do very much damage in my area, but listening to the violent storm outside made me so nervous that a tree would fall on our house or something.

Some of our supplies for Hurricane Sandy

The other scary thing that gave me a panic attack was when someone let my sister-in-law’s pitbull puppy back in the house accidentally while I was feeding the baby a bottle on the couch. The puppy ran right over and jumped on the couch, almost right on top of the baby’s head. Kevin was sitting right next to me and pushed the dog away, but I couldn’t help but start to cry. I kept having visions of the dog biting the baby and it really freaked me out. That strong maternal instinct to protect your baby is VERY real.

The other thing I have been thinking about lately is my running and how it will be affected when I go back to work next week. I love running and it is definitely something that helps me so much mentally, especially with the stress that work brings. But I’m nervous about being able to find time for it while working and wanting to spend as much time as I can with my baby. I know that making time to run will make me a better mommy in the long run, but I can already tell it’s going to be hard for me to leave him to run once I’m home from a long day at work, especially because soon it will be too cold to take him out in the stroller.

Luckily, these two guys make me feel so much better about all of the things that give me anxiety ๐Ÿ™‚

Another great week is in the books. I loved being able to celebrate Baby Kevin’s first holiday and we are looking forward to many, many more!

ย  ย  ย ย 

Previous Post Partum posts:

31 responses to “Mom & Baby: Week 7

  1. balancejoyanddelicias

    glad to know that everything is going well, especially the reflux issue. I am now starting to deal with it. Will read your old posts now! ๐Ÿ™‚

    what time do you put him to bed? you said you get a long stretch until 2 or 3… so I was wondering how many hours.

    By small feed to avoid reflux… how often do you feed him during the day? Do you switch boobs during one feeding?

    congrats on getting back to old jeans. that must been really glorifying.

    • Oh no! So sorry you are dealing with reflux too What I am doing is feeding him every 2 hours or so and โ€œblock nursingโ€ which is only offering one boob for a few feedings in a row. This helps him not to overeat which makes the reflux worse. After 2-3 feedings from one side Iโ€™ll switch to the other. I will pump the other side to make it more comfortable. If Iโ€™m feeding him pumped milk from a bottle, I keep each feeding to about 2.5 ounces. This is enough to satisfy him but not too much to where his reflux gets worse. I hope that helps!!!

      Here are 2 articles that helped me figure out some things I could do to ease it as a breastfeeding mama:
      http://www.pollywogbaby.com/refluxandcolic/remedies.html
      http://kellymom.com/health/baby-health/reflux/

      About sleep, he usually falls asleep for that first stretch around 10. Lately I’ve been getting him to sleep until 2 or 3, and sometimes 4 if I’m lucky! The 6 hour stretches are not consistent yet though. I know he will get it eventually though so I’m not too concerned about it yet.

      • balancejoyanddelicias

        Thanks for the links. Really useful.
        I tried gripe water last night and it worked wonders. She slept 4 hrs for the first time and almost no fuss today. ๐Ÿ™‚

        • Oh yeah, we love gripe water! We don’t use it all the time, but when we do we like the one called Colic Calm. It’s made of all natural ingredients and he actually really likes the taste ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Katie, how do you do the side by shots of your body progress week after week? What program or site do you use? My Kevin is doing P90X2 right now and I’d like to be able to do that for him with the different phase shots!

    • Hey Shannon! I use a program that is on my computer called Comic Life. I don’t know where it came from or if you have to pay for it though! We did those same type of comparison shots when we did Insanity. It’s crazy to see the progress!

  3. Kevin is such a cutie! And you look great! I use the “jeans that fit test” to know how I’m doing at getting back in shape ๐Ÿ™‚ Right now I’m on my “immediately after baby jeans” but I can tell that it won’t be too long before they’ll be too big.

  4. I can’t believe you go back to work in 1 week! Crazy.
    I loved/hated the jeans test….it’s wonderful once they fit, but all those times of trying them on when they don’t : depressing!

    And finally, on the poop front: My son pooped every 12-14 DAYS when he was a newborn! Talk about freaking out! Apparently, it’s completely normal. And hey, I’ll take 2 poop diapers in a month ๐Ÿ™‚ Now that he’s older, he’s a once-a-day kind of guy, but I’m hoping our next is on the same schedule as a newborn!

    • I know! I’m so sad. I’m sure I will cry every day on my commute ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      And 12-14 DAYS! OMG! I would be freaking out too! I’m glad I’m learning from other people’s stories that it’s normal to go a while between. It’s the straining, grunting, and pained look on his face that doesn’t end up producing anything that worries me!

  5. Pingback: Post Partum: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Post Partum: 3 Months | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Post Partum: 4 Months | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Post Partum: 5 Months | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Post Partum: 6 Months | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: Post Partum: 7 Months | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: Post Partum: 8 Months | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 9 Months | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 10 Months | Run Inspired

  14. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 11 Months | Run Inspired

  15. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 12 Months | Run Inspired

  16. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 13 Months | Run Inspired

  17. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 14 Months | Run Inspired

  18. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 15 Months | Run Inspired

  19. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 16 Months | Run Inspired

  20. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 17 Months | Run Inspired

  21. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 18 Months | Run Inspired

  22. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 19 Months | Run Inspired

  23. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 20/21 Months | Run Inspired

  24. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 22 Months | Run Inspired

  25. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 23/24 Months | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

