Baby K: 30 Weeks

OMG! 30 weeks. 75% finished. 10 weeks to go. I cannot believe I’ve hit the thirties! With every week that passes I feel more and more excited to meet our baby!

What’s Happening With Baby?

My two sources say that baby is as big as a head of cabbage and as long as a cucumber. But those are repeats from previous weeks! I don’t get it! So instead I went to the store looking for something similar in size to a cabbage and I found a mini seedless watermelon. It works!

According the BabyCenter, at 30 weeks baby is weighing almost 3 pounds (whoa!) and measuring almost 16 inches long. The baby is working on developing its eyesight. The Bump also says that baby’s skin is smoothing out as it puts on more fat. He or she is also strong enough to grasp now!

How I’m Feeling

Well, I am kind of feeling like I’m back in the first trimester. I really don’t want to complain, because I have really had an easy pregnancy compared to many others, but some of the symptoms that have returned are not fun. I’m super tired and napping every day, having crazy dreams (all related to giving birth), and my afternoon/evening sickness has returned. Almost every day around 3 or 4 p.m. I start feeling really nauseous and have to lay down. Why is this coming back!?!?

Besides these unfortunate symptoms, I really am feeling excited that we’re only about 10 weeks away from meeting our baby. I am trying my best to enjoy the last quarter of my pregnancy and feeling the little baby inside of me. Kevin and I went to the pool with our nephew the other day and I sat there looking at my belly and thinking how lucky I am to be able to have a good, healthy pregnancy.

I promise I really am wearing a bathing suit bottom 🙂

I am also enjoying showing off my new bikini body at the pool. I’m proud of my bump and will miss it when it’s gone!!!

         

How I’m Changing

In a nutshell my physical changes include a bigger belly, darker linea negra, a belly button that is becoming more shallow, and out of control boobs. I went to a La Leche League meeting yesterday with my Bradley teacher and my classmate, and it was great to learn more about breastfeeding and find a support group. I learned that my boobs are already making colostrum and getting ready for baby, so it’s no wonder that they are big and looking very different than before! Also, as I gain more weight in the front my back is starting to hurt, especially my lower back. I’ve been putting a heating pad on it at night which helps.

     

My belly makes some seriously weird shapes sometimes as baby moves around and gets in different positions. For the most part I think baby is head down in the position shown below, because I feel kicks in my ribs, a hard bump (which I think is the butt) sticking out above my belly button, and other movements down below which may be elbows/shoulders.

However, sometimes I’ll notice that the baby is entirely on one side. The other night I was putting shea butter on my stomach and laying back and Kevin noticed my lopsidedness. He took a picture and you can really see how the one side caves in and the other side is sticking out. SO WEIRD!!!

What I’m Eating / Not Eating

Still trying to eat smaller meals more frequently throughout the day. It’s tough sometimes especially since my nausea returned, and I’ve also been having heartburn which makes me not want to eat. I’m still gaining weight though and hitting my protein requirements. I’ve been craving eggs, cheese, and fruit like crazy!!!

How I’m Staying Active

At the gym after Body Pump and a treadmill run

I had kind of a tough week when it came to running. I am feeling heavier and more achy, but I definitely feel worse on days that I don’t run so I know it’s still beneficial for me to continue. I have started to notice that when I run my right leg will occasionally feel weak, numb, and tingy. It isn’t painful and it comes and goes. I think it’s the baby pressing on my sciatic nerve, but I’m going to ask the midwife on Friday. I’m thinking of going to a chiropractor for it because a lot of people have recommended that. I have another appointment with my primary care physician on Monday so I’m going to get a referral from him when I go. I did have a great 7 mile run on Saturday though. I’m so glad I can still manage a long run of some sort. It feels so good!

  • Run: 16 miles
  • Walk: 6 miles
  • Strength-Training: 3 Body Pump classes!!!

     

Week 30 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: +0.8 pounds
  • Total weight gained: +18.8 pounds
  • # of days until next doctor’s appointment: 2! And my best friend Ashley gets to come with me because Kevin can’t 🙂
  • # of days until our first baby shower: 10! I can’t wait!
  • Best part of the week: Catching Kevin sleeping with my Snoogle! He loves it!!!

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

3 responses to “Baby K: 30 Weeks

  1. That picture at the pool is hilarious! Definitely looks like you’re naked lol. That sucks that you’re experiencing all the crappy symptoms again… but 7 miles at 30 months?! You continue to blow my mind. Love the pic of Kevin haha.

    • I know that picture is so funny! LOL. My “long” runs are now about 3 minutes per mile slower than before but I am SOOOO happy to still be out there!

  2. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 30 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

