I’ve Got the Itch…

It’s official! I’ve got a serious itch to train and race again! Ever since I was cleared to run at my 4 week post partum appointment last week and then went out to run 3 amazing miles that afternoon, I’ve been cooking up some big plans for myself. I didn’t want to make any race plans or set any expectations for after baby while I was pregnant because there were a lot of unknowns at the time. I didn’t know…

  1. When Baby Kevin would be born
  2. What type of labor and delivery I would have, and if I would need a c-section or anything happened that would require extra healing time
  3. How my recovery would go afterward
  4. How soon I would be cleared to run post partum
  5. How much I would be able to run once I started back up again

Well, Baby Kevin came two weeks early, I had a natural labor and delivery with no complications, my recovery was easy, I was cleared for exercise at only 4 weeks PP, and I surprised myself by running 3 strong miles that same day. Once I realized what I was still able to do after having my baby a whole new world of possibilities for me opened up. I started thinking that maybe I could do more than I originally thought.

Here is what my first three post partum runs looked like…

Every time I run I feel better and more like my old self. I feel stronger and lighter on my feet, and it’s amazing to be able to push myself after 10 months of taking it easy while running during pregnancy. My speed is even beginning to come back, but I still have a long way to go!

So happy during my 2nd PP run!

Back in August I wrote about my post-baby race plans, but now that I have had my baby and made my return to running some things have changed. These are the races I have signed up to run… so far 🙂

  • Turkey Trot 10K – November 17, 2012: If you live in the DC area you have to do some of the races in the Marine Corps Marathon event series. They are very well organized, draw big crowds, and are a lot of fun! I have done the marathon, the Turkey Trot when it was a 5K, the Gender Defender 5K, and the Crossroads 17.75K which they no longer do. I also ran part of the Historic Half with my friend last May. I am very excited to run the Turkey Trot with Kevin this year because back in 2009 when it was a 5K it was the first race we ever did together… and one of the only times I beat him 🙂

  • VA Runner Blue & Gray 5K – December 9, 2012: This is a race that is put on by our favorite local running store. I’m interested to see what I can do speed-wise. My 5K PR is 23:07!

  • Myrtle Beach Marathon – February 16, 2013: Originally I had said that this race was a big maybe and that if I did it at all I would do the half. Well, once I started running again post partum the maybe turned into definitely and the half turned into the full. My “training” starts on Monday, October 22nd, but I plan to take it easy and build up my mileage slowly. Since this is my first marathon post partum I just want to finish it!

Fall running is my favorite 🙂

I know it won’t be easy. Marathon training never is (even after doing it 7 times!), and especially now with a new body, new baby, and a lot less time. But I do have two very important things on my side- a ton of motivation and an extremely supportive husband, who always wants to help me achieve my goals. I have a long way to go, but I’m so excited for what’s to come!

8 responses to “I’ve Got the Itch…

  1. Love that you are already planning your races! Myrtle Beach has always been on my list. Maybe I’ll see you there in February 🙂

  2. That’s a seriously ambitious – but I’m sure you can do it!

  3. so many races in the area, I’d love to run one with you! 🙂 can’t wait to get the clear from the doc to start running again! 🙂
    btw, are we neighbor? which city in VA are u?

Leave a Reply

