Mom & Baby: Week 2

I can’t believe another week has gone by and it’s been 2 weeks (and 1 day) since Baby Kevin was born! It seems like it’s gone really fast, but at the same time it feels like it was so long ago that we were in the hospital. Yesterday (the 26th) was actually his original due date. It’s crazy to think that I could still be pregnant right now- but instead we have a 2 week old baby 🙂

Baby

Baby Kevin is getting cuter and showing us his personality more and more every day. He makes the most adorable and funny little faces that keep us entertained and take up a lot of memory on our iPhones.

His sleeping at night is getting better now that he is more awake during the day. His jaundice levels are down which I think helps keep him more alert. At night he will sleep in 2-4 hour stretches and then wake up to eat. Sometimes it is hard to get him to fall asleep again, but we will re-swaddle him and put on his Sleep Sheep sound machine and that usually helps. Sometimes he will continue to cry even if he’s not hungry or doesn’t need a diaper change or anything. He just wants to be picked up and held and soothed. He really loves to cuddle with us, especially when we hold him upright close to our heart. I think that is also why he loves the Moby Wrap!

He loves this position. He must have been curled up like this inside of me!

One thing that is still concerning me is the way he cries and pulls his legs up like he is in pain from gas or something in his belly. He does it during the day and night out of nowhere, and it’s usually accompanied by hiccups, burping, and passing gas. He screams like crazy and is almost inconsolable.  We try moving his legs in the bicycle motion, rubbing his stomach in a clockwise direction, and things like that but it hasn’t helped much. It breaks my heart because it is obvious that he is in pain.We decided to try a pacifier today to see if the sucking helps him self-soothe during those times where he is really upset and nothing else seems to help. Now that he’s two weeks old and breastfeeding is going well, we thought it was a good time to introduce it. So far it does seem to help, but the true test will be tonight. I’ll update on that next week!

This morning is his two week appointment, so I’m anxious to see what he weighs now. I really think he is at or above his birth weight at this point. He should be with how much he eats! I also want to ask the doctor some questions about the stomach issues that I think he has and what we can do about them.

I have already started to notice changes in his development. He’s started to look AT things instead of looking through them. The other day he discovered the little birds hanging from his bouncer and would not stop staring at them! He’s also working on his neck strength and can hold his head up for pretty long now. He’s growing up so fast!

Body

My body is feeling pretty good! I feel almost normal, except for being extremely tired and some occasional back pain- which I think is from nursing in bed at night.  I’m going to the chiropractor again and that’s helping.  I’m also trying to rest and nap during the day when the baby does- but it’s hard! My aunt is here visiting for a few days so she’s helping out a lot and allowing me to take it easy, which is very nice!

Somehow despite eating like crazy (breastfeeding hunger is ridiculous!) I lost 2 more pounds this week and am now at 136. That means I have 6 pounds to go until I am back to my pre-pregnancy weight. Even though I have only 6 pounds left, my body has definitely changed shape. I tried on some of my old jeans and couldn’t get them over my hips. My hips are definitely wider, but it’s only been two weeks so we’ll have to see if that change is permanent or not. If it is, that is no big deal. I’ll buy new jeans! Pregnancy has given me a whole new perspective on my body, and my self-confidence and appreciation for my body has never been better. I really owe a whole post on how pregnancy helped me develop a better relationship with my body. I have a lot to say about that!

Slowly shrinking!

My bleeding and soreness are totally gone too. I have been going out for 3-4 mile walks with the baby and they feel really good. It is SO tempting to run but I don’t want to risk it. I put my body through a lot only two weeks ago and as good as I feel right now, I know I’m not fully recovered. I am hoping to be cleared to run again at 4 weeks post partum, and I don’t want to do anything until I have my midwife’s permission. I made an appointment with her yesterday and if all looks good- I can run again on October 10th! I will obviously start very easy with short runs and I won’t push it at all. But this is the longest I have ever gone without running since I started 8 years ago and I MISS IT!

Walking with baby in the Moby Wrap

Mind

I am still super emotional, but in general I feel like I’m getting the hang of this motherhood thing more with each day that we get through. There are so many moments during the day when I look at him and can’t believe that he’s ours, that he grew inside of me for 10 months, and I gave birth to him 2 weeks ago. The amount of love I feel for him is so strong and intense. It’s totally different than anything I’ve ever felt before. I have actually started crying a few times because I feel overwhelmed with feelings of happiness and love.

He loves his mommy 🙂

Our doula and Bradley Method teacher Marisa came over this week too. It was so nice to talk with her and reflect on Baby Kevin’s birth story and how I’m doing now, since doulas are there for support post partum as well. I will be forever grateful to Marisa for everything she’s helped us with since we met her in May. Because of her we were able to bring our baby into the world the way we wanted to, and I have never felt more mentally strong and confident in myself since his birth. I feel like I can do anything now!

Sorry about the cleavage in this picture – I didn’t realize my shirt was pulled down so far. Yes, the boobs are still pretty crazy. Here’s to a great week 3!

Previous Post Partum posts:

33 responses to “Mom & Baby: Week 2

  1. Try some Mylicon gas drops! They should be in the baby isle at any pharmacy. We swear by them here at school. And by the way, congratulations! He’s beautiful!

  2. Little Baby Kevin is so freakin’ cute!!! You look like you are doing awesome at adjusting to motherhood and I look forward to reading more about your journey. And thanks for sharing the pictures – they make me smiel 🙂

  3. Great to hear your story! I’m 12 weeks along and this is so helpful.

    Congrats on beautiful Kevin 🙂

  4. It sounds like you’re totally getting the hang of things! The first few weeks are so hectic – the best kind of hectic – but hectic still. No sleeping, emotions running wild, figuring out all things baby, etc. You guys look like you’re doing great. Baby Kevin is SO cute and he definitely look bigger! I 3rd the Mylicon drops. Plus, if he was truly 2 weeks early, his little stomach is still getting used to things. Hopefully that pain/discomfort, etc. will go away as his digestive system matures a bit. You look great!!

  5. Pingback: Post Partum: Week 3 | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Post Partum: Week 4 | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Post Partum: Week 5 | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Post Partum: Week 6 | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Post Partum: Week 7 | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: Post Partum: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: Post Partum: 3 Months | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: A Year in Review: 2012 | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: Post Partum: 4 Months | Run Inspired

  14. Pingback: Post Partum: 5 Months | Run Inspired

  15. Pingback: Post Partum: 6 Months | Run Inspired

  16. Pingback: Post Partum: 7 Months | Run Inspired

  17. Pingback: Post Partum: 8 Months | Run Inspired

  18. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 9 Months | Run Inspired

  19. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 10 Months | Run Inspired

  20. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 11 Months | Run Inspired

  21. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 12 Months | Run Inspired

  22. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 13 Months | Run Inspired

  23. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 14 Months | Run Inspired

  24. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 15 Months | Run Inspired

  25. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 16 Months | Run Inspired

  26. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 17 Months | Run Inspired

  27. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 18 Months | Run Inspired

  28. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 19 Months | Run Inspired

  29. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 20/21 Months | Run Inspired

  30. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 22 Months | Run Inspired

  31. Pingback: Mom & Baby: 23/24 Months | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

