Baby K: 31 Weeks

I say this every week, but I can’t believe how fast time is moving. We now have only single digit weeks left, and tomorrow will be exactly 2 months until my due date! I know that baby most likely won’t arrive on that day, but it’s still so exciting knowing that we are getting closer and closer to meeting him or her!

What’s Happening With Baby?

This week the baby is as big as 4 navel oranges (weird!).

According to BabyCenter, the baby weighs about 3.3  pounds and measures 16 inches long. Baby is able to turn it’s head and is very active in there (trust me, I know this!).  Apparently he or she is about to enter a growth spurt, so I need to prepare myself for that! Maybe that’s why I’ve been so tired and not feeling my best lately? The Bump also says that by now the baby has developed all 5 of its senses, and major brain and nerve development begins now as well.

How I’m Feeling

My nausea has subsided a bit this week which is GREAT! I do have heartburn pretty regularly and feel like my stomach is in my throat. I get out of breath more easily now, probably because baby is crowding out my lungs. But other than that I feel fine. I’m definitely more emotional and find myself getting stressed out and upset over little things. I feel like all of these things are normal third trimester symptoms and it’s really not that bad. I do enjoy being pregnant and I think I will miss it when it’s over.

How I’m Changing

As far as physical changes go, nothing really significant except the belly is growing obviously! I had an appointment with another amazing delivering midwife at my practice last Friday. I hadn’t met her yet and I really like her. She is another one who is very supportive of our ‘birth wishes’ which is great. She measured my belly and I was measuring perfectly for how far along I am. She also felt the baby and determined that he or she is head down (yeah!!!) so now it just needs to stay that way. She also told me that by feeling the body parts through my belly, it doesn’t feel like the baby will be over 9 pounds at birth like it was originally predicted at my 20 week ultrasound. She said it feels like a 7-8 pound baby. Of course she can’t be sure, but it was good to hear!

     

I do think I changed a lot mentally this week. We had a busy week full of appointments and baby classes that left me feeling more confident and ready, and like a real MOM. That is a big change in my mindset. The first class we took was a breastfeeding class on Thursday night. It was 3 hours long and went over all the basics, answered a lot of questions, and we even got to practice positions with a fake baby. Then we took a baby care basics class + infant CPR on Saturday. I really liked that class because it went over a lot of things that I was unsure about like newborn care, bathing, illnesses, swaddling and calming your baby, safety, and more. I don’t have a lot of experience with babies yet so I learned a lot. It also was a good CPR refresher. I hadn’t taken a course in a long time and the regulations changed last year. These classes (along with our regular Bradley class on Tuesdays) made me feel a lot more confident about being a mommy 🙂

Baby in breastfeeding class

Baby in baby care/CPR class

What I’m Eating / Not Eating

More of the same from last week. Still eating smaller meals because my belly can’t handle much. I really want eggs, fruit, and mainly easy meals that don’t require much effort. I have noticed that after dinner sometimes I will feel the baby get hiccups. It’s always around 7 or 8 p.m. and I know they are hiccups because they are consistent little movements every second or so. It’s so cool!

How I’m Staying Active

I didn’t have a great running week, as I wrote about in my Week 8 Run Streak Recap. I am struggling to accept that it feels more difficult now and I’m not able to run as much anymore because running is such a big part of who I am and it’s important to me. Since running has felt tough lately, I have decided to start running every other day and walk on the days in between. I know this is what is best for my body, but I’m a little nervous for my sanity. On days that I don’t run (even if I walk) I am way more emotional and get upset easily. I did manage a “long” run of 5 miles on Sunday, and I felt good until the last mile when I struggled. I think I need to sign up for some post-baby races to make me feel better and have something to work towards after the baby comes. I’m thinking a spring half or maybe a full if it’s late in the season (like May or June). We’ll see!

  • Run: 14 miles
  • Walk: 5 miles
  • Strength-Training: 1 Body Pump class

     

Week 31 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: +0.8 pounds
  • Total weight gained: +19.6 pounds
  • # of days until next doctor’s appointment: 7
  • # of days until our first baby shower: 3! I’m home in Pennsylvania for it now and I can’t wait!
  • Best part of the week: Listening to baby’s heartbeat with my friend’s home doppler. Then she listened to her baby’s heartbeat! It was so fun. Our babies will be about 12 weeks apart 🙂 Can you guess who is farther along? LOL.

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

One response to “Baby K: 31 Weeks

  1. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 31 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

