Breaking the RW Summer Running Streak

After 80 days of running and walking, I broke the streak yesterday. I never posted an 11 week update of my extended summer running streak because we moved and I didn’t have Internet yet, but week 11 was actually great! Kevin ran with me all week, and I stopped wearing my support belt as recommended by my chiropractor and that helped with my leg weakness/numbness because my nerves weren’t as compressed. I was feeling good! It was the start of week 12 when things started to go downhill a little bit for me. My body was really tired from packing, moving to our new house, unpacking, and working in my new classroom and I started to swell pretty badly in my feet and ankles from constantly being on my feet. When I got home last night they were super stiff and painful, and I knew I needed to sit down and put them up rather than go out for my walk. So I did, and the streak was broken.

At the gym before a treadmill walk

Here’s how week 11 and the last few days of the streak went for me:

  • Monday: 2 mile walk
  • Tuesday: 4 mile run
  • Wednesday: 1 mile walk
  • Thursday: 3 mile run
  • Friday: 1 mile walk
  • Saturday: 3 mile run
  • Sunday: 1 mile walk
  • Monday: 3 mile run
  • Tuesday: 2.5 mile walk
  • Wednesday: 3 mile run
  • Total miles ran/walked: 23.5 miles

While I’m sad that I didn’t make my original goal of streaking until Labor Day, I am still proud that I made it 80 days while pregnant during the summer. The end of the streak doesn’t mean the end of running and walking for me, it just means I’ll do it when I feel like it rather than making sure to do it every single day. At 34 weeks pregnant, I think it’s important at this point to listen to my body and rest when I need to.

My final stats for the entire streak since Memorial Day (5/28)-

  • Running Miles: 187.40
  • Walking Miles: 53.75
  • Total Miles Covered: 241.15
  • Days of Running: 47
  • Days of Walking: 33
  • Total Consecutive Days of Streaking: 80

I hope to do another type of running streak again in the future. It really was fun and motivating, and it kept me active during my pregnancy. Thanks Runners World!!!

Previous Recaps:

5 responses to “Breaking the RW Summer Running Streak

  1. So great that you did it for that long while pregnant. What an inspiration! You were smart to stop and give your body a break.

  2. You are riiiiidiculous! Congrats, quite an accomplishment!

  3. Pingback: A Year in Review: 2012 | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

