Light the Way 5K

On Saturday, September 29th, my colleagues and I participated in the Light the Way 5K, a charity event that benefits the Columbia Lighthouse for the Blind. We were all part of a team called “Laps 4 Lilly” that raised a total of $2,324! Lilly is my friend’s daughter who was born this past April with a condition that caused her to lose her sight. It was very special to be involved with an event like this for such a precious little baby girl who will benefit from the services that this organization provides!

This event offered both a 5K run and an un-timed 5k “fun walk.” Since I just had Baby K two and a half weeks ago, Kevin and I decided to do the walk with baby in the stroller. Our day started very early where I left off in my Day in the Life post. We were all up, fed, and out the door by 6:30 a.m.! We picked up our friends Mike and Alicia and then headed to my school to meet up with the whole team. After consolidating into less cars to carpool, we went north to Nationals Stadium in D.C. for the race!

When we got to the stadium we parked and I had to change baby Kevin’s diaper in the trunk. I also changed him into his cute Laps 4 Lilly onesie!

It was very exciting to be able to introduce the baby to all of my friends from work. They have all been there for me throughout my entire pregnancy at school and are always so supportive.

After we got all our things together, our big group walked over to the stadium.

We had some time to kill before the run started at 9 a.m. The baby got hungry so I found a little table and bench to sit on so I could feed him. I am getting more and more comfortable breastfeeding in public (with a cover). A mom’s gotta do what a mom’s gotta do!

When I got back, we took a big group photo, and then it was time for the runners to line up!

Baby Kevin was very excited about his big day out!

This race had the 5K runners start at 9:00 and the 5K walkers started at 9:40, once most of the runners had returned. We had a few runners in our group, so we stood by the start and watched them begin their run!

I’m not going to lie, I was more than a little bit jealous of all the runners. I have never attended a race just to walk so this was a new experience for me. Instead of being sad though, I enjoyed the time with my little family and my coworkers, and focused on the reason for the walk- to support an amazing charity and little Lilly.

At the end of the race, the course had the runners loop past us again, so we got to see them one more time before they finished!

     

Kevin went to walk with our friend Hani for a little bit!

As the 5K run was wrapping up, the race organizers got all the walkers lined up for the start of our race.

During the walk itself I was having such a good time taking in the sights of D.C. and the Anacostia River and enjoying my company that I didn’t take any pictures! But I did pull out the camera right at the end of the walk before our ‘victory lap’ around the baseball field.

It was so much fun to walk with our amazing friends Mike and Alicia, who are expecting their own little one (a girl!) this December. We can’t wait for our babies to become good friends 🙂

And of course it was awesome to spend the morning out with my new little family. This was our first event of many together. I can’t wait for more!

The Light the Way 5K was a great event and I am proud to have been a part of it!

4 responses to “Light the Way 5K

  1. Pingback: Post Partum: Week 3 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Hustle2Health 5K | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: VA Runner Blue & Gray 5K | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Light the Way 5K 2013 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

