RW Summer Running Streak Continued: Week 6

Since I decided to extend the Runner’s World Summer Running Streak to Labor Day, let’s just pick up where I left off at the end of Week 5. I know I already partially recapped the first few days of the week when I did my final recap post, but oh well! From now on I’ll be updating every Monday with my progress.

This week it was a little tough to get my miles in due to a crazy heat wave on the east coast. We’re talking temperatures in the high 90s/100s with a heat index of 110 or higher most days! I did it by using the gym’s treadmill and by getting up super early to run before it got too hot outside (and then napping later of course!). One night I even went out at 9 p.m. once it had cooled down. The highlights of the week were my 4th of July 5K and an awesome 7 mile run yesterday morning. I was slow and careful not to overdo it. I felt comfortable and happy 🙂

After my hot and sweaty 7 miler!

Slow and steady gets the job done!

Here’s how the week went for me:

  • Monday: 1 mile walk
  • Tuesday: 3 mile run
  • Wednesday: Let Freedom Run 5K
  • Thursday: 3 mile run
  • Friday: 1 mile walk
  • Saturday: 2 mile run
  • Sunday: 7 mile run
  • Total miles ran/walked: 20.1 miles

Up this week- thankfully it’s cooling off a bit with temperatures “only” in the 80s. So I think I should be fine to run outside in the mornings as long as I get out the door early enough. I have been settling into a routine of doing a couple of 3 and 4 milers during the week and a longer run (6-8 miles) on the weekend. However, if the weekend’s weather doesn’t look good or I have something going on I will do my longer run during the week instead. I LOVE having a flexible schedule as a teacher with the summer off! This is my last summer without kids too so I am definitely taking advantage of it. Have a good week Streakers!

Let Freedom Run 5K – 7.4.12

Previous Recaps:

5 responses to “RW Summer Running Streak Continued: Week 6

  1. Pingback: RW Summer Running Streak Continued: Week 7 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: RW Summer Running Streak Continued: Week 8 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: RW Summer Running Streak Continued: Week 9 | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: RW Summer Running Streak Continued: Week 10 | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Breaking the RW Summer Running Streak | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

