What I’m Loving: Second Trimester

Even though my second trimester ended last week I owe the blog an update on what I loved during the middle of my pregnancy. I wrote a What I’m Loving: First Trimester post back in March, and it was funny to look back on it. Many things from this list still apply, like running, Kevin, my snoogle, BabyCenter, and salt. However a lot has changed for me in the last 13 weeks! Here are some of the new things that helped me get through the second trimester!

  • Running Naked: At the beginning of the second trimester I decided to give up my Garmin because I started to feel discouraged at how my pace was getting slower and slower. Ever since I made that decision I have actually LOVED running ‘naked’ or Garminless. It reminds me of why I love running in the first place – because it is fun and it makes me feel good.

No Garmin, no worries 🙂

  • My iPod Nano: Although I stopped using one type of running technology, I started using another type. I hadn’t run with music in a really long time before getting pregnant because I wanted to teach myself to be mentally strong without it. I started to enjoy it again when Kevin bought me a little iPod nano. Listening to music was a nice distraction from constantly thinking about how running felt harder and I was slower. Now I love it again, especially when I have to run on the treadmill due to the summer heat!
  • Maternity Clothes: I spent the majority of the second trimester in maternity clothes full time and I have to say, it is going to be hard to go back to my regular clothes! Maternity clothes are so amazing and comfortable. Back in May I packed up all of the clothes that didn’t fit anymore so that I was only left with clothes I could wear in my closet. I haven’t bought too much, and what I have bought is pretty basic so that I can mix and match a lot of it. But I am truly loving them!!!

All the clothes I packed up…

And all that was left!

  • Eggs: I still cannot get enough eggs! In my Bradley class we learned that pregnant women should eat two eggs per day. You don’t have to tell me twice! I love them hard boiled, fried (with a hard-cooked yolk of course), scrambled, on a bagel, in an omelet or frittata… whatever! Mmmm… I want some now 🙂 It’s hard to believe that a year ago they were disgusting to me!

Vegetable, egg, and cheese frittata with roasted potatoes

  • Baby Kicks: This trimester is when I felt baby move for the first time, and ever since that moment at just before 20 weeks baby hasn’t STOPPED moving. Now Kevin can feel him or her move too, and we can see it from the outside. I love it so much. It never gets old feeling the little human we have created moving around inside of me.
  • My Facebook Friends: Or I should say – my Facebook friends that are experienced mommies! It has been so nice to be able to talk with people about questions or issues that I have. Lately my friends have come to the rescue when we were creating our baby registry. All 32 of those comments below were long paragraphs about what they loved, hated, needed, and ended up not needing once they had their babies. It was so helpful!! I also messaged some friends privately for pediatrician recommendations and it gave me some great suggestions. I know these friends will become even more of a great resource once our baby is here and we have no idea what to do 🙂 Haha.

  • Lactaid Pills: I’ve written before about my issues with dairy. It makes me so sad because I love cheese and ice cream and other dairy products (except actual milk for some reason). I tried to avoid it as best as I could, but it’s tough to do when eating out or when you just want to eat some damn cheese!!! So I have been loving these Lactaid pills this trimester as I attempted to eat more dairy. If I take one with my first bite of something with dairy in it I have found that my stomach doesn’t get upset and my digestion isn’t as bad as it usually is. It’s not perfect, but it’s much better! Thank you Lactaid!

  • Body Pump: I started taking Body Pump classes around this time last year, and have managed to stick with it for the most part since then. It was tough to get there often in the first trimester when I was so exhausted and getting off the couch was the best I could do. Evening classes just weren’t possible during that time. In the second trimester when I got some of my energy back I started to go regularly again. I love how it is a great compliment to running. It makes me feel strong and confident. I also have started to think about labor when I’m in class, especially during the squats and things like that. I have to keep my body strong in order to deliver my baby naturally!

  • Bradley Method Classes: Speaking of natural birth, Kevin and I have both been loving our Bradley Method classes. I wasn’t sure what to expect when we signed up. I knew it was highly recommended by moms who have had a natural birth. I also knew that it was 12 weeks long- which seemed like a lot- but I was open to learning and excited to get started. We are now 7 weeks into the class and have already learned so much. We both feel very confident about labor and delivery, we have created our birth plan, and we even hired our teacher to be our doula because she is so awesome!

I can’t wait to see what the third trimester will bring!

5 responses to “What I’m Loving: Second Trimester

  1. I love this post! You seem so easy going, like pregnancy is just so natural to you! Love that you’re running naked! And I love eggs, yum.

  2. We loved our Bradley Class, too! And I’m with you on the eggs. In my first trimester I wanted eggs a lot… especially deviled eggs, oddly enough… who would think that would sound good when you’re nauseous?

  3. Pingback: What I Loved: Third Trimester | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: What I’m Loving: Post Partum | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

