Running Pop Quiz!

It’s finally time for a running related post! I haven’t been running for the last 4 weeks since I have had Baby Kevin and I really, REALLY miss it. I also miss writing blog posts about running, because it’s kind of hard to come up with things to write about when you aren’t currently doing it. So when The Hungry Runner Girl Janae posted this pop quiz last week, and Renee and Mary posted their own responses to it, I was excited to respond to it as well! Here are my answers to the “Running Pop Quiz” 🙂

1. FUEL: Shot Bloks, GU, Energy Chews, Candy or Other?

I used to be all about the GU, but after training for marathons with it for 3 years I couldn’t stomach it anymore. I switched over to Honey Stinger Chews while training for my last marathon and I LOVE them. They are so easy to eat and digest, and I feel like they get into my system more quickly than the GU did. They never give me a stomachache and they taste great. I even ate them during labor!

2. Race Length: 5k, 10k, 1/2 Marathon, Marathon, Ultra or Other?

I really love ALL races, but the marathon distance will always have my heart. After running 7 of them I have learned that they never really get ‘easier,’ they are just challenging enough to where I feel like I can’t do it at the end, and then somehow I always do. Finishing a marathon is an amazing feeling that keeps me coming back for more!

3. Workout Bottoms: Skirts, Running Shorts, Capris, Pants or Other?

I prefer shorts over every other type of bottoms, and will wear them as long as the temperature is 40 degrees or higher. My favorites are the Nike ones below. I forget their name, but they are so comfortable and light. I will wear capris or running tights if it gets really cold though. I don’t own any running skirts.

4. Sports Drink: Gatorade, Powerade, Cytomax, you stick to water when you run or Other?

I generally just drink water during a run but sometimes I’ll have Nuun, especially if it’s a very long run or a hot day. After a run I will always drink either a Nuun or coconut water. Yum!

5. Running Temperatures: HEAT or COLD?

I definitely prefer running in cooler temperatures. The heat makes me feel like death. Let’s compare two pictures- one from January 2012 and one from July 2011. Yeah… is there really any question which one I like better?

      

6. Running Shoe Brands: Saucony, Mizuno, Nike, Brooks, Asics or Other?

I wear Brooks Adrenalines and I absolutely LOVE THEM!

7. Pre-race meal: Oatmeal, Bagel, Banana, Eggs, Cereal or Other?

I used to eat a Clif Bar before every single long run but like the Gu, I grew really sick of them and can’t eat one now without getting nauseous. I switched to Honey Stinger Bars and they are so good! I really like the peanut butter and honey flavor. Before a race I’ll have one of these with a banana and I’m good to go!

8. Rest Days: 1x per week, 2x or more per week, never ever ever or Other?

Toward the end of my pregnancy I only ran or walked every other day because that’s all my body could handle. But normally when I am training I will take one or two rest days a week, plus more if I feel like I need it. Throughout the years I have learned to really listen to my body and give it what it needs, even if that means not following my training plan.

9. Music: Have to have it or go without it?

When I first started running I NEEDED music to run. I remember when I was training for my first marathon and my iPod died a few miles into a long run. I actually decided I couldn’t finish the run without music and went home. SO LAME! After that happened I decided I didn’t want to be so dependent on music anymore, so I weaned myself off it using it when I ran. I didn’t run with it for a few years except for on the treadmill, but recently started to again during my pregnancy. I enjoyed the music as a distraction and it kept my mind off my slowing pace.

10. #1 reason for running: stress-relief, endorphins, you love to race, so you can eat all the cupcakes you want, weight-loss, love running for social reasons or other?

I love the way running makes me feel and how it challenges me every day. It fills my days with happiness and accomplishment. It helps me think clearer, have more energy, and it inspires me to be a better, healthier person inside and out.  I love running for fun but I really love the feeling of training for races and accomplishing my personal goals. Through running I have learned a lot about myself and how strong I am. It has also been a great way to spend more time with Kevin since he has gotten into running. Running and training together has really brought us closer. Those are just a few of the many reasons why I run!

Your turn! I’d love to read other people’s responses to this little quiz, so leave them in the comments or answer them in your own post! 

6 responses to “Running Pop Quiz!

  1. Hi Katie! I have a question for you regarding your camel bak…do you remember which model you bought? And do you like it? I have been considering one for a while, but there are so many to choose from!

  2. Thanks, Katie! I have a coupon to the REI that just openned in Woodbridge. I think I may use it to finally get one.

  3. Pingback: Running Pop Quiz #2 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Mother Runner Running Survey | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

