RW Summer Running Streak Continued: Week 8

Well, Week 8 of my extended running streak has come to an end. And since I try to always be honest on my blog, it wasn’t the best week ever. This might sound stupid because I’ve been pregnant for over 7 months now, but I’m realizing that this is the first time since I started running back in college that I’m not making gains, and actually going backwards in my ability. It started to really hit me that I won’t be able to run like I used to for at least another 5 months or so. Baby will be here in about 2 months, and then I know it’s going to take a decent amount of time to build my running back up again.

I was a little sad about this on Sunday after getting back from a difficult “long run” of 5 miles, but Kevin helped me put things into perspective by reminding me that I’m almost 31 weeks pregnant and what I’m still able to do is great. It’s just tough when I think about what I did before and how much less I’m doing now. Don’t get me wrong, I am so happy and excited to be pregnant and become a mommy, but running has been a huge part of my life and my identity for so long that it’s hard to deal with seeing myself slow down so much and how hard running feels these days. It’s not painful (or else I wouldn’t still be running) but sometimes it just feels like it’s 2004 again and I’m learning how to run for the first time. I know I will get back to where I was before, and hopefully even better than that! But for the time being I need to accept change and the fact that my priorities are changing. It’s a tough pill to swallow for this stubborn first time mama!

My running mileage during pregnancy so far (we got pregnant on Jan. 6th). Definitely something to be proud of!!!

Anyway, that was a lot. So here’s how the week went for me:

  • Monday: 3 mile run
  • Tuesday: 3 mile run
  • Wednesday: 1 mile walk
  • Thursday: 3 mile run
  • Friday: 1 mile walk
  • Saturday: 3 mile run
  • Sunday: 5 mile run
  • Total miles ran/walked: 19 miles

At the gym after Body Pump and 3 miles on the treadmill

Here’s to hoping that this next week is a little better than the last!!!

Previous Recaps:

14 responses to “RW Summer Running Streak Continued: Week 8

  1. I can totally relate and I’m not even as far along as you. It’s hard sometimes to work so hard to keep running and not really see any results out of it because you’re not getting any faster. I think you’re doing an amazing job of staying active and I’m so impressed by how many races you’ve run while pregnant. Hang in there! You’ll be back to your old running self in no time!

    • Definitely true! This is the only time in my life where I’ve worked so hard and not seen positive results. Obviously I don’t expect to while pregnant, but it’s a tough switch to make mentally. I’m so glad to have found other moms like you who have been there and are supportive! You’re a great example for me!

  2. You will come back stronger than ever Mama! Just think of what a wonderful example you are setting for Baby K!

  3. You are awesome for doing so great with your running these past 7 months! It’s is certainly an accomplishment. The next five months will go by in the blink of an eye and you will get your fitness back soon enough. I admire you for keeping up with running like you have and if I’m ever expecting a little one, you will be my inspiration 🙂

    • Thank you so much! One of my post baby goals is to qualify for Boston like you did. I have a long way to go but I am confident I will get there someday! 🙂

  4. You are doing AMAZING! People like you inspire me to keep going!

  5. You’re such an inspiration 🙂 And thank God there is someone else feeling the exact same way as me! You basically took the words out of my mouth. I was only told to take a week off but my fear is that it will turn into more and I hate that feeling. I am so grateful to even be in this position as well and being pregnant and everything has been a blessing! We are only a week apart but I feel I can relate to you in so many ways. Well with the exception of my miles being less than half of yours, lol!

    The most frustrating part is trying to make people understand that don’t get it. I am sick of trying to explain myself, someone still interprets this as me being selfish. I am just done trying to explain. I tried explaining that I hope to run a half in June in my area. But they just don’t get it!

    • Niki, I am so happy that I found such a great community of pregnant/mommy bloggers who understand us! It is not even worth the energy to try to explain myself to people who don’t get it anymore. I’d rather use that energy to go for a run instead 🙂

  6. Pingback: Baby K: 31 Weeks | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: RW Summer Running Streak Continued: Week 9 | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: RW Summer Running Streak Continued: Week 10 | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Breaking the RW Summer Running Streak | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

