Baby K: 36 Weeks

It’s hard to believe that I only have a few more of these updates to write! I was originally expecting to be pregnant for at least 4 more weeks and most likely more than that, but after today’s doctors appointment I’m not so sure. Most about that later!

What’s Happening With Baby?

This week baby is the size of a crenshaw melon!

It seems like every week the baby is the size of a different melon. I didn’t even know what a crenshaw melon was but my grocery store had one! Anyway, according to The Bump, most of baby’s systems are in working order and would be able to breathe without any support if he or she were to be born today. BabyCenter says that the baby is gaining about an ounce a day (wow!) and weighs about six pounds at this point.

How I’m Feeling

I’m feeling pretty good! I officially went back to school earlier this week so I have been keeping busy. I was at school some days before that working in my classroom but this past Monday teacher “work week” began so I’m back to working full-time. The kids don’t start until next Tuesday, so I’ve been in meetings and getting plans ready for the year and for maternity leave. It’s all coming together and I’m feeling better about starting my 5th year of teaching. It’s just crazy not knowing how long I’ll be in the classroom with my students before baby comes!

Other than being busy with school, we’ve been busy getting lots of other things ready. My dad and sister visited last weekend to see the house and help us with some baby prep stuff. We also got both car seat bases installed and checked by firefighters, and we packed our hospital bags. I packed one bag with things that I want during labor and another that Kevin will go back to the car and get later that has what baby and I will need afterwards. It felt very strange to pack these bags but I’m glad that they are ready to go!

We finished up things at our old apartment and officially said goodbye to it. It was a little sad for me even though I am so, so, SO happy to be out of there and into our own house. I get attached to things very easily, and we have had a lot of memories there over the last two years. This apartment is the first place we moved into together, it’s where we lived when we planned our wedding and got married, and it’s where we conceived our baby and experienced most of my first pregnancy (haha, TMI). So I was a little sad to see it empty and to close and lock the door, knowing I wouldn’t see it again. I’m dramatic, I know.

How I’m Changing

The biggest and most obvious change is the drop in my belly. I suspected that it was starting last week, and this week it is much more noticeable. I’ve even had others comment on how it looks lower. I’m able to see a little more of my ribs now and I feel lots of pressure down below.

     

At my doctor’s appointment today the doctor confirmed that the baby has definitely dropped. She was trying to feel what position baby was in and couldn’t find the head. She got the ultrasound machine to make sure he/she wasn’t breech now and she found the head very low in my pelvis. She said that the baby’s dropped position combined with the fact that I am very active and still running leads her to predict that baby will come on or before my due date, but she said obviously there is no way to be sure. She said that in her experience and in the research she has read, moms that are active and especially runners tend to go into labor slightly earlier and have quicker labors… but I hope I didn’t just jinx myself by saying that! She recommended that I start taking evening primrose oil to soften my cervix, so we picked some up on the way home. I’ll start taking the pills tomorrow. I’m all about natural methods to get my body prepared for labor!

Just for fun – here’s week 4 compared to week 36. I’m wearing the same shirt!

      

What I’m Eating / Not Eating

Since the baby has dropped I am able to eat a little more than before and I have noticed that I am hungrier, which really helps with my energy levels. Since I’m eating more I feel like I am more productive and not as lethargic. Also since the baby has dropped I don’t have horrible heartburn anymore! Woo hoo!

One of baby’s new onesies 🙂 Love it!

How I’m Staying Active

The most exciting part of this week was running the Gender Defender 5K this past weekend. It was so much fun even though I had to pee the entire time! Since I ended the running streak I have been walking and running a little less, and taking more rest days. I can tell that this is what my body needs right now. It makes me feel good on my runs when I let my body rest in between. I’m still going to try to run at least 10 miles a week for as long as I can, but we’ll see!

  • Run: 10.1 miles
  • Walk: 1.5 miles
  • Strength-Training: 2 Body Pump classes

     

Week 36 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: +0.0. My weight still hasn’t changed since 34 weeks when I gained 4 pounds of what I thought was partly water weight.
  • Total weight gained: 24.6 pounds
  • # of days until school starts: 6! Ahhhh!
  • # of days until mommy & daddy’s next race: 10 – another local 5K 🙂
  • Best part of the week: Taking maternity photos! More about this once I get all the pictures back 🙂

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

2 responses to “Baby K: 36 Weeks

  1. Can’t wait to see the rest of the maternity photos, the little preview you gave looks fabulous. I know I say this every week, but I’m still in awe of your running! Congrats on still being able to get out and pound the pavement, you are amazing!

  2. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 36 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

